A. J. Wright

A. J. Wright

A. J. Wright was born in Wigan in 1951. A graduate of Leeds University [1972], he taught in two high schools for a total of 36 years, also working as an O Level and GCSE English Literature examiner for over 20 years. In 2010, he won the prestigious Dundee International Fiction Prize, with his Victorian murder mystery novel, 'Act of Murder', a whodunit set in Wigan. In 2016 his Victorian murder mystery 'Striking Murder' [Lancashire Detective series] – again set in Wigan against the background of the 1893 miners’ strike - was shortlisted for the 2016 Crime Writers’ Association Historical Crime Novel of the Year. His next novel 'Elementary Murder', the next in the Lancashire Detective series featuring Detective Sergeant Michael Brennan of the Wigan Borough Police, was published in January 2017 and came out in paperback in July. His short story, 'Exposure', was published in the celebrated American mystery magazine Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine Jan/Feb 2017 edition, and his latest short story 'Grace' will feature in a later edition of the magazine. His latest novel, 'Sitting Murder', [the Lancashire Detective series] was published in November. Alan is a member of the Crime Writers’ Association.
Read more Read less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.