Listen free for 30 days

The Snow Killer

The DI Barton Series, Book 1
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Series: The DI Barton Series, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
4.2 out of 5 stars (305 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

‘Fear the north wind. Because no one will hear you scream....’

A family is gunned down in the snow, but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge, and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing - no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold.

50 years later, has the urge to kill been reawakened? As murder follows murder, the detective team tasked with solving the crimes struggle with the lack of leads. It’s a race against time and the weather - each time it snows, another person dies. 

As an exhausted and grizzled DI Barton and his team scrabble to put the pieces of the puzzle together, the killer is hiding in plain sight. Meanwhile, the murders continue....

The first in a new series, Ross Greenwood has written a cracking, crackling crime story with a twist in its tale which will surprise even the most hardened thriller listeners. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

©2019 Ross Greenwood (P)2019 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist." (Richard Burke, author)

"With The Snow Killer, master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending." (Caroline Vincent)

"Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle of a story with believable characters and spiced with a lot of humour." (Kath Middleton, author)

What listeners say about The Snow Killer

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    163
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    14
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    155
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    143
  • 4 Stars
    74
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

This is a quite remarkable story, starting out in the first person with the killer narrating their story which starts in the sixties. I was transfixed from the first five minutes. Once the story switches to the present time it continues in the third person and revolves around DI Barton, his family and his team. Switching back and forth between the two povs effortlessly, I never once lost track of what was happening or when. The story is a total cracker, David Thorpe outdoes himself with his narration on this one, I loved every minute of this fascinating and bloodthirsty, tale of revenge. The finale was a total triumph. True, it was a little sad too but overwhelmingly satisfying nonetheless. I recommend this book 100 %.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

chilling fun!

loved this story. midsummer in the middle of winter I would highly recommend this book

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

A Very good listen

I enjoyed listening for an odd half hour at first but soon became hooked. The plot was unravelling and I thought I knew who The Snow Killer was. How wrong can you be? With a surprise twist that made me catch my breath. Brilliantly narrated.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The snow killer

Not a bad book it kept me listening. Narration was good not bad at all.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Snow Killer bowled me over!

What a story! Talk about revenge is a dish best served cold - this was served up in snow and ice. The surviving child in this story just broke my heart, especially the relationship with the sister, Special. It was so tender and loving, it brought a tear to my eye. Even the killing spree seems, well, reasonable. I'm not generally an advocate for vigilante justice but the way Mr Greenwood portrays it in this book, I would have sharpened the knives to help! Moving on to DI Barton; I thought the glimpses into his family life were gorgeous. No tired old cliches here folks. Mr Greenwood presents us with a husband and wife who love and support each other, and who's children are acting appropriately for their age. Hurrah! DI Barton leads his team with compassion and consideration. He sets an example of how to behave towards colleagues and that is what is so excellent here. When you have nasty or crooked police officers, the crimes they investigate don't stand out so much. The juxtaposition of the evil of killing against the innate goodness of Barton, his family and colleagues made for startling effect. Bravo Mr Greenwood. As you near the end of the book, the author creeps up behind you, saws the top of your head off and messes with your brain - don't say I didn't warn you! David Thorpe narrates the whole book with precision and panache. All in all a captivating and compelling listen that I'm awarding a fulsome 5 stars. Don't miss out on The Snow Killer

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!

Absolutely gripped by this original take of a serial killer. Looking forward to the next one!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A wonderful twist ending.

A good read with a most surprising ending. 'Didn't see that coming!' Will be looking for more from this author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Now that was a twist!

Took me a while to get into it, but once I did I listened at every chance. What a twist! Narration was really interesting with varied accents.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

From start to finish.

Enjoyed this from start to finish. The story had a twist, and kept me listening. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The narrator fitted the story. looking forward to reading next in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect mystery.

You will never guess the end or the twists and turns. Never read this author before but will be looking out for other books he has written. I highly recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 26-11-19

4

Fascinating story and a really fine narrator are a perfect listen on this windy cold day. Plots and subplots, surprises wirh a wild wrap up at the end. I hope Audible keeps this author's books coming in! Refreshingly different.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wisconsinclark
  • wisconsinclark
  • 18-01-20

Refreshingly different, well done

Looking forward to the next book in this series. This is a well crafted story. Knowing from the beginning who the murderer is, I wondered if I would like it, but the journey to discovery by DI Barton makes for a very interesting mystery. The entire cast of characters were well fleshed out, this is not Mr. Rogers neighborhood, but still a book that can be heard in polite company.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-07-20

Fluffin fantastic

Another new author for me and now a favourite. Good story and the twist , WOW ! The narrator did a fantastic job and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeff
  • Jeff
  • 29-05-20

Will leave you shivering!

Expect the unexpected! Strong narration. The story really makes you question the boundaries of good and evil.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bibi
  • Bibi
  • 07-05-20

Waste of time and money

Terrible storyline, terrible narrator, I couldn't finish it I Will return this and book 2