Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

How do you solve a murder when everyone's a suspect?

Tormented by the recent loss of a colleague, DCI Jack Logan is on the warpath, determined to bring down all those he holds responsible for the officer's death.

His quest for revenge is cut short when a woman's body turns up on the remote island of Canna, and Jack is summoned to investigate. As a storm closes in, Jack finds himself cut-off from the rest of the world, with no car, no phone signal, and only DC Neish for company.

With time running out before the ferries resume, Jack must act fast to crack the case before the killer can escape. But with the victim widely hated on the island, everyone on it is a potential suspect.

Even the scarecrow....

The Last Bloody Straw is the fifth book in the DCI Jack Logan series, set in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Chris Brookmyre, and Stuart Macbride.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2020 JD Kirk

What listeners say about The Last Bloody Straw

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not as good as previous book but worth a listen

I've enjoyed listening to all five books in this series in quick succession. This last one is worth a listen but was less engaging than earlier ones. It's a bit slow to get going with much of the action being humorous sparring between grumpy DCI Logan and his glaikit (lovely Scottish word that) DC Tyler as the two of them investigate a murder on the island of Canna. The story does eventually gather pace with a series of suspects lined up, though I thought the denouement was rather pulled out of the hat. Having listened to the series I was expecting a fair bit of swearing but I think this book take the record among all the hundreds of books I've listened to for the sheer density of swearing which reaches a ridiculous level in any dialogue involving the police Superintendent whose every sentence is thick with the F-word. I took to fast forwarding past any scene involving him as I knew it was just DCI Logan getting yet another bollicking with the air full of swear-words. I'm not averse to swearing in moderation but it's lazy writing to use it so much. The narrator is excellent as usual,

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling

Yet another ‘belter’ from Kirk, vividly enacted by Angus King. Fascinating character development - the way they ‘talk’ themselves into existence reminds me of early 19th century A-I lit. The narrative twists and turns, with three final surprises. Well-worth your time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loving DCI Logan and even Tyler Neish!

These books are very funny, full of new (to me) Scottish expressions and although the crimes are gritty and very violent - the light side caused by laughing out loud at the characters is worth every penny spent on the audio book. I felt sorry for Tyler Neish when I started on these books but he has really come into his own in this book. Angus King’s narration is ace - am looking forward to visiting Canna once lockdown is over - thank you JD for keeping us smiling through lockdown!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I love these books always a great listen. Great stories and loads of humour as well. Angus a king is a great narrator an excellent all round book please keep them coming Thanks

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Brilliant listen. Some of the interactions between the characters had me absolutely crying with laughter. Logan and Tyler's sleeping arrangements, Hoon discussing sending reinforcements to aid the investigation.... Did work out the killer fairly early but didn't spoil my enjoyment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Brilliant book, read exceptionally well, would highly recommend. Great humour in there as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

well...every book has just got better, narrator and writer make a great team. I very much look forward to the next book in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I do love Jack Logan and his banter with Tyler, makes me laugh. This mystery was exceptional totally real. I cannot wait for the next one, hope we don’t have to wait too long. The Narrator Angus King bring the story to life brilliantly. J D Kirk one of my fav authors.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie
  • Debbie
  • 17-11-20

Absolutely engaging!

I love this crime series. Its narration by Angus King is superb. He captures the voices of different characters in charming intonations and has me giggling at the interaction between various personalities, especially those of DC Tyler Niesh and DCI Logan. Jack Logan is easy to love. More, please!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Winona M Massingill
  • Winona M Massingill
  • 12-11-20

It was okay 🤨

The story itself was pretty good, lots of twists with a surprising ending. I did have kind of a problem with keeping all the male characters straight when one or the other was talking. Some of their names sounded a lot alike to me,and it was hard for me to be sure who was talking. However, my main gripe with this book, was the language. I don’t think I’m a prim and proper prude when it comes to cursing, but this was just over the top. They must have the market covered on the “f” word. I know that it was used as part of that person’s personality, but I got so sick and tired of it, that I tried to just fast forward the book until that character had finished spreaking🥴🥴🥴

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Harriet
  • Harriet
  • 29-10-20

One of my favorite crime series - perfection!

JD Kirk writes intelligently and with loads of humor. Keeps you guessing while developing wonderful in-depth characters, relationships and backgrounds stories. I can’t get enough!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Petra
  • Petra
  • 28-10-20

One great series of books

I recommend everyone of the books in this Jack Logan series. Usually I get bored with the characters or the stories just get old by the 2nd or 3rd book. But I continue loving the characters and the stories keep me captivated and interesting. The narration is great too. If you’re looking for a great detective series I recommend don’t pass this one up. I’m just sad that at this point there is only one more book to go

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TGR
  • TGR
  • 22-10-20

Can’t wait...

Can’t wait for the next one! Awesome series! Thank you. Please keep Logan going for a very long time!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 13-10-20

Love This Series!

The storyline is fabulous but the delivery of Angus King really puts on that finishing touch! I look for you’re name Angus & if you’re telling the story - I buy it! Thank you JD & Angus for making my work days fly by!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kelliwithani
  • kelliwithani
  • 09-10-20

Another great DCI Logan story!

I am so glad I stumbled on this author! He has been a favorite since I fpicked up the first book in this series about 6 weeks ago. Five books later and he does not disappoint! Absolutely terrific narrator - one of the best. The book was very good. It seemed so predictable in the first 3/4, but through me for a loop! I would love to see this character and his story on television. David Tennant would be perfect as Jack Logan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 08-10-20

5

***HUMOR I chuckled my way through this murder mystery. The author just has himself a fine old time - with his well fleshed out detectives-so serious as befits murder and so funny. By the time the book is over I've lost interest in death and just want to read more .... Excellent detective novel, well plotted, well written, beautifully narrated. Top Shelf