Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A murderous puzzle.

A compromised crime scene.

One DCI whose determination to nail the killer could cost him his life....

Detective Harry Grimm can’t catch a break. When his much-needed vacation is interrupted by a call reporting a decomposed corpse, he races home to examine the gruesome remains. Learning the young woman was tortured, he’s stunned when the peaceful countryside site explodes, destroying evidence and causing more death.

Uncovering clues from the victim’s car, Grimm struggles to keep up with a cunning killer when he discovers yet another body. But when the seasoned DCI examines the grisly murder and compares forensics, he’s alarmed when the patterns match those of a brutal drug dealer he put behind bars years back.

Can this hardened cop nab a wily crook before his own blood stains the picturesque dales?

One Bad Turn is the ninth book in the gripping Harry Grimm police procedural series. If you like high-stakes drama, wounded heroes, and unexpected twists, then you’ll love David J. Gatward’s thrilling cat-and-mouse chase.

Buy One Bad Turn to twist fate’s knife today!

One Bad Turn is the ninth book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J.R. Ellis, Margaret Mayhew, Jeanne M. Dams, J. M. Dalgliesh, Roger Silverwood, J. D. Kirk, Adam Croft, and Simon McCleave.

©2022 David J. Gatward (P)2022 David J. Gatward

What listeners say about One Bad Turn

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another gripping listen.

on the edges of my seat once again. Looking forward to many Grimm tales to come!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

I adore this series,the only problem is I get through them too quickly because I can’t stop listening.It’s a pleasure to meet up with the regular characters ,the narrator is fantastic,it’s more like a full cast drama than a novel and the storyline never lets you down.
I highly recommend this book and can’t wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not one of your usual dales tales

All crime is evil but this last story had it in spades, but Harry and his team managed to deal with it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Grimm Tale

Thoroughly enjoying these DCI Grimm stories. Brilliant thriller kept my attention throughout, edge of the seat stuff.
Grimm has a decision to make, and I hope its the right one. I can't wait for the next book.
Reccomended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Yet another brilliant book by David J. Gatward. A perfect blend of tough violent action and comforting homely scenes of cake and cheese. And a refreshing change to have detectives who enjoy a mug of tea and not a pretentious cardboard cup of caffeine loaded, overpriced coffee, so heavily mentioned in most detective novels.
Aubrey Parsons, my favourite narrator, does a wonderful job of being the grumpy but lovable Harry Grimm, not to mention all the other varied characters. Well done Aubs!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Cracker!

This is another belter of a book from Dave Gatward, Gripping from start to finish, the first chapter is a bit disturbing and not for the squeamish but well written it is a brilliant start. This Grimm series just gets better and better. Aubrey once again excels in his narration and for me is the perfect Grimm. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fabulous

narrator is perfect, excellent book and story...more Grimm please 🙏 can't wait for the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fabulous listen

Best Grimm book so far, can’t wait for the next one . Thank you David J Gatward and Aubrey Parsons.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

As with all these books Grimm just gets better and better. The twist and turns brings you and intriguing end. The development and lives of the team David Gatward has created are really endearing.
Can't wait for the next book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

Love these books, my favourite on audible. But if anything happens to Smudge or Fly I will stop listening.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TGR
  • TGR
  • 24-04-22

Figured it out early on…

… but still very enjoyable! I like Harry and enjoy how the characters have changed:moved forward. I would still love a “crossover “ between DCI Grimm and DCI Logan! Geez! Imagine them meeting and working a case! Even crazier, imagine Jason and Tyler meeting up?? “Airight, boss?” 😆
Very good stories in This series and looking forward to the next.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for StL Reader
  • StL Reader
  • 20-04-22

Another good story, but a question…

David Gatward has added another good story to his series. I look forward to the next installment.

My question: is there some agreement that I missed among UK crime writers to borrow characters from other UK crime writers? This book borrowed DCI Kett from Alex Smith. And, not long ago J D Kirk borrowed Grimm himself in one of his (Scottish) DCI Logan series stories. Honestly, I admit I’m getting a chuckle out of it. I also wonder if I’ve missed some because there may be some author involved that I don’t/ haven’t read. Would probably like to.

Aubrey Parsons is great, as usual. I think he does wonderful accents. To be fair though, I’m an American and wouldn’t really be able to vouch for their accuracy!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 19-04-22

Harry Grimm

What a fantastic series! I’ve so enjoyed getting to know all the characters. Sad that it’s over