Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

After a violent home invasion in the remote wilds of Glen Coe leaves a family of four dead, DCI Jack Logan and his team are brought in to lead the manhunt.

But, when one of the victims is revealed to be one half of legendary 1980s Glasgow-based comedy double act, Neeps & Tatties, Logan is forced to leave the Highlands and head back to his old stomping ground. 

He may have spent his career dealing with the worst humanity has to offer, but to find out who killed Archie Tatties and his family, Logan will have to confront his most terrifying challenge yet - the seedy world of Scottish light entertainment. 

An Isolated Incident is the eleventh book in JD Kirk’s internationally best-selling DCI Logan crime-fiction series. Perfect for fans of Chris Brookmyre, Stuart Macbride, and Alex Smith.

©2021 JD Kirk (P)2021 JD Kirk

More from the same

What listeners say about An Isolated Incident

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    623
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    597
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    566
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Why hasn’t this been developed into a TV series?

I love the manner in which these characters have been developed during the series of books, a wonderful balance of suspense and humour. Seems absolutely right for a TV series!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jack Logan

Brilliant as usual can't wait till the next one is Kirk has created brilliant characters funny and dark

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another triumph

This series just gets better and better. Am now familiar with the characters of this police team. I still laugh out loud at some of the conversations. The narration is excellent and the writer has such an eye for the detail of ordinary life (and murder)!. Enjoying the growing relationship between Logan and Siobhan. I just love all of it

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read. Funny & serious as always!

Loved it! A great storyline & the progression into the lives of the characters is something I've really enjoyed!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another cracker

Another great book in the series with decent story and some funny moments worth a listen.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An isolated incident

Love love logan series every one in the series is a good listen. Narration was excellent wouldn't be the same with any one else.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gets better with each book

With each DCILogan book, I become more and more involved with these incredible group of characters. The actual crime they are investing, this one particularly good, is secondary to the fantastic world of characters Kirk has developed. Absolutely guaranteed to laugh out loud at least a dozen times, and a blossoming relationship in this latest book, genuinely had me feeling quite emotional. Brilliant series of books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic addition to the series.

Fantastic story, and characters, highly amusing in parts.
Cannot recommend this series enough. JD Kirk is now one of my favourite authors. Recommend his stand alone Bob Hoon series to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Appalling

This was the first of this book series I had listened to and while the storyline appeared to be good, the fact that virtually every other word was foul language and swearing, totally put me off from listening any further. I have no objection to swearing in context, but this was ridiculous. I have always been told that most people swear because they are too lazy to find a more appropriate word, so the author is depicted in a very poor light. I thought it would be more like the DCI Gillard books by Nick Louth which I really enjoyed, but it was a total waste of money.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Intriguing

Another fabulous book in this gripping series. Love the characters and narrator. Was able to predict who the murder was quite early on and found the story a tiny bit frustrating while I waited to see if I was right. Full of the usual drama with twists and turns throughout. Lived the epilogue. Can't wait for the next book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 06-06-21

5

Ah. A new JD Kirk, perfect, perfect. perfect to launch summer '21. I
love the growth of the characters
from the previous books in the series.
Glasgow- not so much- but the totality of this book has me hooked
more than ever. Guess I'm a paper/
audio soap opera groupie.
These are stand alone mysteries. If you are just joining us on the Kirk Fan Club bus you have the rare pleasure of picking up all the previous books.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy F
  • Judy F
  • 01-06-21

Complex and satisfying

The DCI Logan series is a "must buy" for me---both book and audio. This latest did not disappoint. A gruesome and tragic set of circumstances sets Logan on the road to Glasgow, his old stomping grounds, with DC Tyler Niesh in tow. Their moments together are absolutely golden, brought to life by the superlative narration of Angus King. Old frenemies are encountered along the way, and Bob Hoon is sprinkled over it like pepper on a serving of good ol' neeps and tatties, as the team solves the case.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TF
  • TF
  • 29-07-22

Loved it

I loved everything about it. Narration is great. I love the different voices ,it brings the story to life. I love a book that has a great team working together.I laughed and yet,I was still on the edge of my seat trying to figure out who was the killer. For me,I loved the book and the narrator.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clkrkwd
  • Clkrkwd
  • 28-06-22

Much foul language

I could not listen to this past the 2nd chapter because of so much bad language. Also the Irish accent was hard to understand.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AnitaS
  • AnitaS
  • 15-06-22

Love this series!

I can't get enough of this series. The characters are like family and the stories keep you guessing.
The narrator is EXCELLENT! He has narrated the whole series and has different voices for the characters so you know which character is speaking.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wade
  • wade
  • 12-04-22

Can't stop listening to this series

Absolutely love this series. Great characters and storyline. Narrator really makes the series come to life. I would listen to anything read by Angus King!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lhr
  • Lhr
  • 27-03-22

great series

I love the J.D.Kirk, DCI Logan series. this was a good one. Can't wait to finish the series, I hope he writes more quickly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Regina
  • Regina
  • 23-02-22

Another Fabulous Addition.

Keep 'em coming! So well written. So well performed. Love the humor and dialogue. I highly recommend to anyone who enjoys this genre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion
  • Marion
  • 12-02-22

Exciting and funny!

I love this series as the stories just get better and better! The Scottish accent intrigues me and the banter among the characters is most entertaining. The juxtaposition of that and the grisly murders being solved in such unexpected but plausible ways makes for a superbly entertaining read/listen!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clifford K.
  • Clifford K.
  • 28-01-22

another good story in the series

the narration on the story was excellent as usual the story itself had some nice twists and turns unfortunately for me it still has one annoying character that featured strongly in the story.
it is worth a listen you just have to have reasonable expectations