Listen free for 30 days

Murder in the Dining Room: An absolutely gripping British cozy mystery

A Melissa Craig Mystery, Book 11
Narrated by: Joan Walker
Series: A Melissa Craig Mystery, Book 11
Length: 8 hrs
4.5 out of 5 stars (66 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A grand old house soaks up the golden summer sun...but inside the dining room something dreadful has happened.

Melissa couldn’t be happier that summer has arrived. She’s delighted to have her mother back by her side, and she is extending her beloved Hawthorn Cottage so her new family can live together.

Meanwhile, Melissa’s mother, Sylvia, is back in good health and enjoying a brief stay at a stately retirement home. She loves getting to know the residents, until first a dog and then his owner are both found dead in the dining room. Like mother, like daughter, Sylvia decides to do a little investigating of her own.

Convinced that the deaths are suspicious, Sylvia starts probing her fellow residents, trying to find out who might have wanted the dog and its owner dead. Could it be the once-married couple, or the glamorous actors, or the harassed manager of the home?

When one of Sylvia’s friends falls ill in suspicious circumstances, Melissa realizes her mother has rattled someone, but who? And what happens if the killer realizes they’ve been rumbled? Will Sylvia find herself meeting a villain in the dining room? And can Melissa find the culprit before another life is taken?

An absolutely gripping mystery for fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin, and Joy Ellis!

This book was previously published as No Laughing Matter.

What reviewers are saying about Betty Rowlands:

"An absolutely addictive, wonderful story. Loved it from start to finish. Great pace and a delightful setting, colourful characters and thrilling mystery. This was a brilliant story and I cannot wait for more!" (Renita D’Silva, author of The Forgotten Daughter, 5 stars)

"Once I started reading I couldn't put it down as it was entertaining and enthralling… The mystery was interesting and it kept me guessing till the end... Highly recommended!" (Scrapping and Playing, 5 stars)

"The quintessential cozy mystery...the storyline is fast-paced and engaging...builds to an adrenaline fuelled ending, full of action and powerful imagery. An enjoyable, escapist read that I suspect may become my secret addiction." (Jane Hunt’s Blog, 5 stars)

©2003, 2019 Betty Rowlands (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Murder in the Dining Room: An absolutely gripping British cozy mystery

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 25-03-19

Ageism

The only thing I would like to complain about is that she portrays people my age 63 as old. I'm not old and more relate to Mel Craig's age .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mother and daughter together

This book has you guessing right from the beginning to end I never thought the murderer was who it was brilliant

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 30-04-19

5

The series is a 5. Each book in it is interesting. The characters are fun though the core people
are, of course, the best. Now that this series is over. it has been a good run. Leave 'em laughing, quit while you're ahead,
give up mystery writing before you are left alone in the cemetary.
Thanks to the author and happy trails and to the excellent narrator- hope to see your name on v some good detective books in the future.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert
  • Robert
  • 12-07-20

Avoid

I have tried 3 times to get into this book. I have been listening to it for over and hour now and all there is is repetitive descriptions of characters. There was nothing ‘gripping about it at all’ very poor purchase

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrea
  • Andrea
  • 17-02-20

what a great who done it!

The story had me guessing, right to the end. Like mother like daughter. This story made me glad I bought the series. I like the details the story teller tellers. She gives a great vivid picture that I can picture in my head.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jennifer
  • jennifer
  • 07-01-20

fun

it was a really good read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I need more books

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cathy E. Alston
  • Cathy E. Alston
  • 14-09-19

A Real Sleeper

Struggled to finish it. Pace was slow, dialogue was rambling. Characters were poorly developed, boring.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JeanT
  • JeanT
  • 18-04-19

Very good. I never suspected the culprit!

Everything good about this one. At first I thought Sylvia was too annoying and childish. However, she seemed to grow up and started acting more mature.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beatrice
  • Beatrice
  • 14-04-19

5 stars

This is is another entertaining book in the Melissa Craig mystery series. I enjoyed this book and look forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LuvBks
  • LuvBks
  • 11-04-19

More?

Sincerely there will be more Betty Rowland’s books available
It’s a great read good mystery and wonderful characters