Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Edinburgh has Rebus. 

The Highlands have Logan. 

Now Yorkshire has Grimm.... 

Welcome to Wensleydale, where the cheese is famous, the scenery beautiful, and the locals have murder on their minds....

Detective Chief Inspector Harry Grimm is forced to take leave from Bristol’s Major Investigations Team when his boss, tired of Harry chasing the ghost of his murderous father, sends him north on secondment. 

Used to city life and high stress, Harry fears his life will now be spent handing out speeding tickets, finding lost sheep, and directing tourists. But when a local teenager runs away, Harry finds himself pulled into an investigation much worse than anyone could have ever expected. 

The nicer the place, the darker the secrets. Wensleydale is beautiful, everyone is friendly and welcoming, and people just don’t get murdered...do they? 

A classic fish-out-of-water crime mystery set in the stunning and evocative scenery of Wensleydale in North Yorkshire. 

Grimm Up North is the terrific debut crime novel from award-winning author David J. Gatward. Perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J. D. Kirk, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J. M. Dalgliesh, J. E. Mayhew, and J. R. Ellis.

©2020 David J. Gatward (P)2020 David J. Gatward

What listeners say about Grimm Up North

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cannot wait for more stories

This is the first time i have ever left a review. The narrator is superb, i really felt i was THERE..the characters are well written, i can relate very well to the close knit environment that is created throughout the story. Looking forward to the next stories.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

As a northerner moving South, the opposite of DI Grimm it really hit a chord with me.

What got me hooked straight away was the description of Grimm's face, pure magic. No spoilers you need to experience it yourself.

Great storyline, fast paced, humorous and serious all simultaneously.

Wish the next were on on Audible but can't wait so switching to Kindle.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Grimm Up North

I thoroughly enjoyed this first outing of Harry Grimm, it was exciting, fast paced and uproariously funny in places. I can't wait for the next one!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

The two main characters in the story -Grimm and the landscape- are made to come alive. Enough is said of the other characters to make you speculate about their backstory and how they will interact with Grimm in the future. A really good listen. Looking forward to hearing more

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Harry made me laugh out loud. He is a breath of fresh air. The pies and cakes sound scrumptious. Looking forward to the next in the series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the Yorkshireness

Started off well but tailed off a bit. I know the area well so enjoyed the references.
would listen to the next one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Book

Really enjoyed this and I agree the Dales are amazing :-) I miss Yorkshire and it's not Grimm at all.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable Read

This is a superbly written and narrated debut crime novel from Mr Gasward, it is exciting edge of the seat stuff that keeps you entertained from page 1 to the very end. The characters are all well defined and Aubrey Parsons does his usual excellent job of voicing them individually. It is humorous in parts and serious in others. I loved Aubreys Dalesman accent for the people of Hawes, it wasn't over the top Yorkshire accent, to me it sounded just like our ex next door neighbour who was a true Dalesman. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good detective novel. *****
I was given a free copy of the book and have provided this honest review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best new detective?

Great balance between humour and grit, what a fantastic opportunity and environment for a new detective series 👍

Fans of the DCI Logan and Rebus series will love this material.

Diolch yn fawr iawn
Dai Gatward
😀

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Grimm has arrived!

A great detective story with an unloveable lead you'll love!
It makes a change for authors to use real places and I could 'see' everything described so well it made me homesick, I could even taste the pie from Cocketts!
Great job David, I look forward to Grimm's next 'fairytale'.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diana in SC @AudiobookObsession
  • Diana in SC @AudiobookObsession
  • 15-03-21

An enthralling and entertaining new mystery series

I never knew a cop crime novel or police procedural could be so entertaining! I love this audiobook, and I can’t wait to plunge into the next one. I highly recommend this audiobook to anyone who likes mysteries set in the English countryside. There is some violence and a few bloody details, but just enough to describe the situation (not too much). There is some swearing, but it feels natural for emphasis.

This contemporary mystery story is realistic and a little gritty while still having some dry British humor, a fish out of water detective, a vivid cast of supporting police characters, and a nail-biting mystery. I am very impressed with the author’s ability to describe the setting and to create such a likable, flawed, and intelligent protagonist, Harry Grimm. He has a traumatic past, a temper, a rather grumpy nature, and is very rude to journalists. However, he is also a good guy at heart and wants to protect regular people from danger. Harry is sharp, resourceful, and always shows respect for people who respect him. He also has a sense of humor. Although the solving of the crime is collaborative like a police procedural, Harry is the star who does a little more crime-solving than the rest of the police team, so it is more of a cop mystery.

The high quality writing was flawlessly interpreted by the narrator Aubrey Parsons. The narrator’s gravelly voice with a Bristol accent for Harry Grimm contrasted beautifully with the array of Yorkshire accents and the single Scottish accent of the other colorful characters. The narrator’s pacing and comic timing was phenomenal. I felt like I was there with Detective Chief Inspector (DCI) Harry Grimm and his new coworkers tracking down the culprit in Wensleydale. This is my first book I have experienced by David J. Gatward or narrated by Aubrey Parsons, and they make a fantastic team.

I requested and received a free audiocode from the narrator, and I voluntarily wrote this honest review.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diana
  • Diana
  • 18-03-21

Delightful moments, but uneven writing/narration

I bought this right away after reading a rave review posted in a FB group. The main feature of the rave review was that this was well-written. There are moments of brilliant writing, and the characters created are interesting, and the mystery was well-played. But, sometimes the writing tried more for a laugh at the expense of the story. Examples are the defecation description and when the very proper supervisor gave advice that wouldn't happen in real life. Also, there was a dip into horror with the very detailed description of the murder victim's injuries - totally unnecessary. The narration was decent, but maybe the sound equipment was subpar? Or was it the yelling written into the story that had to be quieted? The attempts at humor were ham-handed and sometimes it would have been better to not try so hard. This wasn't the well-written story that I had expected after reading the rave review. It has potential, and maybe another draft or two would have made this perfect.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 15-01-21

3

It's fun to read a first-in-new-series
mystery set in rural Great Britain. #1)
we need a different narrator #2) this Grimm cop has GOT to stop yelling.
We've got an interesting case here but it is terribly distracting that our Grimm cop is brand new to the area and spends a heck of a lot of time flopping around like a fish out of water. And YELLing. Thank goodness for the butcher/baker which wins our hearts-
except for that cake/cheese thing. I want to read book 2, this author will be improving quickly.