Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The hunter has become the hunted.

Ten years ago, DCI Jack Logan caught the twisted child killer known as Mister Whisper.

Two days ago, Mister Whisper escaped.

Now, Jack must track down the most ruthless enemy he has ever faced before he can strike again. But after 10 years behind bars, it isn't just murder that Mister Whisper has in mind.

It's revenge.

A Whisper of Sorrows is the sixth book in the DCI Jack Logan crime thriller series, all based in the Highlands of Scotland, and it's perfect for fans of Tartan Noir crime fiction.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2020 JD Kirk

What listeners say about A Whisper of Sorrows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    497
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    498
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    450
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I don’t know if JD Kirk ever reads these reviews I know a couple of authors who tell me they don’t. But if you do please do as many of Logan books as you can. I love these I wish they would just keep going on and not finish.they are so good. 😂😂😂
They should make these into a TV series out of them honestly they are so good please keep putting them out
Thank you

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

J d kirk

What can i say, apart from this guys books are getting better each time!!! High drama and suspense , although its the laughing out moments that earned me the strange looks while listening in public

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and turns

DCI Jack Logan is, if a bit of a renegade, a likeable character. There is a number of laugh out loud moments, a few sniggers as well as a lot of cursing.
I have thoroughly enjoyed this whole series probably because of the relationships and characters involved.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

No flowery words, just this is a bloody good book, which I truly enjoyed every moment of.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping....

brilliant. nail biting...edge of your seat reading. books are getting even better. highly recommend this book

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a great story brilliant.

Now I like detective series I listen to many, but JD Kirk has humour as well I love the relationship between Tyler and Logan. This would make a great TV series. Cannot wait for the next one. The Narrator is brilliant too, always important when it’s Audible.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ms
  • 25-11-20

Brilliant thriller

This book twists and turns in every chapter, It keeps the reader wondering what is happening to individuals. There are still a few loose ends we are never quite sure about but I am sure we will find out in the next book. J D Kirk has a writing style which keeps you on the edge of your seat.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

Really gripping story only improved by having read the previous books in the series. Definitely worth it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling...but gruelling!

Absolutely enthralling. One of those “rabbit in the headlights” stories - you’re afraid of what will come next, but you have to keep listening. Fantastic characterisation (again). Angus King excels himself in the dramatisation. I’ve never been so fearful for characters; in fact, I’ve never been fearful for characters, but Kirk writes them in such a way that they moved beyond that.
I’m off to download the next one!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book yet!! Brillant...

I've listened to all the Jack Logan books this summer and this one was the best. Yes the language is colourful but I'd loved it.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 15-11-20

Made me laugh, made me cry and made me cringe

This might be my favorite of the DCI Logan series. JD Kirk has the ability to weave unexpected humor into his books in an honest and real way. The storylines are always intriguing and he provides just enough of the characters lives and back story to make you care about them without over shadowing the crime(s) taking place. A Whisper of Sorrows made me laugh out loud, cry and cringe. The narrator, Angus King, delivers Logan exactly how I imagine he would be and brings the rest of the team to life seamlessly. I thought it was great! I hope the rest of the series is coming to Audible soon.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Whispera
  • Whispera
  • 21-12-20

Tortuous threats of violence

to children. I have a low tolerance for that and fast forwarded when I got good and sick of it. Violence porn. If Angus King wasn't narrating, I wouldn't be listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Grace
  • Grace
  • 13-11-20

A Whisper of Sorrows

A Whisper of Sorrows is the best book of the DCI Logan series.
At least so far.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dr. C.
  • Dr. C.
  • 07-02-21

A cacaphony of violence.

Spoiler Alert. My sixth outing with Kirk. The narration by Angus King is superb. However, occasionally difficult to understand words behind accent. My main beef with this particular tale is at the end. I can think of two victims who are gratuitously murdered: Alice and the down stairs girl. Yes Alice's bloody demise caused incredible sorrow for Ben and Logan (and the rest) but why kill her? As for the girl down stairs Logan has some emotional investment but deserving that?
The author lets Logan wander off at the end without nary a sweet word with his main squeeze, the pathologist. Not a very deep relationship and she has such a wit about her. He abandons all the others with their multiple, life threatening injuries. Including his ex wife and Harris's aunt, with which he has no relationship. Most people are out cold if they get hammered like half the characters. For instance, Tyler is up and at Bosco as if nothing happened.
Interesting plot twists and turns but way too much gore. Takes the shine off the psychological interplay.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous Person
  • Anonymous Person
  • 03-11-20

Nobody in the world talks like that

I am a big fan of this author. Love his many books and his many pen names. But I think half of the words in this book are the F-Bomb. It ruins the story and makes it almost impossible to listen to. The previous book was the same way and I just don’t understand why. It feels like a crutch being used for an inability to come up with a more unique boss cop character. Dialogue is hard for sure but frankly it feels like he didn’t even try.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 24-10-20

5

I'm not recalling a detective story with
quite this involved a bad guy's revenge. As the ending approached the author's mastery of intricacy
popped right up! Wow! An excellent book. And, Audible has more in this series. And each can stand alone. You will meet the same mesmerizing narrator in each. And I just looked up Zertex Publishing - it is based in the Highlands and it's new. Good grief.
What more can a mystery fan want as winter rolls in?

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Linda Jo Casazza
  • Linda Jo Casazza
  • 11-05-21

2nd time.....

loved it.....none better since Harry Bosch! Just what I was looking for...now I'm SOOOO spoiled

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 27-02-21

Excellent series

The DCI Jack Logan series are some of the best books I've been able to enjoy. They are serious, humorous and thrillingall rolled into one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aun Aprendiendo
  • Aun Aprendiendo
  • 08-11-21

Return of

This was definitely not my favorite. I hate it when odious serial killers come back. Not a very original effort, or as entertaining as some other Logan books.
A let-down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PatG
  • PatG
  • 01-08-21

Narration is fantastic!

Great premise, extremely well-written. Nicely fleshed-out and likeable characters - except the bad guys who are easy to dislike... The story is detailed and suspenseful. Protagonist is relatable. A thoroughly enjoyable thriller!!