Lancashire Detective Series

4 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 23 ratings

Striking Murder Summary

1893. Wigan is in the grip of a harsh winter and a devastating national miners' strike. Arthur Morris, a wealthy colliery owner whose determination to cut the miners' pay is one of the main causes of the strike, is found brutally murdered in an alleyway.

A sinister letter prompted the victim to leave his dinner guests and hurry out into the freezing night to Scholes, a rough working-class district where he is universally hated. Detective Sergeant Brennan is tasked with finding the murderer and when a mysterious stranger is found bludgeoned to death, Brennan starts to unravel a twisted thread of interwoven clues.

©2016 Alan Wright (P)2017 Soundings
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.