Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Which list are you on? 

When a young man is found frozen to death on a Highland street in mid-December, DCI Jack Logan initially puts it down to a Christmas night out gone tragically wrong. 

But, when a postmortem reveals something more sinister, Jack discovers he is dealing with a cold, calculating killer with a long line of victims, a talent for torture, and a perverse sense of justice. 

Half a decade ago, the press dubbed him "The Iceman" - a twisted vigilante who successfully evaded capture for two years, before melting away into the night. 

Now, The Iceman has come back. His naughty list is longer than ever. 

And it contains some worryingly familiar names....

A Snowball’s Chance in Hell is the ninth book in the internationally best-selling DCI Jack Logan Scottish crime fiction series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart Macbride, and Val McDermid.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2021 JD Kirk

What listeners say about A Snowball's Chance in Hell

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    239
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    241
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    222
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As always a winner.

Love this series and Angus King (the narrator) makes these even better. His narration is what brings this book and series to life. Full of humour, tension , horror and suspense.
If you not listened to any of these books.....WHY NOT.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

what a disappointment

Enjoyed all the Logan books until this one. Couldn’t finish it. Story is beyond ridiculous and some of the dialogue is pathetic. J D is not on form with this one. Returned

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ms
  • 18-02-21

Love it

I love the Jack Logan series. I like the storylines,the narrator and the pace. The trouble is I can't get enough.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Number 1 crime writer

Loved it!! Nevre were either being shattered or was in wrinkles laughing. Roll on the next one

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Couldn’t stop the listen, I now have some sleep to catch up on. Story again gripping with some laughs along the way too. I feel like I know the team and cannot wait to listen again so I hope another is on the way.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Poor Olivia

This book had me worried several times, I felt so sorry for poor Olivia (the daughter of a Russian drug dealer who features in many of the previous books), this poor little girl has been flung headfirst into a world of hurt BUT she prevails, as does Logan and his team, it's a win, win for the reader, excellent book again, cannot wait for the next one (but I suppose I shall have to) ...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This needs to be a tv series!

The plot lines are good but what really makes this series is the characters and their interactions.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best on audible

Fantastic story and narration. Trying hard not to rush to the next one as I don’t want to get to the end. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another blinder! xXx

As ever JD Kirk did not disappoint! Have loved getting to know these well described characters and hope there will be more books after the tenth, which I am about to start!
After so many crime stories you might think you can you work out who done what, but not always! Twists to the very end! xXx

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Really great listen.
First class narrative and brilliant story line.
Highly recommended to all suspense listeners

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debbie
  • Debbie
  • 06-02-21

Absolutely engaging!

As always, JD Kirk writes some pretty captivating stories, and after having read all of the previous Jack Logan installments I can't imagine anyone but Angus King narrating them. They are smart, irreverent, funny, and endearing, and I look forward to more. I SO LOVE the relationship that our hero has with fellow officers, who are also lovable in their own right. I wish these books would go on forever!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for matt harrington
  • matt harrington
  • 08-02-21

Another Winner

This series is one of the best I've listened to in years. The characters are brilliant. Hope the series last for years.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris
  • Chris
  • 27-01-21

I Am The Ice Man

Another stellar story, new storylines opened up for us to follow in the next books. This book even brought a tear to my eye. Again Angus King did a fantastic job with the narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for italoromano
  • italoromano
  • 23-01-21

Incredible Narrator!

I very much enjoy this series , especially due to the fantastic narration. Angus King is one of the very best

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.Durant
  • J.Durant
  • 23-03-21

Love this writer and the narrator is a genius!

Angus King is a genius at narration. No matter who he is dialoguing for, you know exactly who it is. He also does a great Yoda and Sean Connery.

The writer is witty and all of the books (yep, I’ve listened to all in this series now) are solid and watertight. The characters of DC Logan’s team are all endearing - especially his old boss 😅 You’ll find yourself rooting for them and hoping they find a way through the predicament because any future stories without them seems impossible.

I really didn’t think I was going to love this series as much as I have. So happy I found it to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lynmarwat
  • lynmarwat
  • 18-03-21

Fabulously entertaining!

Although JD Kirk’s books stories are enthralling, Angus King’s narration brings Mr Kirk’s colorful characters to life. Listening to the audible books in this series is some if the best entertainment I have ever experienced.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 6catz
  • 6catz
  • 16-03-21

Enjoyable

Good characters, engaging plot, good read. Not quite as funny and weird as Stuart MacBride, but kept me interested throughout. Can’t get enough Celtic Noir myself, so always glad to discover another good series of this kind.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathleen D
  • Kathleen D
  • 23-02-21

On the edge of my seat the whole way through

I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and really like the characters. But this book, this one was truly terrifying. The idea of using cold as a weapon was unique and almost more grisly than a slice and dice murder. And the sub plot kept me guessing. I can not express how much I enjoyed this book!! I do have to say that sometimes I have difficulty with Angus King's accent, but that just gives me reason to listen again. I am so glad I got this one as an audio book! I plan to listen to it again!