Cycle of Fire

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 136 ratings

Stormwarden Summary

For the first time in audio, the Cycle of Fire Trilogy, a stout and epic tale mixing sci-fi and fantasy by acclaimed author Janny Wurts. This classic fantasy trilogy follows three young people struggling to free the Stormwarden, the last of the elemental power-wielding Vaere sorcerers, so that he can battle the humanity-threatening demonkind.

Far in the future, a human-crewed starship crashes on a distant planet, carrying alien POWs taken to help discover the secrets of a deadly foe, the group mind known as the Gierj. In time, the humans revert to a feudal society, the aliens are seen as "demons", and the starship's computer survives as a "magical" entity known as the Vaere.

In Book 1, Stormwarden, Auskiere, wizard of wind and water, binds the Mharg-demons with the aid of Ivan, master of fire and earth. But at the moment of his greatest peril, Ivan is betrayed and he swears a terrible oath against his betrayer - an oath so powerful that it begins a relentless "cycle of fire".

Janny Wurts is the author of several fantasy series, including the internationally best-selling Empire trilogy, written in collaboration with Raymond E. Feist. She paints all her own covers, depicting her vision of characters and setting. She is also an expert horsewoman, sailor, musician, and archer.

From the author: "Narrator David Thorpe's outstanding characterization enlivens the thrill of adventure, as three flawed young protagonists shoulder the challenge to thwart an ancient threat to humanity. As an author and a seasoned offshore sailor, my delight with Audible's meticulous production has exceeded all expectation."

©1984 Janny Wurts (P)2010 Audible Ltd
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    • Book 1 of the Cycle of Fire
    • By: Janny Wurts
    • Narrated by: David Thorpe
    • Length: 15 hrs and 14 mins
    • Release date: 21-09-10
    • Language: English
    • 4 out of 5 stars 63 ratings

    Regular price: £17.99

  • Book 2

    Regular price: £17.99

  • Book 3

    • Book 3 of the Cycle of Fire
    • By: Janny Wurts
    • Narrated by: David Thorpe
    • Length: 12 hrs and 48 mins
    • Release date: 26-10-10
    • Language: English
    • 4 out of 5 stars 34 ratings

    Regular price: £17.99