Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Which list are you on? 

When a young man is found frozen to death on a Highland street in mid-December, DCI Jack Logan initially puts it down to a Christmas night out gone tragically wrong. 

But, when a postmortem reveals something more sinister, Jack discovers he is dealing with a cold, calculating killer with a long line of victims, a talent for torture, and a perverse sense of justice. 

Half a decade ago, the press dubbed him "The Iceman" - a twisted vigilante who successfully evaded capture for two years, before melting away into the night. 

Now, The Iceman has come back. His naughty list is longer than ever. 

And it contains some worryingly familiar names....

A Snowball’s Chance in Hell is the ninth book in the internationally best-selling DCI Jack Logan Scottish crime fiction series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart Macbride, and Val McDermid.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2021 JD Kirk

What listeners say about A Snowball's Chance in Hell

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    570
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    560
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    514
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As always a winner.

Love this series and Angus King (the narrator) makes these even better. His narration is what brings this book and series to life. Full of humour, tension , horror and suspense.
If you not listened to any of these books.....WHY NOT.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

what a disappointment

Enjoyed all the Logan books until this one. Couldn’t finish it. Story is beyond ridiculous and some of the dialogue is pathetic. J D is not on form with this one. Returned

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ms
  • 18-02-21

Love it

I love the Jack Logan series. I like the storylines,the narrator and the pace. The trouble is I can't get enough.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Number 1 crime writer

Loved it!! Nevre were either being shattered or was in wrinkles laughing. Roll on the next one

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Couldn’t stop the listen, I now have some sleep to catch up on. Story again gripping with some laughs along the way too. I feel like I know the team and cannot wait to listen again so I hope another is on the way.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This needs to be a tv series!

The plot lines are good but what really makes this series is the characters and their interactions.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Poor Olivia

This book had me worried several times, I felt so sorry for poor Olivia (the daughter of a Russian drug dealer who features in many of the previous books), this poor little girl has been flung headfirst into a world of hurt BUT she prevails, as does Logan and his team, it's a win, win for the reader, excellent book again, cannot wait for the next one (but I suppose I shall have to) ...

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I love these stories and this narrator they are brilliant crime thrillers, funny, scary and gripping.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another corker!

Honestly, what's not to love about these books? They just keep getting better and better.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read

Another brilliant read suspense to the end full of twists every book I listen to is just as good. highly recommended

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for matt harrington
  • matt harrington
  • 08-02-21

Another Winner

This series is one of the best I've listened to in years. The characters are brilliant. Hope the series last for years.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie
  • Debbie
  • 06-02-21

Absolutely engaging!

As always, JD Kirk writes some pretty captivating stories, and after having read all of the previous Jack Logan installments I can't imagine anyone but Angus King narrating them. They are smart, irreverent, funny, and endearing, and I look forward to more. I SO LOVE the relationship that our hero has with fellow officers, who are also lovable in their own right. I wish these books would go on forever!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris
  • Chris
  • 27-01-21

I Am The Ice Man

Another stellar story, new storylines opened up for us to follow in the next books. This book even brought a tear to my eye. Again Angus King did a fantastic job with the narration.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for italoromano
  • italoromano
  • 23-01-21

Incredible Narrator!

I very much enjoy this series , especially due to the fantastic narration. Angus King is one of the very best

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Harris
  • Norma Harris
  • 27-06-21

characters need a lifeline

have read many novels in this series and found this one of the least satisfying. for me, there is too much banter between characters and not enough attention given to developing those characters and advancing the plot. maybe I 'm missing the point and this is intended to be a comedic murder mystery, but if not it needs better editing. in real life, a woman with as much on the ball as Sinead would never be linking up with a buffoon like Tyler, unless there are sides to him that have not been revealed to the reader. In this novel, the most fully realized character is Olivia -- I am truly interested in her. I hope the same can be done with the characters that surround her.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara Adams
  • Barbara Adams
  • 18-11-21

Great Series!!

Angus King brings these characters to life. I am entertained for hours by him telling the funny yet edge-of-your-seat-sitting mystery written by JD Kirk.
The repeating "minor" characters allow multiple stories to be told. I always know who's talking as Angus King gives each their own undeniable voice. Can't wait for the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SMacfie
  • SMacfie
  • 12-02-22

Love these books

I love these books and Angus King is brilliant! On to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DanyelleScottSkinCare
  • DanyelleScottSkinCare
  • 04-12-21

Had to quit at chapter 22.

Such a shame, as Angus King is a talented narrator. I've enjoyed other books he's narrated, but the way this one was written, made the general narrative sound somehow fake, monotonous, and boring.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SVS
  • SVS
  • 09-05-22

The Narrator Brings Logan to Life!

I don't write reviews, but I have enjoyed this series so much, the stories are good, and the narrotor so incredble I would recommend.
They make me want to live in Scotland! And that is what writing is all about, no?

Incredible characters, literary fiction, but I do admit Angus King has sucked me into this world. He brings it all to life!
From laugh out loud funny, to incredibly dark it is a series that I hope will never end....

I'd recommend starting with the first, because you'll be hooked. Or start at the latest, and you'll have to go back to the first!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paul
  • paul
  • 11-04-22

Amazing series

I drive and listen to books and I love this series and hope more on the way