Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The hunter has become the hunted.

Ten years ago, DCI Jack Logan caught the twisted child killer known as Mister Whisper.

Two days ago, Mister Whisper escaped.

Now, Jack must track down the most ruthless enemy he has ever faced before he can strike again. But after 10 years behind bars, it isn't just murder that Mister Whisper has in mind.

It's revenge.

A Whisper of Sorrows is the sixth book in the DCI Jack Logan crime thriller series, all based in the Highlands of Scotland, and it's perfect for fans of Tartan Noir crime fiction.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2020 JD Kirk

What listeners say about A Whisper of Sorrows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I don’t know if JD Kirk ever reads these reviews I know a couple of authors who tell me they don’t. But if you do please do as many of Logan books as you can. I love these I wish they would just keep going on and not finish.they are so good. 😂😂😂 They should make these into a TV series out of them honestly they are so good please keep putting them out Thank you

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

J d kirk

What can i say, apart from this guys books are getting better each time!!! High drama and suspense , although its the laughing out moments that earned me the strange looks while listening in public

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists and turns

DCI Jack Logan is, if a bit of a renegade, a likeable character. There is a number of laugh out loud moments, a few sniggers as well as a lot of cursing. I have thoroughly enjoyed this whole series probably because of the relationships and characters involved.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ms
  • 25-11-20

Brilliant thriller

This book twists and turns in every chapter, It keeps the reader wondering what is happening to individuals. There are still a few loose ends we are never quite sure about but I am sure we will find out in the next book. J D Kirk has a writing style which keeps you on the edge of your seat.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

Really gripping story only improved by having read the previous books in the series. Definitely worth it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling...but gruelling!

Absolutely enthralling. One of those “rabbit in the headlights” stories - you’re afraid of what will come next, but you have to keep listening. Fantastic characterisation (again). Angus King excels himself in the dramatisation. I’ve never been so fearful for characters; in fact, I’ve never been fearful for characters, but Kirk writes them in such a way that they moved beyond that. I’m off to download the next one!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Groaning at the predictable plot but fun characters

Are you kidding me?! Harris AGAIN?? Same kid keeps getting snatched by different criminals in every book because apparently he’s the only available victim?! It’s just too awful and lazy. Characters have the emotional depth of a plank but are still likeable and the humour of the writing makes it a fun listen!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Frightening but Brilliant

Another fantastic book in the series, I would highly recommend. Angus narrative is amazing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr
  • 14-11-20

Brilliant

It probably helps if you’ve ready the earlier JD Kirk books, but this is a fantastic story. However, what makes these books so brilliant in audiobooks, is the narration. Angus King is superb in his storytelling. It brings the book to life. It’s more like listening to a radio play being acted out than a book being read aloud. The Kirk/king combination is a real winner.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable at times

I didn’t think this book was as good as previous ones. In parts, this story was’n credible.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous Person
  • Anonymous Person
  • 03-11-20

Nobody in the world talks like that

I am a big fan of this author. Love his many books and his many pen names. But I think half of the words in this book are the F-Bomb. It ruins the story and makes it almost impossible to listen to. The previous book was the same way and I just don’t understand why. It feels like a crutch being used for an inability to come up with a more unique boss cop character. Dialogue is hard for sure but frankly it feels like he didn’t even try.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 15-11-20

Made me laugh, made me cry and made me cringe

This might be my favorite of the DCI Logan series. JD Kirk has the ability to weave unexpected humor into his books in an honest and real way. The storylines are always intriguing and he provides just enough of the characters lives and back story to make you care about them without over shadowing the crime(s) taking place. A Whisper of Sorrows made me laugh out loud, cry and cringe. The narrator, Angus King, delivers Logan exactly how I imagine he would be and brings the rest of the team to life seamlessly. I thought it was great! I hope the rest of the series is coming to Audible soon.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Grace
  • Grace
  • 13-11-20

A Whisper of Sorrows

A Whisper of Sorrows is the best book of the DCI Logan series. At least so far.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 24-10-20

5

I'm not recalling a detective story with quite this involved a bad guy's revenge. As the ending approached the author's mastery of intricacy popped right up! Wow! An excellent book. And, Audible has more in this series. And each can stand alone. You will meet the same mesmerizing narrator in each. And I just looked up Zertex Publishing - it is based in the Highlands and it's new. Good grief. What more can a mystery fan want as winter rolls in?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dorothy Darby
  • Dorothy Darby
  • 02-12-20

Great

Cannot wait for the next novel Jack Logan suspense until the very end making you thirst for more

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shada Pup
  • Shada Pup
  • 23-11-20

Way Too Much Use Of The F Word!

This is the first time I have read anything by this author. I love Scottish accents and there was high praise for that. Some other reviewer said that there was too much f word. I thought I could deal with that as I have listened to other books who use swearing in their characters. This was a good story, very well read but, unfortunately, I got sick and tired of the persistent use of the f word by one character. He is Logan’s boss and every other word he uses (I kid you not) is f. I found it to be invasive and irritating. Okay, I know there are people out there who do communicate like this, but really! I will not listen to any more of this series because, as I have stated, the character is a main one and will therefore persist in all stories. I was actually enjoying the story very much but am not willing to stay the course for the potentially hundreds of times the f word is used. So tiresome. I exchanged it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Petra
  • Petra
  • 05-11-20

Quite dark

I truly enjoy JD Kirk’s books for its humor and it’s mystery. But this one was quite dark and disturbing. Jack, the main character, disappointed at times for the choices he made. It is a well written book that kept me listening way into the night just so I could find out what happened next. As before the narration by Angus King was outstanding. On to the next book in the Jack Logan series. Can’t wait to find out what he and his crew are up to next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marti McAllister
  • Marti McAllister
  • 26-10-20

Fantastic as always.

another great read from JD Kirk. can't wait to start the next book. Angus King as the narrator is amazing as well.