Try an audiobook on us

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing

Length: 6 hrs and 5 mins
5 out of 5 stars (89 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing - inspired by the hit BBC series.

'If only all audiobooks were this funny.’

Join these two comedy greats and lifelong friends on their journey from recuperation to riverbank in this hilarious and heart-warming audiobook that gives you a front-row seat at an exclusive Bob and Paul production. 

Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse have been friends for 30 years, but when life intervened, what was once a joyous and spontaneous friendship dwindled to the odd phone call or occasional catch up. Then, Glory Be! They were both diagnosed with heart disease and realised that time is short. They'd better spend it fishing....

So they dusted off their kits, chucked on their waders and ventured into the achingly beautiful British countryside to fish, rediscover the joys of their friendship and ruminate on some of life's most profound questions, such as: How did we get so old? Where are all the fish? What are your favourite pocket meats? What should we do if we find a corpse? 

Following the success of the BBC's Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing series, this wonderful audiobook by two lifelong friends is a love letter to the joys of angling, the thrill of the catch and the virtue of having a right daft laff with your mates. On the fish, the equipment, the food, and the locations, Gone Fishing is the perfect audiobook for fans of Bob Mortimer, Paul Whitehouse and for anyone who wants to listen to a brilliantly written and endlessly funny joint memoir on life, friendship and joys of fishing. 

Audio edition includes an exclusive fishing trip with Bob and Paul.

©2019 Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • H
  • 03-06-19

Gorgeous

Witty, charming and very funny.
As good as the television programme. Delighted it’ll be back

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book about friendship amazing!!!

I am not a fan of fishing or football but this book had my full attention from the first few words. It is amazing to witness a true friendship and joint love of mutual hobbies.
Thank you bob and paul.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great this !

Honest , funny , poignant , and it’s two blokes having a laugh and going fishing . And if you’re fans of these two, you’ll love it and don’t have to love fishing to even appreciate it . Am glad I got the audiobook version, with an extra trip out !! I really love it so thank you

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

life affirming

just two good friends reminiscing on there recent fishing trips and what made them fall in love with the activity mixed in with some helpful advice and damn funny humour two british comedy legends smash it out the park again

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great

Loved the TV series and the audiobook is just as fun. Worth listening to over again

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Effortlessly funny

Two brilliantly funny people being even more brilliant doing what they love. fishing is brilliant!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

like listening in on 2 old mates having a chat. smiled the whole way through.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brillant and light hearted

Really enjoyed listening to this. money well spent. not just fishing but about how this brings like minded people together.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Touching and Funny

A fantastic companion to the TV Series.Audio trump's the written word in this case and really makes the case for fishing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 11-06-19

truly excellent

having watched the TV series this was an obvious choice.
great to hear 2 old and dear friends chatting away not just about fishing but being mates
definitely recommended it to anyone