Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

To catch the hunter, become the prey. 

When the body of a female backpacker is found on the Yorkshire moors, the killer seems obvious, the motive clear. 

If only. 

Because Grimm and his team are up against not just a murderer, but a predator, and when the key suspect disappears, it’s only a matter of time before another body is found. 

To catch one of the most dangerous killers he has ever faced, and to have any chance of staying alive himself, Grimm will need to not only draw on his skills as a detective, but as a soldier, and to trust his team with his life as he goes to war once more. 

But at least he won’t have to eat cheese and cake. 

Hopefully....

Corpse Road is the third book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J. D. Kirk, , Adam Croft, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J. M. Dalgliesh, J. E. Mayhew, and J. R. Ellis.

©2020 David Gatward (P)2021 David Gatward

What listeners say about Corpse Road

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great yarn from the Grimm series

Great narration, great story and I really like the author end notes once you reach the end of the book

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bloody brilliant

This is absolutely brilliant, right on topic currently too, incel alert, do not read/listen if you are a) an incel OR b) easily offended ...
this is Harry Grimm at his best (albeit a slow best) he could have been a bit quicker off the mark in my opinion, BUT, it's hilarious, it's entertaining and, at the end of the day, that's what's I'm paying for.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Bit predictable

I guessed 'who dun it' fairly early on. I finished the book but not sure I would bother with this series again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another great book, can't wait for the next book!

DCI Grimm is definitely growing on me, like the back drop of swaledale too. look forward to the next instalment

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing book

anther amazing book
When the body of a female backpacker is found on the Yorkshire moors, the killer seems obvious, the motive clear.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Harry Grimm is back. He's still in Wensleydale and the area is beginning to grow on him, though I'm not sure he'll ever eat cheese with his cake! In this book he is investigating the case of a woman who is found dead whilst camping near the old Corpse Road. The story is original and well written with plenty of twists and I love the dark humour which runs through it. The descriptions of the area (which I do know a little) make you want to be there, and the characters are all developing well. I loved the addition of Fly, the young sheepdog, in this book.

Excellent narration by Aubrey Parsons made this a great listen!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

David J Gatward Grim

I have now read the set of Grim books. Have thoroughly enjoyed every story. Love all the characters. Comes alive as I know Swaledale so well. Aubrey Parsons is wonderful and brings the characters alive. Roll on the next book Janet, Kent

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Installment

Very much enjoyed this, think he got out ahead of the curve on incels which is likely to be very, very tedious a year or two from now. I like the Yorkshire setting, I have been a long way from Yorkshire for a long time now, but it will always be home. And the mystery here is very well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

twists And turns

I was wrong footed with who done it at first. lovely description of the area.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gail S.
  • Gail S.
  • 25-04-21

Good Stories

I’ve read the first 3 Harry Grimm mysteries and enjoyed the characters. Someone complained about the narrator but I think he is great. Harry just wouldn’t be Harry without his voice. I love the author’s notes at the end. Really gives you an idea of why and how the location of the story plays a part.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matt
  • Matt
  • 06-04-21

gimme more

Love the humor this author gives his characters.
Gimme more and don't stop. Hurry I want more now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diana in SC @AudiobookObsession
  • Diana in SC @AudiobookObsession
  • 12-08-21

Thrilling and chilling!

This is my favorite crime series and my favorite police procedural mystery series. This third book was extremely addictive, especially with Aubrey Parsons’s superb narration. The crimes were scary without being too graphic. My heart raced along with Harry’s at the remarkable climax. I also loved how a few chapters were told from the perspectives of a few more members of the police team. These characters are wonderful, and the writing is tense while still having friendly interactions. I can’t wait to listen to the next book. My one tiny complaint is that too many clues were given to the reader (not to the police) in the first two chapters, so I was able to figure out the killer’s identity way too early, but it was still fascinating seeing how Harry and his team figured it out. I loved every minute of this marvelous audiobook.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mama
  • Mama
  • 08-08-21

Great

I am really loving this series. Harry Grimm and the characters have grown on me. Grimm is a great DCI and he cares about his people.
This mystery is a weird one. A camper is murdered near a road called Corpse Road, hence the title. A bit ominous, no?
Although I'm not sure about cake and cheese, I know I'll be continuing with the series.