Listen free for 30 days

The Snow Killer

The DI Barton Series, Book 1
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (86 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

‘Fear the north wind. Because no one will hear you scream....’

A family is gunned down in the snow, but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge, and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing - no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold.

50 years later, has the urge to kill been reawakened? As murder follows murder, the detective team tasked with solving the crimes struggle with the lack of leads. It’s a race against time and the weather - each time it snows, another person dies. 

As an exhausted and grizzled DI Barton and his team scrabble to put the pieces of the puzzle together, the killer is hiding in plain sight. Meanwhile, the murders continue....

The first in a new series, Ross Greenwood has written a cracking, crackling crime story with a twist in its tale which will surprise even the most hardened thriller listeners. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

©2019 Ross Greenwood (P)2019 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist." (Richard Burke, author)

"With The Snow Killer, master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending." (Caroline Vincent)

"Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle of a story with believable characters and spiced with a lot of humour." (Kath Middleton, author)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

This is a quite remarkable story, starting out in the first person with the killer narrating their story which starts in the sixties. I was transfixed from the first five minutes. Once the story switches to the present time it continues in the third person and revolves around DI Barton, his family and his team. Switching back and forth between the two povs effortlessly, I never once lost track of what was happening or when.

The story is a total cracker, David Thorpe outdoes himself with his narration on this one, I loved every minute of this fascinating and bloodthirsty, tale of revenge.

The finale was a total triumph. True, it was a little sad too but overwhelmingly satisfying nonetheless.

I recommend this book 100 %.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

chilling fun!

loved this story. midsummer in the middle of winter I would highly recommend this book

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Iris
  • Wales, UK
  • 31-12-19

A Very good listen

I enjoyed listening for an odd half hour at first but soon became hooked. The plot was unravelling and I thought I knew who The Snow Killer was. How wrong can you be? With a surprise twist that made me catch my breath. Brilliantly narrated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The snow killer

Not a bad book it kept me listening. Narration was good not bad at all.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Now that was a twist!

Took me a while to get into it, but once I did I listened at every chance. What a twist! Narration was really interesting with varied accents.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Rubbish

Silly story found it very boring gave up in the end sorry
David done his best

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wisconsinclark
  • wisconsinclark
  • 18-01-20

Refreshingly different, well done

Looking forward to the next book in this series. This is a well crafted story. Knowing from the beginning who the murderer is, I wondered if I would like it, but the journey to discovery by DI Barton makes for a very interesting mystery. The entire cast of characters were well fleshed out, this is not Mr. Rogers neighborhood, but still a book that can be heard in polite company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 26-11-19

4

Fascinating story and a really fine
narrator are a perfect listen on this windy cold day. Plots and subplots, surprises wirh a wild wrap up at the end. I hope Audible keeps this author's books coming in! Refreshingly different.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful