Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

We all have our little secrets.

When the remains of a brutally murdered young woman are left hanging from the Glenfinnan Monument in the Highlands of Scotland, DCI Jack Logan and his Major Investigations team are dispatched to investigate.

At first, the case appears to be fairly open and shut. But, as evidence mounts, Jack uncovers some shocking truths about the victim that risk turning the investigation into a potentially explosive international incident.

With a billionaire baying for his blood, a former FBI agent breathing down his neck, and half the world's press watching his every move, it isn't the murderer that Jack's afraid might be the end of him.

It's the stress.

And don't get him started on the bloody tourists....

A Death Most Monumental is the eighth book from internationally best-selling author JD Kirk and is perfect for fans of Stuart Macbride, Ian Rankin, Chris Brookmyre, and Val McDermid.

©2020 JD Kirk (P)2020 JD Kirk

What listeners say about A Death Most Monumental

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    379
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    381
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    341
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surpasses all that came before

I do not have the words to express just how much I loved this book, I was in stitches, literally howling with laughter at poor Mouf (Craig) in the gents toilets, and the viaduct train scene was almost as funny, admittedly, I was over tired (from staying up too late listening to this book) so may have just found it more funny that it was really was but if you've ever read any of this series you'll have to admit that DC Tyler Neish is the most adorably clownish character.

The crime itself was cleverly orchestrated, the whole investigation was classic Logan, with possibly a little more foul language than usual, I'm not certain but it doesn't bother me, although I know it bothers some and perhaps those people should avoid this series altogether.

Angus King gave his usual stunning performance, and we all need more Logan and we need it now.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not JD Kirk at his best

I have really enjoyed this series by J D Kirk, the main character Logan reminds me of several characters I have worked with over the years. This story however fell well short of previous books, lacking a good basic crime and characters. The narration however was excellent as usual.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Love all the books in the series so far . Have had some laugh out loud moments. The interaction between the characters is great . The narrator is excellent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another excellent book

I’m loving the Jack Logan series. Great characters. Excellent plots. Really quite funny in places too! JD Kirk is an excellent writer but I think Angus King’s reading of the books lifts them even further

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good series

I love this series, it just seems to get better I look forward to hearing the next ones. Angus King brings the characters to life perfectly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best of them so far

I loved this book... Yes, I'm already a fan, but this one was the best so far! Made me laugh out loud on several occasions 🤣

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

loving this series always a wee smile in amongst the gritty bits. Angus King does a fantastic job. I love his DC Neesh in particular.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Have listened to all the series so far, nav to back. Narrator is excellent, faultless job!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yet again - thoroughly enjoyed this book

You can take the boy out of Glasgow- you can’t take Glasgow out of the boy.

The later chapter fight scene had me in stitches (you’ll know when you get there )

Absolutely cracking

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An amazing series.

I’ve been hooked since book 1.
The characters in this series make it for me; their witty one liners and camaraderie, all with a bit of crime thrown in for good measure. I would encourage anyone to read/listen to this series. I can’t get enough of it!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marti McAllister
  • Marti McAllister
  • 30-12-20

Another great Logan thriller

I love the Logan series. can't wait for his next book. The narrator brings life to the story and characters .

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lynmarwat
  • lynmarwat
  • 11-02-21

So very entertaining!

The prose of the author is engaging, and at times just hilarious. The narrator is a master creating each character through his skill of different accents and vocal acrobatics. I will truly go into a deep depression when I finish all of the current Inspector Logan books.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kareliz
  • Kareliz
  • 31-01-21

my favorite of the series so far

The story was intercontinental & interesting. The best part was listening to Narrator Angus King with accents outside the limits of the UK... good change-up!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leah Mandell
  • Leah Mandell
  • 29-01-21

Best series ever!!

The author narrator combo is seriously award worthy! I wish I had a new one to read every day. I’m not one to re-listen much but this series is so well done that I know I will. Bravo to JD and Angus, I absolutely LOVE you both!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for matt harrington
  • matt harrington
  • 16-01-21

Do Not Miss

Absolutely LOVED it. The best so far. I have never enjoyed a book so much. Had me in complete stitches at times. Didn't want it to end. Good mystery on top of it .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mama
  • Mama
  • 06-01-21

Hoon

Another good DCI Jack Logan mystery. This one seemed a bit more predictable, but still it had a twist that the author threw into the story. I enjoy this series. Jack and Hoon interact a bit more in part of the story; he has the most creative foul mouthed insults, I kinda look forward to see what he'll say next. I really enjoyed the ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for StL Reader
  • StL Reader
  • 01-01-21

Another good one

I adore this series. Quirky and interesting characters, and another good plot. Though, to be honest, I’d listen to this series for the characters and Angus King’s narration alone. I’d listen to a story about these characters going to a birthday party and I’d listen to Angus King narrate anything - adore him.

The only thing I would object to in this book is did the author need to make the Americans such complete a**holes? I mean I know we can be, but many of us are not so bad!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill Haukos
  • Jill Haukos
  • 14-09-21

Best one yet!

Buckle your seatbelt and get DC Neish a barf bag because we have a crazy ride ahead of us! Hang on and enjoy this to the end, but for the love of Christ, stay off the train tracks! This is the entire gang at their best but I had to stop reading to laugh myself silly during the DSup Hoon and Tyler Neish segments. Classic!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Ellis
  • J. Ellis
  • 10-07-21

I love this DCI!

He's so rough but really a good guy. it's always fun to see him maneuver through the system.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimberly
  • Kimberly
  • 02-07-21

Better and Better

I started with the first book of this series - all good - but this one was exceptionally well written. I found myself laughing at the subtle jokes - felt compassion and fear and everything the author hopes a listener will feel when fully engaged!! Very well done! Thank you!