Listen free for 30 days

Ranger's Oath

Fall of Radiance, Book 1
Series: Fall of Radiance, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (27 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The barrier between worlds is broken. Only he knows the truth...

Magic has protected Tarsynium for a thousand years, shielding its people from a world ravaged by bloodthirsty demons. When a young ranger's apprentice named Owyn Lund discovers that the Arc of Radiance has been breached, he tries to warn anybody who will listen. But legends aren't supposed to be real.

When a village is mysteriously destroyed, rangers, mages, and rebels all point the finger, blaming each other for the demons' brutality. However, Zara Dennel, a mage's ward, has heard Owyn's tale - and she's inclined to believe him.

Together, they must prove that friendship is greater than intolerance, unity is more important than division, and that even the most powerful magic can sometimes not be enough. 

Failure means the end of all things...a second - and lasting - Doom. 

Experience the beginning of a thrilling epic fantasy series suitable for all ages. It's perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas, and Brandon Sanderson.

©2018 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Ranger's Oath

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Kramer & Reading shocked!!!

That you would put your names to this terrible tragedy of a book. It’s like it was written by a child, I finished it to be 100% but it was a battle to keep listening Fans of Robert Jordan and Sanderson avoid this terrible offering at all costs

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

There are Still Things Worth Fighting For

Two apprentices from different worlds thrown together to fight the demons no-one wants to believe are real. This is a good start to a series which promises much. The two protagonists are Owyn Lund, Ranger and Zara Dennel, Mage. I have to admit preferring the Owyn chapters to that of Zara. However, I very much look forward to Book 2.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable story and wonder narration!

I was very pleasantly surprised by this book, it follows a ranger and a mage who are both in training and details a conflict in which they are both heavily involved. There were some typical fantasy tropes here and there but overall I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The narration of Michael Kramer and Kate Reading was absolutely fantastic too which helped bring the story to life. I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of fantasy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You'll like this

Sword and Sorcery - right up my street with good guys, bad guys, good guys who you think are bad guys and bad guys who end up being good guys. The story is sufficiently original to maintain interest and I found that I worked my way through it quite quickly compared to some other books of comparable length. The magic isn't overdone; nor is the blood and gore, and I enjoyed the dual-narrator format as each spoke in first-person perspective of the character they portrayed. The ending is tidy too; you're not left hanging for what's going to come in Book 2. I thought this was a great read; you will too.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

Wasn't sure this was for me at first, but in quite a short space of time I got hooked into the story. Looking forward to the next installment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another little hidden gem

I really enjoyed this book the story was interesting and it has definitely made me want to read the next book the only issue I had was the 2 different narrators

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

rangers oath

thoroughly enjoyed this book would heartily recommend to fans of the genre cant wait for the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

highly recommend

all the makings of a classic from start to finish the story just pulled you in leaving you wanting more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen

This is an intriguing story that keeps you listening to the end, and really benefits from having two voice actors.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Solid and enjoyable

I recieved a review copy of this book. It is well written, the plot is interesting and the narration excellent. The story is written from two perspectives and this works well with the two narrators. I'm looking forward to seeing where the next book takes the story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brett Bishop
  • Brett Bishop
  • 11-03-20

Outstanding Fantasy

Ranger's Oath was a great first book in what I am certain will be a truly epic adventure. The world Blake has created is both magical and realistic. This is not another MCs are overpowered and can just fix everything in the first book but are just too dumb to do so. You get to see realistic growth in both Owyn and Zara as they deal with the real world for the first time.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Byron
  • Byron
  • 08-03-20

great voice talent

if you're looking for Brandon Sanderson, this isn't it. but the voice talent is here. I'll be honest and say that I was looking for a book on par with Sanderson. the title of the book reminds me of oathbringer. I'll also say that this book was still well written. I predicted some plot points along the way but the characters were really great. even though I was expecting something different with this book, I was still impressed with the potential of the rest of the story. I feel like if I had started this book with less expectations, I may would have liked it more. but I'll still be continuing with this series. I love the cover art and again the voice talent is everything you have come to expect from these two.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chris Young
  • Chris Young
  • 03-03-20

Great story, fun characters

This is a great fantasy story. It’s easy to get into and the characters are relatable. Owyn and Zara are both likable and have good chemistry. As always, Michael Kramer and Kate Reading nailed their performance.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 02-03-20

Amazing!

I think we can all say we’ve been waiting for Kramer/Reading’s next amazing thing after Wheel of Time. I believe this is it. Owyn and Zara just become some of my favorite characters of all time!!!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carl Haynes
  • Carl Haynes
  • 07-03-20

Love this new story

Michael Kramer and Kate reading deliver their typical amazing performance. Their narration Leeds the book to feel like other great work they have narrated eg storm light archive by Brandon Sanderson. That said Blake has done something slightly different with his view point characters often being in the same scene and the viewpoints switch seamlessly between them for the best understanding of the reader. Where other authors will use different viewpoints mainly to cover different scenes and will not switch between them mid scene. Blake pulses this of masterfully. Highly recommended I will be getting the next one

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for james
  • james
  • 05-03-20

Very good start to a new fantasy series

I really enjoyed this book. An interesting world to explore with very good and likeable characters. A little intrigue and action.The story kept me interested from beginning to end. it was not a dark story, which for me made it even more enjoyable. I can not wait for book two. The narration is awesome. I love the use of a male and female narrator working together. These two are a great team.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TRH
  • TRH
  • 05-03-20

An interesting new world told by great voices

Ranger's Oath was a good introduction to Blake Peel's fantasy world. Tarsynium's conflicts are very intriguing and well layered. I found the mix of epic fantasy, demons, and a YA twist very interesting. There was enough familiarity with the typical fantasy troupes but then there was a decent amount of uniqueness. The story is told from alternating perspectives that were well balanced and suited the scenes in a way that both the character and the reader were experiencing something new together. As usual, Michael and Kate's narration was well done. Both of them brought the story to life for me. This book will be a good fit for both newcomers to the genre and seasoned veterans.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for archaron
  • archaron
  • 14-03-20

An exciting adventure

The story and narration are top notch. Don’t hesitate to check this one out. Perfect for Robert Jordan fans.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 12-03-20

A fun book to listen to.

A good story with perfect narrators. Fantasy at its best. I received this audio book free and voluntarily reviewed.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anthony Protzman
  • Anthony Protzman
  • 12-03-20

Great Listen!!!!!

I really enjoyed this book. strong story line and kept my attention throughout. Can't wait for the next book.

3 people found this helpful