Listen free for 30 days

Redemption

Ryan Drake, Book 1
Narrated by: Sam Devereaux
Series: Ryan Drake, Book 1, Ryan Drake, Book 1
Length: 14 hrs and 15 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A major new thriller series featuring Ryan Drake - a British CIA agent on his most dangerous mission yet - for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Vince Flynn.  

Ryan Drake is a man who finds people who don't want to be found. Once a British soldier, he now works for the CIA, leading an elite investigation team that tracks down missing agents. But his latest mission - to free a prisoner, code-named Maras, and bring her back onto US soil within 48 hours - is more dangerous than anything his team has attempted before. 

Despite the risks, the team successfully completes their mission, but for Drake the real danger has only just begun. Faced with a terrible threat, he is forced to go on the run with Maras. Hunted by his former comrades, Drake is left with no choice but to trust a dangerous woman he barely knows.

©2012 Will Jordan (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

“A tense heart-pounder with plenty of detail and pace...this book’s a winner." (Jon Wise, Weekend Sport)

What listeners say about Redemption

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Modern Good Old-fashioned Adventure!

This is story telling like the good old days all wrapped up with modern-day twists! You know, like in the old days when men were men and all that, well actually also it seems when women were real women because the dominance here isn't male oriented at all!

Ryan Drake, a unique operative as a Brit in the CIA with a chequered past is given a seemingly impossible mission to rescue a mysterious woman from deepest darkest Russia where she was being held in a top security prison. Jordan is happy to switch POVs between the characters but most of the book focuses on Drake himself and the enigmatic 'Maras'. There is lots of juicy back story to get your teeth into as both of them have lived fairly tortured existences in their own way. Both become larger than life and there are bundles of suspicions, betrayals, loyalties and of course violence of pretty much every sort.

It's written very much like an action picture and if you can get into it it's a really entertaining ride that leads up to an extended and action-packed conclusion with everything from knife fights to drone strikes thrown in for good measure. And you know I liked these characters, Jordan isn't scared to give them frailties as well as super operator skills. Maybe he plays a bit fast and loose with them at times and the dialogue does creak on occasion but it's none the wore for it.

One thing I have to mention is Sam Deveraux's performance. It's something else, he's got a voice that's generally easy to listen to but also quite a range of character voices and some of them are seriously big voices and I suspect his vocal chords have some kind of artificial enhancement, either that or he spent two weeks without speaking to recover from producing the book! For sure some who require good accuracy in their accents may have a thing or two against it but for a book like this I think he was ideal.

So, it is in many way a good old-fashioned kind of adventure story, with big and special characters and lots of action and intrigue. The plot is clever enough to carry it all and it's well set as the start to what could be a real fun series.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

cliché aplenty

Here we go again, ex British soldier who is a functioning alcoholic, female spy who longs to be a mother, wise Arab elder, there is even a 'I'm too old for this.'
It's also clear that the author has zero experience of what he is writing about, just eye rolling cliché nonsense. The narrator does what he can, but why does the German sound like Arnie?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Read

First time I have looked at this author and wow! was i impressed. A fantastic read. well written and presented. The characters felt real and storey was very easy to get into. Had to go buy the next two in the series immediately

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for grael23
  • grael23
  • 17-07-20

Great female protagonist

I discovered Redemption through Will Jordan's YouTube channel, The Critical Drinker. I enjoyed his narrative character's openly hostile amusing and articulate narration towards things that are executed poorly... His wrath especially focused on terrible female and "diversity casting" characters. Then I realized he was an author and I decided to see if he could put his money where his mouth was. He can tear female characters down well enough. But can he write a good one of his own? He can. In fact, the book's great female co-protagonist and dark cynicism/realism really set it apart. And I've read a lot of spy thrillers. While on the surface his main female character seems a Mary Sue, she is also deeply flawed, and those traits rear themselves up over and over again. As her backstory is unveiled, she has greater and greater depth. Her relationship with the male protagonist is also enjoyable in how it oscillates both dramatically and believably. She's definitely the draw and the focus of the book. Supporting characters are fantastic, fleshed out and developed wonderfully. It's actually Drake himself who has the least agency and is the least interesting in the mosaic of incredibly fascinating supporting characters and relationships. The narrator does an excellent job on Ryan's voice and the narration, but his versions of everyone else range from fine to good enough. I ended up speeding him up 10% just to match the pace of the plot. If you love spy thrillers, get this book. If you love great female action characters, get this book. If you love great structure and foreshadowing, get this book. Highly enjoyable.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for snozek
  • snozek
  • 03-06-20

fast paced and multifaceted character development

fast paced and multifaceted character development is Absolutely what is found in this book.

The story never went slow, it never got stale. The action and plot continued to move forward and the characters all were dynamic, changing, real people.

With the exception of a few information qualms, The book was very entertaining and praught you in to really care about the characters.

It may have been a minor mistake, but Marines do not come from West Point.

Aside from that tiny bit of factual issue, the rest of the story was extremely good.

Whereas some stories keep 2 dimensional cutouts as their characters, never achieving development with even the main character, this book achieves significant character development with almost all of the significant characters. This is quite a rare achievement!

Read this book! It'll be fine! The drinker recommends!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Henri
  • Henri
  • 19-02-20

An attempt was made

Took quite a while to get me to care and the first time I did it was for an A-hole, take from that what you will

Also when the end comes and all is revealef this insane convoluted plot doesn't quite add up

It's not bad but I don't know who I would recommend this book to or why

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacob C
  • Jacob C
  • 23-06-20

WOW

This book was absolutely fantastic. If you like action and a glimpse into the life of a CIA operatives this is for you. Stop reading this review and listen to this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.Brock
  • J.Brock
  • 11-03-20

Couldn’t finish

I hate leaving reviews like this, but this book is painful. Nothing about the story is followable. From the start, it’s awful. Unfortunately, there isn’t anything else to say. I tried to stay with it, but only lasted 4 hours. Maybe someone else will have better luck.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SeppukuOH
  • SeppukuOH
  • 13-09-20

New favorite series!

Great story! Can not wait to get the rest of these adventures! Well written stories.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Corey Jones
  • Corey Jones
  • 12-09-20

Excellent storytelling

This is what I would call a good old fashioned action thriller. It never goes off the rails or attempts to subvert expectations in unwanted ways. What makes it a great story are deep, complex characters written with skillful words. I enjoyed the narrator's style, too. He has a good voice and uses his inflection to give each character their own voice. I highly recommend it and plan to get more from Will Jordan.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kurtis
  • kurtis
  • 28-08-20

inconsistently predictable

Characters always had the same two reactions to everything either shocking amazement or outrage, dull.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mangawut?
  • Mangawut?
  • 26-08-20

Awesome

Neat characters that are powerful, flawed and three dimensional with well rounded personalities. A solid story that doesn't leave a bunch of plot threads flapping in the wind.

Thats all I've got for today. Go away now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-08-20

Marvelous story, no drinking required.

Came across this series by Will Jordan's YouTube channel Critical Drinker. I will know go to Critical Drinkers patreon and subscribe to support a real author and offer a prayer that this wonderful series gets the same if not better treatment than Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan series.