Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Girl at My Door cover art

The Girl at My Door

By: Rebecca Griffiths
Narrated by: Daphne Kouma, Jonathan Keeble
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Hidden Child cover art
Murder in Adland cover art
Detective Sebastian Clifford, Books 1-3 cover art
Dead Wrong cover art
Dead on Demand cover art
Broadland cover art
She Came to Stay cover art
The Bedroom Window cover art
The Infirmary: A DCI Ryan Mystery (Multicast Drama) cover art
The Disciple cover art
The Baby Shower cover art
A Tapping at My Door cover art
My Perfect Daughter cover art
A Litter of Bones: A Scottish Crime Thriller cover art
The New Mother cover art
The Picture House Girls cover art

Summary

The young friends were unaware of the man who had followed them through the park. With his trilby pulled down, he moved stealthily through the trees. He was careful and kept to the shadows. He worried it might not have been his wisest move to join the girl on the bench but hadn’t been able to resist seeing her sitting alone like that: She was his absolute ideal. 

London, 1949: Queenie Osbourne and her best friend Joy are walking through the bustling city streets looking forward to a bright future. The two friends have a striking beauty which draws everyone to them. Queenie dreams of making her fortune as a singer in America and Joy is engaged to wealthy bachelor Charles Gilchrist.   

As they prepare for the wedding, it becomes clear that there is a spark between Queenie and Charles and soon they commit the ultimate betrayal. But Queenie’s dream is shattered in an instant when she discovers she is pregnant.   

With nowhere else to turn, Queenie is told about a man named John Reginald Christie. He helps women like her and will keep her secret. But as she stands on the steps outside 10 Rillington Place, she feels instantly threatened.   

On the other side of the door, Reg Christie is waiting. Queenie doesn’t know that he has been watching her for a long time. To Reg, she is perfect in every way. Now, all she has to do is knock....   

Inspired by the true crime story of the Rillington Place killer John Reginald Christie, this is a chilling mystery based on a fictional cast of characters. Fans of Gregg Olsen, Louise Douglas, and Jess Lourey will be hooked. 

This novel was previously published as The Rope Chair. 

©2021 Rebecca Griffiths (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic reviews

"OMG what a reading this was, right from the very start it give me everything that I love in a historical thriller, dark, creepy and will make you stay in your seat just to read. I do have to say that this is my first time reading anything by this author and if this one is anything to go by, I'll be checking her other ones out when I can." (Spooky's Maze of Books)

What listeners say about The Girl at My Door

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and male narrator.

I really enjoyed this story. It was well written and kept me gripped as I loved that there were familiar elements. Jonathan Keeble was brilliant as always. Daphne Kouma was great when playing the French character but generally awful as a narrator and reading most of the other characters. She over emotes everything. It was cringeworthy. I almost gave in because it became like nails on a blackboard after a while. She also emphasised the oddest words in sentences. It was almost as if she was focussing on and acting out each individual word (often inappropriately) rather than following the sense of each sentence. It was a shame because there were moments when she was quite good. Just not enough of them to make it a comfortable listen. The strong story and Jonathan Keeble made it worth while. Is definitely recommend giving it a listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Really enjoyed this book, all the more as its based on a true criminal

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good book, appalling female narrator

This would have been a brilliant listen if it weren't for the dire narration by Daphne Kouma, who somehow manages to place emphasis on the wrong word in every single sentence! Her inflections are totally misplaced and she doesn't seem to have a clue about the content which she is narrating, for example she'll deliver a tragic or distressing fact in a cheery, upbeat tone of voice and never fails to stress the wrong word which makes everything she reads lose its intended meaning. The effect is that your brain has to work twice as hard to try and interpret what the author has intended to impart, whilst at the same time following the narrative. Jonathan Keeble is excellent as always as the male narrator, and the story was engaging, fiction intertwined with truth. It was just a shame that the overall enjoyment was spoiled by the inept female narrator who early on almost made me stop listening when she pronounced 'timbre' as 'timber'...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Nothing to dislike narrators both good,story line excellent,couldn’t put audio down ,had day of doing any housework worth it to listen to such a great story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A MUST READ

It's a long time since I have been so gripped by a book. I listened to the audio tape and read the book at every opportunity. The author brought her characters to life and narrators did a fabulous job of interpreting them.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding!

Yet another fabulous read from the author. Great performances by the narrators too.
The Girl At My Door will keep you gripped!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don't bother

Long winded..repetitive Christie story witnessed characters and story line that doesn't work. .What a waste of my time...kept hoping would get better but it got worse....

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!