Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Ex-Police Scotland detective Bob Hoon has made himself some powerful enemies.

Following his brutal search for the missing daughter of an old army colleague, Hoon is being hunted by the Loop, a secretive criminal cabal with members in very high places and a tendency to eliminate all those who stand against it.

Unfortunately for them, Hoon has never been one to back down from a fight, and he isn’t about to start now. Instead, he’s going to burn their whole damn organization to the ground.

But first, he’s going to have to get inside.

He may be a foulmouthed, hard-drinking psychopath with a death wish, but Bob Hoon is about to do something he hasn’t done in years.

He’s going undercover.

Hear the second explosive Robert Hoon Thriller from million-selling crime author JD Kirk - perfect for fans of Lee Child, Robert Ludlum, and David Baldacci.

“Jog on, Bond. Hoon is the hero we need!” (Angus King)

©2022 JD Kirk (P)2022 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Southpaw

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    505
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    497
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    453
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Profanity

I am no prude, but I found the amount of profanity in the book detracted from a good book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!!!!!

I have loved all the J D Kirk books but this is by far the best book I have read or listened to. The Narrator is fantastic and together J D Kirk and Angus King make it like watching a film as you can see the whole thing in your mind. It really should be a film it would put James Bond or Mission Impossible in the shade. I laughed, cried and held my breath and loved the sarcastic humour of Bob Hoon. An absolute must to listen too!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • J
  • 18-04-22

Not as impressed with this book from JD Kirk

Really not impressed with this book from the usually brilliant author.
What started out as such a promising spin off with Hoon from his DCI Logan books, this second book is very disappointing. Very much a filler with not much substance or story line, quite repetitive and sad to say, boring! I really struggled to stick with it and get through it to see what the meaning of the book was all about.

What was written that actually had any real meaning to the series, could have been said in one chapter. The rest was just a filler of swearing and dull characters that did nothing but pull the first book on Bob Hoon down.

How much of it could be anything to do with his searching for the missing girl or in any way go to describe the ring that is involved, was very non informative and sadly, all I can say, is that it seems to be a book that seems to have been finished to a deadline with not much of a plot.

I also believe there is a mistake in either what the narrator says or, I would think more likely the writing - when Hoon is fighting for Greg in the cage, Greg calls him “Mr Hoon.” However, Greg doesn’t know him as Hoon but as Stephen White and therefore should have called him Mr White. It is an off put as Hoon’s hidden identity should have been just this - hidden, but as the mistake seems to be there, to me it does show that this book doesn’t seem to have had the same scrutiny and dedication to the storyline as the previous, or indeed, the DCI Logan series.

I will stick with the next book because of JD Kirk’s amazing penmanship in other books and hope that it is back to the standard of all his previous works; but overall, I was disappointed. If you missed out the middle 90% of the book, I don’t think you’d be any wiser in understanding what was going on.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love Bib Hoon. What a character!

Good gritty story. Bags of humour. my only disappointment is I read these books too quickly! I've read all the DCI Logan books. Now these spin offs. Love them. Can't wait for the next one!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Extraordinary

X A fabulous character here, certainly someone you would rather have as a friend than an enemy he. Angus King… Superb narrator

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent second book for Hoon

I'm running out of novel compliments about Kirk, he's just brilliant. Angus gives another engaging and entertaining narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic story

I bloody love Hoon. I bloody love JD Kirk and I bloody loved this

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just brilliant

This is just brilliant. I loved it from start to finish and hung on to every word. Angus King is incredible as always. More please!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't help but love Hoon

He's as hard as very hard nails and swears like a trooper, but has a heart of gold. He will do anything for his friends, but woe betide his enemies.

The way JD Kirk manages to write such laugh out loud funny and horribly scary stuff is only matched by the way he wheedles the F word into virtually every sentence, sometimes into words, it's amazing!

Can't wait for the next instalment.

Absolutely brilliant!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pure dead brilliant

You’ll never ever be disappointed with a JD Kirk book and Southpaw was brilliant. Love Hoon and can’t wait for the next instalment. Hopefully a wee Logan instalment (who I love just as much) should be out soon to keep me going. I’ve laughed, I’ve winced and I’ve even shed a wee tear whilst listening to this. But don’t take my word for it, listen to it as like the title states it’s pure dead brilliant.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris Soothill
  • Chris Soothill
  • 27-03-22

Hoon us the man.

great story and characters. Hoon is a brilliantly funny guy with a creative vocabulary.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 28-03-22

I fu<k!ng love Bob Hoon!

I thoroughly enjoy every JD Kirk book but the Bob Jun the to Bob Hoon offshoot books are my favorite of all!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen abbott
  • Karen abbott
  • 29-03-22

Great entertainment

I don’t usually take the time to write reviews but this book deserves one.This is the second in a new series with Robert Hoon as the protagonist. Kirk has written good Scottish police procedurals and Robert Hoon has shown up as a character in some of them. So we have in fact met him before. His language was colorful but now as the main character the colorful adjectives abound. So if you find this use of language objectionable this is not the book for you. One character said that his language was sponsored by the word f***. Having said all of that I found the story interesting and Hoon’s inability to express himself without the word f*** ,laugh out loud funny. Angus King’s performance was pitch perfect. Great entertainment. Can’t wait to see what Robert Hoon
is up to next .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trisha Terry
  • Trisha Terry
  • 29-03-22

JD Kirk is my new favorite

I loved the DCI Logan books and this spin off did not disappoint. Angus King is one of my favorite narrators too so I highly recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PNW
  • PNW
  • 26-03-22

That Bob Hoon--what an actor!

Love this new series! It's laugh out loud funny and profane, and at the same time delivers a compelling story line that's difficult to put down. Can't wait for the next installment.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Read
  • D. Read
  • 16-05-22

A new Hero

The brash and guttural no nonsense take no hostages Hoon is my new hero. Cant wait for Book 3

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jean Martin
  • Jean Martin
  • 08-05-22

Great finish!!

Kirk tied it up without any loose ends, while still leaving an opening for more .
Kings narration really made it for me; I hope he’s involved with any subsequent books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for charleypotatoes
  • charleypotatoes
  • 06-05-22

Amazing narration

I can truly say I enjoyed this book tremendously along with the first of the series it’s so enjoyable to close your eyes and visualize every person that’s speaking and not attribute it to the same person’s voice kudos to Angus king

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dorothy Darby
  • Dorothy Darby
  • 05-05-22

Great read

I hope this will be a series I love this character
When is next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for THE Aunt Sharon
  • THE Aunt Sharon
  • 03-05-22

Kirk always weaves a good story!

I am pleasantly surprised by his 2 Hoon books. when he was introduced in the Logan series, I wasn't sure if I'd like him as the main character, but I do, he is a good man under his rough exterior. My only complaint with JD Kirk is the copious amount of swearing. In my everyday life I rarely hear any!! Trust me, we get hurt and angry, too!