Listen free for 30 days

The Mother-in-Law

Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik
Length: 9 hrs and 12 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (105 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From the best-selling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic listen about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong

She has never approved of you. But it's when her body is found the secrets really start to come out....

From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite and perfectly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. Even so, Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. 

That was five years ago.

Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.

But the autopsy finds no cancer.

The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation. 

Someone wanted Diana dead. And everyone in the family is hiding something.

With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.

©2018 Sally Hepworth (P)2018 Macmillan Audio

Critic reviews

"Fiction at its finest." (Liane Moriarty, number one best-selling author)

"Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." (Library Journal)

What listeners say about The Mother-in-Law

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

highly recommended. well read. interesting characters. well written. psychology of family plus crime story. great

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great read

Well written book Loads of twists and turns Totally got immersed straight away Really enjoyed it Narrator was excellent

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Have never read Sally’s books before but was pleasantly suprised ! An unexpected twist and really well written very gripping . Worth a read