Listen free for 30 days

Out with the Ex, in with the New

Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 10 hrs and 47 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Gemma didn’t expect her life to look like this. She’s still living with her mother, who steals her leggings and tells her off for leaving crumbs in the butter. After 20 failed interviews she thought she’d got her dream job as a journalist - except it turns out to be writing articles about cats that look like George Clooney. Luckily she has her wonderful boyfriend, Jack, to help her forget just how awful things are.

Then Jack dumps her out of the blue. With nothing but her childhood teddy bear, Stanley, and a whole heap of heartbreak, Gemma resolves to turn things around. She throws herself into her new job, and soon she’s hanging out with cheeky, golden-haired hunk Charlie, eating in swanky restaurants and sipping trendy cocktails - and her old life seems like a distant memory.

But it’s not long until her shiny new world starts to lose its sparkle - and Gemma misses the days of wearing battered pink converse and eating peanut butter on toast in bed. Then Jack turns up, backpack in tow, and things start to go wrong with Charlie. "Out with the old, in with the new", the saying goes. But what happens if neither one is quite right?

This laugh-out-loud romantic comedy is for anyone who’s ever cried their eyes out to love songs after a breakup or accidentally drunk-texted their ex. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk will love this unmissable listen, which is all about falling in love with the most important person: yourself!

This book was previously published as The Truth About Gemma Grey.

©2017, 2019 Sophie Ranald (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listening chick lit

The entire premise of the book is very believable, set in the relatively vapid world of the British vlogging scene, and Gemma seems like a nice girl who just fell into it all. The book does try and handle a couple of more gritty topics but doesn’t really give them enough time or coverage to really make an impact on the listener.

Although it wasn’t amazing or especially deep I enjoyed this book enough to want to publish the other one by this author that Audible has for sale, and I can’t really give it any higher praise than that.