Regular price: £18.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Meet Melissa: cat lover, caring mother… daring detective?

Melissa Craig is absolutely delighted with her new life in an old crumbling cottage, spending her days pruning the primroses and getting to know Binkie, the ginger cat next door. She only wishes she had made the move to the countryside sooner.

But when a knock at the door brings news of a shocking discovery, she suddenly finds herself thrown in to the middle of a baffling mystery: the bones of a young woman have been found in the woods just behind her new home.

Perhaps the little village of Upper Bembury is not as idyllic as it first seemed?

Strange phone calls in the night convince Melissa that the police are barking up completely the wrong tree, so she can’t resist doing a little digging of her own. From the bingo hall to the beauty salon and beyond, her search ruffles a few feathers and uncovers many of the village’s most scandalous secrets, but gets her no closer to finding the culprit.

The discovery of a tatty old photograph in a drawer is the final piece of the puzzle she needs, but as a newcomer in this close-knit community, does Melissa have what it takes to get to the bottom of this extraordinary murder mystery alone?

A joy to read! An absolutely unpausable whodunnit for fans of Agatha Christie, P.D. James and Faith Martin.

This book was previously published as A Little Gentle Sleuthing.

©2018 Betty Rowlands (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mr
  • 22-09-18

A great story

Hi great story line. a star writer
you feel you could be there in the story
on to next book

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another place to be.

I’ve enjoyed this beautifully narrated and highly descriptive story thoroughly both, whilst washing the car and in the gym. The time just flew by with a well paced and beautifully written, twisting tale that took me to another place.
Murder in the morning next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • John
  • 09-09-18

Without A Doubt,.. The Strangest Narration I Have EVER Heard

Yikes,..!!.. A book can be absolutely stellar... but if you choose the wrong narrator,.. and give her free reign to muddle the accents of everyone in the entire book..(except the heroine) you are sure to have a recipe for disaster.
A quirky , regional inflection, not unlike a peculiar aunt is FINE for one character,.. but she did it for men, women,young,old, good ,bad .. impossible not to be peevish by the time it was blessedly over...

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kozz
  • 15-09-18

Top-notch

Thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. Audible really brings a book to life. On to Betty's next cozy mystery!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Frieda
  • 20-09-18

splendid!!

This is going to be a very interesting series. Don't miss it!! I liked narrator.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeannette T
  • 02-10-18

Everything’s good about this book.

I had a hard time putting this down. A lot of personal details and mystery/crime clues made this one full of suspense and anticipation. I’m looking forward to her next book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful