Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

When Gabriel Wolfe, a government assassin afflicted by PTSD, travels to Africa to recover the body of a former SAS comrade, he has the backing of the British prime minister. But every favor comes at a price, and now Gabriel has to complete another hit before he can continue his search for salvation.

What he discovers next shakes his faith in everything he trusts. He has marched headlong into the heart of a corrupt web of land deals, blood diamonds, and the global arms trade. At the center of the web sits someone Gabriel can hardly believe is guilty. Someone he’ll need every ounce of his skills and resolve to defeat.

Standing between him and the truth are tooled-up mercenaries, a local warlord, his machete-wielding Rock and Roll Boys, and a mysterious assassin who anticipates his every move.

This complex and breathtaking action thriller is the fourth novel in Andy Maslen’s Gabriel Wolfe series. First Casualty begins in the middle of a firefight in Africa, where Gabriel and his partner, Britta Falskog, are facing a crew of bloodthirsty militia fighters commanded by the terrifying Mama Chissano.

The action moves between London, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, and Hong Kong and never lets up. As he begins to uncover the truth, Gabriel sees that his adversaries have spun a web of betrayal that stretches right back to his last, fateful mission in the SAS.

Fans of Andy McNab, Chris Ryan, Lee Child, and Daniel Silva are saluting Maslen as an author to watch. If you like your heroes flawed as well as resourceful, you’ll love Gabriel Wolfe. He’s been called "deadlier than Bond" and "more human than Reacher."

©2016 Andy Maslen (P)2018 Andy Maslen

What listeners say about First Casualty

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best wolfe book so far

the narrator really gotca hold of this one. The previous book was hard going initially due to the change of narrator and his slight speech impediment. hes a completely different narrator in this story. The story is the best in the Gabriel Wolfe series so far. I didn't want it to end.

I know they revert back to the original narrator from the 1st two books but I've taken to listening to this chap and wish he was actually continuing.

Still, I'm looking forward to the next

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very good listen, will listen to the others.

Very good, read the books before this one and wasn't disappointed in the story line, will listen to the rest of his books for sure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good story spoiled by poor audio quality

this had a great story line but the varying audio quality really spoiled my enjoyment of it

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-02-20

Good story; poor knowledge of military equipment.

As a U.S. veteran, I have to wonder if the author's knowledge of British military hardware is as bad as his knowledge of U.S. hardware. For example he writes about hearing the five round bursts of M-16/A-4 rifles (the all M-16s begining with the A2 variant have a 3 round bursts). Near the end of the novel writes of two characters being passengers on an Apache helicopter; the Apache only has two seats, one for the pilot and one for the weapons systems officer.

If one can overlook the technical errors, these are good thrillers.