Listen free for 30 days

Murder in the Orchard

A Melissa Craig Mystery, Book 6
Narrated by: Joan Walker
Series: A Melissa Craig Mystery, Book 6
Length: 5 hrs and 3 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (79 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A beautiful house nestles in an orchard, where a blackbird sings at dawn each morning from a branch laden with rosy fruit.... But underneath the trees a body lies too still to be asleep.

Melissa Craig is struggling with her new novel, so when the invitation arrives to visit a nearby country house for some writing time, she decides a bit of peace and quiet is just what she needs. The house is everything she could have hoped for, even if the staff do seem rather unsettled....

She has barely unpacked when the owner of the house persuades Melissa to investigate some threatening notes he has received. But before she can do any digging, he is found murdered in his own orchard.

As she starts to probe further, Melissa realizes that the dead man was universally disliked. Controlling, tight with money, and nasty, he certainly made some enemies. But who could have hated him enough to resort to murder - his seemingly timid wife, the secretary with whom he previously had an affair, or perhaps the gardener with an old secret? 

With the police looking for an outsider, Melissa is sure the murderer is close at hand. But can she prove it? And can she unmask the killer before they strike again?

A completely unputdownable mystery for fans of Faith Martin, Joy Ellis, and P.D. James, which will have you totally hooked. 

This book was previously published as Malice Poetic.

©2019 Betty Rowlands (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very disappointed

Kept thinking it would get better , but I was wrong, the most boring story ever

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy reading/listening - irritating narration

I do mainly like these relaxing books. However, I’m inclined to listen/read a series one after the other and this emphasises any writing/narration habits.

The narration is not exactly bad, but there are very often strange emphasises on words (by raising the pitch) which has begun to drive me so mad, that it will be some time before I listen to another.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed this book

As ususal Melissa Craig mystery did not disappoint. Well done Betty Rowlands and thank you for an excellent storyline, well drawn characters and first class performance by Joan Walker. A crime novel to snuggle up with in front of the fire.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JeanT
  • JeanT
  • 12-03-19

Another awesome mystery!

This one surprised me again. It was almost the end before the murderer was revealed and why.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beatrice
  • Beatrice
  • 20-01-19

Delightful cozy mystery

This is another entertaining Melissa Craig novel. As always, she manages to solve the mystery in the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 04-11-19

Patty

This is another fantastic book by Betty Rowlands, it's fresh and unpredictable. Beautifully narrated. I loved it.