Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

How do you solve a murder when everyone's a suspect?

Tormented by the recent loss of a colleague, DCI Jack Logan is on the warpath, determined to bring down all those he holds responsible for the officer's death.

His quest for revenge is cut short when a woman's body turns up on the remote island of Canna, and Jack is summoned to investigate. As a storm closes in, Jack finds himself cut-off from the rest of the world, with no car, no phone signal, and only DC Neish for company.

With time running out before the ferries resume, Jack must act fast to crack the case before the killer can escape. But with the victim widely hated on the island, everyone on it is a potential suspect.

Even the scarecrow....

The Last Bloody Straw is the fifth book in the DCI Jack Logan series, set in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Chris Brookmyre, and Stuart Macbride.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2020 JD Kirk

What listeners say about The Last Bloody Straw

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    534
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    517
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    467
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not as good as previous book but worth a listen

I've enjoyed listening to all five books in this series in quick succession. This last one is worth a listen but was less engaging than earlier ones. It's a bit slow to get going with much of the action being humorous sparring between grumpy DCI Logan and his glaikit (lovely Scottish word that) DC Tyler as the two of them investigate a murder on the island of Canna. The story does eventually gather pace with a series of suspects lined up, though I thought the denouement was rather pulled out of the hat. Having listened to the series I was expecting a fair bit of swearing but I think this book take the record among all the hundreds of books I've listened to for the sheer density of swearing which reaches a ridiculous level in any dialogue involving the police Superintendent whose every sentence is thick with the F-word. I took to fast forwarding past any scene involving him as I knew it was just DCI Logan getting yet another bollicking with the air full of swear-words. I'm not averse to swearing in moderation but it's lazy writing to use it so much.
The narrator is excellent as usual,

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Marvellously entertaining

I love this series of books written by J D Kirk . The humour and sincerity of the characters and the seriousness of the crimes, brought to life by a wonderful narrator. Laugh out loud humour with a gripping storyline , up to the end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant

This is not a “ hard core Scottish thriller “ but it certainly packs a punch in lots of ways . The relationship between colleagues and the wit is so good , and it helps the story flow- making it a lesser dark book . But having said that - brilliant story and the narration is outstanding ( applause)
Definitely worth the time- even though I could not stop listening and ended up walking and walking and walking !

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love love this author and narrator!

Amazing story! Thoroughly enjoyed this like the other novels. The characters are relatable and funny at times. The story is gripping from beginning to end. I cannot wait to get stuck in with the next novel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good book

This narrator is excellent and so good at accents I love listening to this series of books. Another corker

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

det supt

i love the series but the det supt need to curb his language . its not normal

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bad language

I have listened to all books in this series but found the bad language in this book a bit over the top.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Haven't even finished but such a gripping read.

Just like to say that I've had to rewind Chapter 8 four times to listen to the twin room/sharing a room scene. I was crying with laughter - the best kind!! Awesome stuff. The best Christmas present I've given myself. Love it. Thanks Angus King also.
Oh, no - what's going to happen when I've finished the series?? Will have to restart.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I have read all of the series so far. They are a great read. Good story, plus humour. really enjoyed this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Love Angus Kings voice. Logan is your perfect flawed character. The rest of the cast are all very real people. Just finished book 5 and going to find book 6.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Winona M Massingill
  • Winona M Massingill
  • 12-11-20

It was okay 🤨

The story itself was pretty good, lots of twists with a surprising ending. I did have kind of a problem with keeping all the male characters straight when one or the other was talking. Some of their names sounded a lot alike to me,and it was hard for me to be sure who was talking. However, my main gripe with this book, was the language. I don’t think I’m a prim and proper prude when it comes to cursing, but this was just over the top. They must have the market covered on the “f” word. I know that it was used as part of that person’s personality, but I got so sick and tired of it, that I tried to just fast forward the book until that character had finished spreaking🥴🥴🥴

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. K. Masters
  • M. K. Masters
  • 18-08-21

Great Listen

love this series, loved this book. I adore the characters and the twists and turns. didn't see this ending coming!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy F
  • Judy F
  • 20-05-21

A favorite

A compelling mystery, made all the more so because of the island setting, DCI Logan's history with the victim, and the ever fabulous teaming of Logan with DC Niesh providing welcome comic interludes. A wonderful read, and thanks to Angus King, it is a memorable listen as well. The pairing of Kirk and King is perfection.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cheryl archuleta
  • cheryl archuleta
  • 17-02-21

best yet

this was my favorite of the 5 books, very entertaining. cant wait to read the rest.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie List
  • Julie List
  • 10-02-21

Well worth it

One of the funniest scenes ever. It’s a must read just for the car vomit scene. Trust me. 🤣
I love this book!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clifford K.
  • Clifford K.
  • 17-01-22

lots of twists and turns on this

lots of twists and turns in this a fine addition to the series. the author has a sense of humor about some things and had a pretty interesting plot twist that you thought was easy to guess but then took hard right turns and then hard left turns so you weren't sure where things were going

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Auralee Jilek
  • Auralee Jilek
  • 14-01-22

great book

great book kept you and Spence all the way through the ending was great trying to figure out who did it and then whisper came

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 16-09-21

By far the best one yet. Loved every minute of it.

This is my favorite Jack Logan book so far. I can't wait to hear what happens next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cherables
  • Cherables
  • 06-02-21

Great Series!!

Love this series! This crime series makes me laugh as well as provide the twists and turns of a good suspense book. The narrator makes the characters come alive and I love listening to him.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Harrington
  • Lisa Harrington
  • 02-02-21

Best in the series so far!

Don’t get me wrong, the first four were good but this one was and is exceptional.