Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Navy SEALs trained him.

A secret unit of the NCIS recruited him.

Enemies fear him.

For elite undercover operative Jack Widow, the news that someone shot his mother, a small-town sheriff, will unleash him in number one best-selling author Scott Blade's explosive series starter.

Pulled off an undercover assignment, Widow returns home to a small town in Mississippi - a place he tried to forget.

Taken to be a worthless drifter by the locals, Widow uses his skills to uncover the truth about his mother's last investigation. What was she looking for?

What he discovers is an unsolved mystery of missing girls and townspeople harboring a deadly secret - a secret they'll die to protect.

Good thing that Jack Widow will kill to find out what.

Fans of Lee Child's Jack Reacher, Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan, Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp, and Mark Greaney's The Gray Man series will love the Jack Widow action-thriller-mystery series.

If gripping thrillers loaded with mystery, suspense, action, twists, and turns is your thing, then Jack Widow is for you!

Listen to international best seller Scott Blade's first explosive book in the Jack Widow series today.

©2016 Scott Blade (P)2018 Scott Blade

What listeners say about Gone Forever

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I Truly Don’t Understand The Hype!

I’m afraid that I’m not a fan.
Reacher - I Love! This character is nothing like Reacher. He appears to have gone at least a week without a toothbrush, or to feel the need for one! Ditto a change of clothes. There seems to be an emphasis on the fact that he (Jack Widow) is very tall, very intimidating and (quite possibly), ugly!! (Don’t quote me), with ‘beautiful’ blue eyes!

Did you read all of the above? Did it seem as if I went on and on without actually Saying anything? Or, did it seem as if I’d missed a pertinent point? Yes? Well, brace yourself, there is A LOT of that in this book! Plus, the characters are all from The Deep South - so they speak slowly - I had to adjust the narration speed to 1.2 for it to seem normal for me!

I’m at chapter 26. There’s no real story. 3 dead bodies, 1 severely wounded Deputy, a dozen missing girls and a completely racist, misogynistic, bigoted small town, with a blinkered Sheriff!

And yet, with all of that going on, I’m bored! There is no story. I wish that I’d just stuck with the Kindle Unlimited version of this title, because using a credit for it, is such a total waste for me.

He’s not Mitch Rapp
Nor Spider Sheherd
Or John Pullen
Or Amos Decker

If you love those characters, you won’t find them reflected in Jack Widow. I’m giving up now. If the story develops beyond chapter 26 and becomes absorbing, then I’ve missed out. But I have a feeling that I won’t have…

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Inane

Perhaps the most tedious book I’ve ever waded through. Actual plot probably alright but could have been effectively told in 2 hours. The remaining 7 were padding as boring as describing how the seat belt came undone - in the middle of a car chase - or how he had heard you could put a wet phone in rice! Seriously dull!!!
The author has tried to emulate Lee Child’s style of explanation but got it awfully wrong.
The author is intimating that this is Reacher’s son. I hope he asked fist!
The narrator had such a boring voice that I frequently (& annoyingly) had to back up as I realised I had daydreamed through large sections.
This has been an Amazon recommendation.
Very disappointing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Jack Reacher he is not

Greet story great performance but I kept thinking this was a rejected Lee Childs novel too many similarities to Reacher no stand out moment it was a slog to get through but will read second novel to give him the benefit of the doubt.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller

First off I have to say Alan Phillip Ormond voice is perfect for this brilliant thriller. Very smooth and easy to listen to .


This is the first book in this great series. Jack Widow , is an NCIS agent , who has ben under cover many times. He has to go home , as his mother, who is a sheriff and has now been shoot. Reaching her in time to say goodbye and make peace .

But now wanting to know who shot his mother, who was looking into missing girls...

This book is set at a lovely pace, with characters who you enjoy and feel as if you know.

Does he get his man...... with his training , I think you know the answer. You will enjoy the ride.

Loved this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book Great narration and story line

much in the Reacher tradition- listen for the early hint! I am already looking forward to the next one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob
  • Bob
  • 15-08-21

Too much!

many story inconsistencies. Characters too predictable and unbelievable. Worn out storyline with a main character too full of himself.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for T Heskett
  • T Heskett
  • 22-12-20

Think I'm Gonna Love This Series

This was a great start to this series. Action, intrigue, family, and a dash of romantic interaction. I can't wait to get to the next book. Glad to know this series has been out for a while so the books are there for the reading and listening. Great narrator! I hope he continues with this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sara W.
  • Sara W.
  • 13-12-20

Who knew?!

I stumbled upon this author and this book by pure accident. To my total surprise and joy, I found Jack Reachers son! It never comes right out and says so, but as Reachers biggest fan...I know! I am so excited to have discovered Scott Blade and the outstanding character; Jack Widow! I’ve already purchased book two in this series! If you are a Reacher fan...you will love Widow!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Doug
  • Doug
  • 08-12-20

Promising but needs some fine-tuning

A decent book, but the story and character need some fine-tuning. Overall this book was enjoyable. It just took too long for the action to get started. We didn’t get any action until about four hours into this book. The main character is such a ladies man that women just seem to drop at his feet, it’s a little much. Other than that The story was pretty good. Also, the author is implying without saying that the main character is the illegitimate son of Jack reacher. Other than that, the action was pretty good and the overall story was as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 18-01-22

Review Gone Forever

I enjoyed this story but he sounds a lot like Jack Reacher . Have only listened to this first story. I will try another one.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Phillips
  • Paul Phillips
  • 10-01-22

A sillier version of Jack Reacher.

A cliche riddled, cheap likeness of Lee Child"s Jack Reacher with so many holes of logic it is laughable!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Luis Mesteth
  • Luis Mesteth
  • 05-01-22

Meh it was okay

It was okay, a little slow in the middle. But it was a good read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-12-21

Great story

The narrator made the book even more interesting and believable. I’m looking forward to Mr. Blade 2nd book with the same character and narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Farmer Brad
  • Farmer Brad
  • 16-12-21

widow is not reacher

This hero? is not very bright. Leaves his only good weapon on the ground to move the corpse of the person that betrayed him. Many other painfully incompetent actions throughout the story. I'm not coming back.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karl Jensen
  • Karl Jensen
  • 19-11-21

Good story but I did see some things coming

Narrator did an excellent job.
A bit too much monologue about unimportant things. Tends to loose momentum because of it.
At one point he says never surrender your weapon because your both dead and later he does exactly that. But not bad book if you are having Reacher withdrawals. The writer is learning.