Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Death in the Village

  • A Sukey Reynolds Mystery, Book 11
  • By: Betty Rowlands
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (36 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Death in the Village cover art

Death in the Village

By: Betty Rowlands
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Murder at Hawthorn Cottage cover art
Mystery on Hidden Lane: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Mystery Novel cover art
A Body in the Village Hall: An Utterly Gripping Cozy Murder Mystery cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
An English Garden Murder cover art
The Dinner Lady Detectives cover art
A Date to Die For cover art
Murder on the Marshes cover art
The Art of Lying cover art
The Vicarage Murder cover art
The Birthday Mystery cover art
The Corfe Castle Murders cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
The Cornish Wedding Murder cover art
Bunburry 1-3 cover art
The Charity Shop Detective Agency cover art

Summary

In the sleepy village of Over Hampton lies a small cottage with a picture-perfect garden...but inside the ivy-covered walls a woman is dead on the bathroom floor.

The warm summer weather is giving Sukey Reynolds a chance to enjoy the stunning English countryside around her new home. She has met a handsome local journalist, and there might be a new romance on the cards. 

Everything is quiet at work too. So when the village doctor calls, saying he is sure there is something fishy about one of his patients’ deaths, Sukey follows up his claims. Well-liked and kindly Adelaide Minchin was found by her milkman, and appears to have died in a fall. Sukey can find no evidence to the contrary, but promises the doctor she will keep his theory in mind. 

Meanwhile, the police force is suddenly very busy after two young girls go missing in the very same village. It’s all hands on deck to bring them home safely, but as Sukey investigates the last place the girls were seen, she realises it was very close to Adelaide’s cottage.... Is it possible that the cases are linked? 

Sukey’s colleagues are not convinced by her hunch, so she does some sleuthing in her spare time, determined to prove them wrong. In the close-knit village she has no shortage of possible suspects: was it the benevolent builders, the frazzled new father, or the muddled milkman...? And can she find the real culprit, and bring the girls back home, before any more innocent lives are lost?  

A one-sitting listen, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin, and Joy Ellis!

This book was previously published as Miss Minchin Dies.

©2010, 2019 Betty Rowlands (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Death in the Village

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable listen

when you need to relax...just listen and escape. This book gives you the vehicle to do it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant book 📖

brilliant book 📖 injoy listen to your book 📖 brilliant performance and really enjoyed the story lines and thank you for writing the book 😎

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better story

I’ve enjoyed this book more than some of the previous ones. Sykes is less of a know it all and more likeable. Great read or listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!