Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Northwind

  • Robert Hoon Thrillers, Book 1
  • By: JD Kirk
  • Narrated by: Angus King
  • Length: 9 hrs and 27 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (2,109 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Northwind cover art

Northwind

By: JD Kirk
Narrated by: Angus King
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The One That Got Away cover art
Dead Man’s Grave cover art
Straight Shot cover art
The Body in the Marsh cover art
What Falls Between the Cracks cover art
The Bonnie Dead cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
False Start cover art
The Snow Killer cover art
Painting the Darkness cover art
Starter Villain cover art
The Follow cover art
A Deadly Vice cover art
The Edmonton Police Station Thriller Series, Books 1-3 cover art
He Who Fights with Monsters: A LitRPG Adventure cover art

Summary

Former soldier. Ex-copper. Current man on the edge.

Shunned by his old colleagues, and dividing his time between a dead-end job and the bottom of a whisky bottle, former Police Scotland detective superintendent Bob Hoon’s life is a mess.

Then an old face from Hoon’s Special Forces days turns up asking for help: His teenage daughter has been missing for months, the police have drawn a blank, and he needs the kind of help that only Hoon can provide.

And besides, Hoon owes him one.

From the Highlands of Scotland, to the mean streets of London, Hoon’s relentless hunt for the girl will see him make new friends and encounter old enemies. Enemies who know what happened to the girl. And to hundreds more like her.

But Hoon’s been given something that makes him dangerous, something he thought he’d long-since lost: a purpose.

He may be a disgraced ex-copper, a barely functioning alcoholic, and a borderline psychopath, but Bob Hoon still believes in justice.

And he’s just the foul-mouthed bastard to dish some out.

From JD Kirk’s DCI Logan series, Northwind is the first in a new series of action-packed thrillers for fans of Lee Child, James Patterson, and Mark Dawson.

©2021 JD Kirk (P)2021 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Northwind

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,743
  • 4 Stars
    269
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    22
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,747
  • 4 Stars
    143
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    12
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,561
  • 4 Stars
    276
  • 3 Stars
    65
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    16

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not for the faint hearted

This is easily the best book I've bought for ages. It has everything you want; Mystery, intrigue, action, humour and great characters.
The opening section will tell you all you need to know. it is a powerful and observant look at society as well as being 'laugh out loud' funny.
Angus King's narration is brilliant. Kirk has created one of the best characters in modern crime fiction. Robert Hoon's behavior may be questionable at times but his moral compass is spot on. He also knows what he wants and how to get it.
if you are easily offended, North wind may not be for you. It has confirmed what I have long believed, the Scots are the best swearers in the world.

If Bob Hoon was writing this review this is what he would say:
If ya da nae like this book you're probably a weasel titted cock womble from Dubdee

Thank you kindly

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

O.M.G!! Seriously.... O.M.G!!

Please please please bring the next one out soon!! I knew there was more to Bob but I just didn't realise how much MORE there was!! Definitely need the next installment ASAP!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bloody Brilliant

Brilliant, Format DCI Bob Hoone is horrifying, hilarious and honorable- literally one of a kind.
Buy it now, enough said!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

HOOOOOON!!

As if they have a whole book (Please make it a series) about one of my favourite characters from the DCI Logan series!! Yessss!! Literally howled my way through, and learnt many more thoroughly creative insults.
Ps Angus King is THE BEST narrator!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book you wish didn't end

I loved this book. Hoon is one of the best characters from the Logan series so I was delighted when I saw this was out. Laugh out loud funny and tear jerking heartbreak in one book.

One of the best narrators too.

Please write faster. I want more, more, more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant heart breaking but funny too

Can't wait for next bloom ,.hope this is the start of new series along side the original

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant detective romp!

Having read the previous series of JD Kirk's novels I was expecting something similar, but nothing could have prepared me for the force of nature that is the foul mouthed ex police officer Hoon! It's some time since I actually giggled out loud to what I thought was going to be a serious detective tale - which it is - but Hoon is a hoot!
Retired from the Force (before he was removed, I suspect!) Hoon starts off as a Security Guard but this supermarket just ain't big enough for our ex army hero and he ends up on the trail of his ex-army mate's daughter, who has gone missing. Let's just say it's not straightforward! Brilliant but peppered with salty language so be warned!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant new series.

I love the Logan books - but there was never enough Hoon in them for my liking ! He being one of the most interesting characters - now he’s got his own storyline .This book was excellent and I can’t wait for the second instalment.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant and funny listen

Really enjoyed this first installment for Hoon. It's nice to start to understand some of the complexities of his character. Very funny with some LOL moments and a really good storyline. Loved the cameos from DCI Logan.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Fantastic story again JD Kirk and spectacular reading by Angus King who really brings the characters alive. Absoluty brilliant. Best not listen in public as it is hilarious in places you might wet yourself! lol
Thank you JD Kirk x

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!