Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From the best-selling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic listen about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong

She has never approved of you. But it's when her body is found the secrets really start to come out....

From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite and perfectly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. Even so, Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. 

That was five years ago.

Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.

But the autopsy finds no cancer.

The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation. 

Someone wanted Diana dead. And everyone in the family is hiding something.

With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.

©2018 Sally Hepworth (P)2018 Macmillan Audio

Critic reviews

"Fiction at its finest." (Liane Moriarty, number one best-selling author)

"Perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." (Library Journal)

What listeners say about The Mother-in-Law

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    29
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

highly recommended. well read. interesting characters. well written. psychology of family plus crime story. great

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Great read

Well written book Loads of twists and turns Totally got immersed straight away Really enjoyed it Narrator was excellent

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Have never read Sally’s books before but was pleasantly suprised ! An unexpected twist and really well written very gripping . Worth a read

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So enjoyable

Another great book from Sally Hepworth, beautifully read by the narrator. This is my 3rd book of hers and each one has been a very different and the stories just as good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another good listen by Sally Hepworth

This is the second book I have listened to by this author, the first being the Family Next Door and I have liked them both. The narrator got it just right too. I listened to this whenever I could until it was finished and thoroughly enjoyed it. The relationship between Lucy and her Mother In Law from each persons perspective was interesting, thought provoking and not the Mother in law bashing I thought it might have been. Lots of twists and turns to keep to keep the listener engaged, the mix of an alleged crime and family relationships give the book a nice pace. I am now going to listen to The Good Sister and Sally Hepworth will be added to my favourites and I will look forward to more of her books.