Listen free for 30 days

Death on the River

A Tara Thorpe Mystery, Book 2
Narrated by: Lucy Brownhill
Series: Tara Thorpe Mystery Series, Book 2
Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
4.6 out of 5 stars (78 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Meet Tara Thorpe. She’s Cambridge Police’s newest recruit...but her dark past is never far behind her. Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, LJ Ross, and Joy Ellis.

When a body is pulled from the dank and dangerous fens on the outskirts of town, everybody assumes it was a tragic accident. But Detective Tara Thorpe, newly joined and determined to prove herself, suspects there’s more to the story.

Tara is desperate to investigate further, but her supervisor Patrick Wilkins has other ideas. He would rather die than let this ambitious upstart show him up - even if it means some digging in Tara’s secret past to keep her under his thumb. After all, it’s not like he can report her - everyone knows that his boss Detective Garstin Blake and Tara have a history....

When another body is found, it becomes clear that there’s a killer on the loose. Could the murders be linked to the secrets that Tara has been keeping from her team...and can she solve the case before another innocent dies?

An unputdownable pause-resister that will keep you hooked until the very last word!

©2018 Clare Chase (P)2018 Bookouture

What listeners say about Death on the River

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another cracker from Clare Chase!

This is the second book in the Tara Thorpe series and I hope that audible will have the next one soon! I really enjoyed ‘murder on the marshes’ but this one was even better! The setting of the fens makes a brilliant background to a compelling story and the way it is written and subsequently recorded makes it compelling listening. The ongoing relationships of the characters also really adds to the whole scenario and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tara Thorpe's back for another murder mystery.

I do enjoy a gripping murder mystery. This had me binge listening till the end. Some parts were a little predictable although this did not detract from my enjoyment of the book. A lovely descriptive story makes me want to visit places. A mini gripe though is that the reader did make Tara and several of the other women sound more like they belong in a sleazy '50 shades' type book..

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

a but too clunky for me,

I've tried 2 books from this author, finished this one, underwhelmed, attracted by the location , but disappointed by writing style and thin content.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon S. Dorondo
  • Sharon S. Dorondo
  • 21-04-20

I enjoyed this book, because of the pleasant narrator.

The author painted vibrant characters in my mind, brought to life for me by the narrator. The plot was interesting with lots of surprises. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 09-01-19

3

Average book. The mystery has interesting points but the whole excercise falls flat as the book slogs along. It is British, it is set in modern days, it does dither about.

1 person found this helpful