Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing cover art

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing

By: Bob Mortimer, Paul Whitehouse
Narrated by: Bob Mortimer, Paul Whitehouse
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

And Away... cover art
How We Fish cover art
The Satsuma Complex cover art
Me cover art
The Sound of Laughter cover art
Rambling Man cover art
Mack the Life cover art
Windswept & Interesting cover art
Alan Partridge: Big Beacon cover art
James Acaster's Classic Scrapes cover art
The Secret Carp cover art
Diddly Squat cover art
From the Oasthouse: The Alan Partridge Podcast (Series 1) cover art
Oh Miriam! cover art
The Old Man and the Sand Eel cover art
The Compleat Angler cover art

Summary

Join these two comedy greats and lifelong friends on their journey from recuperation to riverbank in this hilarious and heart-warming audiobook that gives you a front-row seat at an exclusive Bob and Paul production.

Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse have been friends for 30 years, but when life intervened, what was once a joyous and spontaneous friendship dwindled to the odd phone call or occasional catch up. Then, Glory Be! They were both diagnosed with heart disease and realised that time is short. They'd better spend it fishing....

So they dusted off their kits, chucked on their waders and ventured into the achingly beautiful British countryside to fish, rediscover the joys of their friendship and ruminate on some of life's most profound questions, such as: How did we get so old? Where are all the fish? What are your favourite pocket meats? What should we do if we find a corpse?

Following the success of the BBC's Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing series, this wonderful audiobook by two lifelong friends is a love letter to the joys of angling, the thrill of the catch and the virtue of having a right daft laff with your mates. On the fish, the equipment, the food, and the locations, Gone Fishing is the perfect audiobook for fans of Bob Mortimer, Paul Whitehouse and for anyone who wants to listen to a brilliantly written and endlessly funny joint memoir on life, friendship and joys of fishing.

Audio edition includes an exclusive fishing trip with Bob and Paul.

©2019 Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse (P)2019 Bonnier Books UK

Critic reviews

"One of the best audiobooks of 2019." (The Guardian)

"Mortimer and Whitehouse natter away in the most enjoyable, natural way, with plenty of off-page asides and affectionate nitpicking." (Sian Cain, The Guardian)

Audible Sessions with Paul Whitehouse and Bob Mortimer

0:00

What listeners say about Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,192
  • 4 Stars
    530
  • 3 Stars
    107
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3,161
  • 4 Stars
    220
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,634
  • 4 Stars
    544
  • 3 Stars
    192
  • 2 Stars
    34
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book about friendship amazing!!!

I am not a fan of fishing or football but this book had my full attention from the first few words. It is amazing to witness a true friendship and joint love of mutual hobbies.
Thank you bob and paul.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

SMASHIN MATE!

Format - Audiobook.
I loved this so much I have finished and gone straight back to the start , I am a fisherman along the lines of Paul with a lifelong childhood memory of fishing with dad , Its 5 stars all round.

The seriousness of near death experiences of Bob and Paul was a learning curve which has opend my eyes and mind to appreciate life more . A sincere funny honest look at life and fishing . Looking forward the the 2nd TV series.

Paul Hutch

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quality

Love these two , honest and funny and love a bit of fishing . Great audio book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What's not to like

The best audio book I've listened to. No pretence just, two mates talking about life and fishing. Genuinely worth a listen 👍

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just great

I bought this book ages ago and only because “Gone Fishing” was what we put on my late dad’s order of service, so I felt I had to have this book. Honestly I don’t much care about fishing but my dad loved it. I just love the way Bob and Paul talk about themselves, each other and their friendship. You can hear the passion for fishing in their voices. Somehow it made me feel closer to my dad and gave me an understanding of something that he really enjoyed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • PH
  • 17-08-19

Brilliant fun

Just pure and simple brilliance, some of the actual fishing fact chapters were a slog, but I could listed to Bob and Paul talk daftnes about anything and enjoy it. Don't be put off if you've watched the shows, this is so much more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

This audiobook provides the perfect opportunity to drop out of the daily chaos of our busy lives and listen to some old friends being gently funny and talking fishing.

It’s reawakened my love of fishing and I intend to take my children fishing in Loch Ree, Ireland where I spent a lot of my childhood whiling away the summer holidays spinning for pike.

Lovely.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it!

Many strange looks while laughing out loud walking to work. But mixed with some very heat felt sections. Brilliant!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining!

Having watched the TV programme (several times) because I love Bob Mortimer I decided to try the audio book. It didn't fail to please. Funny, serious, thought provoking. I'm not at all into fishing but watching and listening helped me relax just as I imagine sitting on the bank would do. Love Bob's enthusiasm and Paul's patience with him. Hope there will be a sequel for both.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gentle and touching story about male friendship!

I'm not into fishing, but the story behind this book is great. Funny, gentle and brilliant talk between two old friends.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!