Listen free for 30 days

Murder on the Marshes

A Tara Thorpe Mystery, Book 1
Narrated by: Lucy Brownhill
Series: Tara Thorpe Mystery Series, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 45 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (125 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Do you love twisty murder mysteries? Meet Tara Thorpe. The clue to a puzzling local murder has landed right on her doorstep. Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, LJ Ross, and Joy Ellis.

As the sun rises, a wealthy young woman, Samantha Seabrook, is found drowned in the ornamental fountain of a deserted Cambridge courtyard, the only clue: an antique silver chain wound tightly around her throat. 

It’s Tara Thorpe’s job to discover what happened to Miss Seabrook. But the case becomes personal when she learns that Samantha had been receiving death threats...rather like the one that landed on Tara’s doorstep the night the woman died.

Together with Detective Inspector Garstin Blake, Tara tracks the killer to the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of the city. But there’s something Tara can’t quite admit to Blake about her past – and it could make all the difference to whether they live...or die.

An absolutely gripping mystery that will keep you hooked until the very last word. The first in a series of pause-resisting Cambridge mysteries featuring Thorpe and Blake.

©2018 Clare Chase (P)2018 Bookouture

What listeners say about Murder on the Marshes

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Gripping excerpt

It was the excerpt of this story which made me choose it after two hours of trying to find the right book. But sadly the rest of it didn't match up. In places it is badly written and overall, poorly plotted. The narrator sounds like she's auditioning for a role in East Enders and her voice characterisations are executed in the same exaggerated manner. There are annoying mis-pronounciations too which carry on throughout the reading and grate on the nerves. And finally the murderer and his motivations are a damp squib. Not a book I can listen to a second time. It's going back.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wrong narrator

Not a bad story although rather unbelievable revenge plot: Tara seems like a good character especially if she joins the police but the narrator is so flat with little expression

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Overlong

Reasonable story, but really needs to be shortened, too slow, which made me lose concentration

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyable

writing not up to LJ Ross standard, a bit chic lit in style. however a good tale and easy to listen to.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

This was terrible. The characters were boring, no humour and not realistic. The plot was uninteresting and the narration was awful; all in short sentences and didn’t flow. I won’t be listening to anymore by this author. Just started a new Peter Grainger instead, brilliant ! Don’t bother with this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This book crept up on me!

During the first few chapters I thought this would be a book I would not finish but I was surprised that I stayed up late to read the ending.

The main protagonist is a young reporter who is looking for a story. She becomes part of that story when a threat is delivered to her home.

Another woman is found dead with a similar threat in her possession. What is the connection? Why are they targeted?

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

.<br /> Rather slow

Reader good, but rather slow, my mind wandered off quite a lot, so had to rewind quite often.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and great narrator performance

I really enjoyed this first in the Tara Thorpe mysteries. As a Cambridge local it was fun to imagine the scenes in vivid detail. This was a little less 'cozy' than my usual mystery reads but it was gripping and the story well told. I enjoyed the dynamic between Thorpe and Blake.
As a narrator myself I really appreciated brilliant Lucy Brownhill's performance, with a variety of accents and characters she does a great job in pulling the listener in and keeping you hooked. I've already started on the next book in the series Murder on the River.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon L Sarp
  • Sharon L Sarp
  • 13-12-18

Really hard to listen to!

So boring. And the narrator was terrible, she has a breathy whisper for a voice. And she hisses her esses.
And the last couple of chapters that I read consisted of a string of 4 - 5 word sentences that the narrator paused with full stops between. So annoying!
I made it to the 10th chapter and quit, it wasn't worth wasting any more of my time.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 19-01-19

Good story; narrator not so good

I rated this four stars strictly on the story itself. It was tedious listening to the audiobook; the narrator made this very boring. But I listened on and I enjoyed the mystery.

The characters are interesting. I thought DI Blake shared a bit too much with a reporter. I’m curious about the direction the next book will take. What will Tara do? Will Blake be around?

I may read the next book in this series rather than listen to it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ili pika
  • ili pika
  • 30-12-18

Heed the one star reviews

I so wish I had taken heed of several other reviewers who said that the narration kills this audiobook. I agree that the constantly breathless, overly intense speaking style of the narrator ruined this one for me. It's a bit like having someone whisper urgently in your ear. An occasional paragraph maybe, 11 hours of it, nope. Returning it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shirley Y. Thomas
  • Shirley Y. Thomas
  • 18-08-20

Captivating

In the beginning, I didn’t like the narrator’s soft, rushed reading and her odd way of making hard Gs (thingk, wrongk). She used very little inflection and made little effort to make her voice much different among the characters. But midway through, I got quite caught up in the story. In the end I enjoyed it very much. The writer is the real-deal. The plot and the characters and their dialog were all well crafted. I would buy another book in this series. A winner

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-02-20

A very favorable review for a good read,

A very favorable review,

Narrator was particularly good. That contributed to enjoying a good story.

Thank you.

George Rodgers.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-07-19

Super fun thriller for your summer beach trip!

I discovered Clare Chase this summer through the Kindle Unlimited program. I was not disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed this mystery. She kept me guessing until the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane
  • Jane
  • 08-12-18

poorly read

Don't really know what the story was because I couldn't understand the reader. Too bad

5 people found this helpful