Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Repent in this life, rejoice in the next....

A murder made to look like suicide. Another that appears an accident. DI Barton investigates the tragedies that have shattered a family’s lives, but without obvious leads, the case goes nowhere. Then, when the remains of a body are found, everything points to one suspect. 

Barton and his team move quickly, and once the killer is behind bars, they can all breathe a sigh of relief. But death still lurks in the shadows, and no one's soul is safe. Not even those of the Detectives....

How do you stop a killer that believes life is a rehearsal for eternity and their future is worth more than your own?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

©2020 Ross Greenwood (P)2020 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton...." (Author Richard Burke)

What listeners say about The Soul Killer

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

The Soul Killer is the second book in the DI Barton series after reading and loving The Snow Killer I couldn’t wait to see what the author had in store for us. And boy are you guys in for a treat. I didn’t think Ross could get any better but how wrong was I. He has totally nailed it. I cannot begin to tell you how much I love this book. I actually listened to this on audio David Thorpe has done a brilliant job of narrating this. The story is told in alternate chapters from the POV of the killer…..(a killer we have no idea who it is) and DI Barton and his team. David as done a brilliant job of bringing the characters to life. This is a truly addictive gripping audio that I couldn’t stop listening to. It is full of twists and turns with plenty of OMG moments. Ross Greenwood just got darker. Towards the end I found myself laughing. I have to admit that I loved the dry humour. It’s all part of the plot……You need to read it for yourself to see what I mean. This book certainly ticked all the boxes for me and I feel that the author has definitely found his writing style. DI Barton is a brilliant character I cannot wait to see what happens in the next book. I cannot recommend this book enough it is flipping brilliant.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

1 of my must reads

Brilliant story. lots of surprises. twists n red herrings. the end is shockingly great unexpected. Patricia Welsh

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Totally unbelievable

I enjoyed the first book in this series and the author has used a similar format which is that we follow the killer’s journey through multiple murders. What was amazing was the complete ineptitude of the police. They cannot be that clueless in reality. The only saving grace was the narrator who injected pace and excitement and encouraged me to (nearly) finish the book. It’s a pity really as the police characters are likeable (but not too clever)

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding, again !

As with 'the Snow Killer' the narrative begins in the first person with the killer narrating their story which starts when they are just a small child, once the story switches to the present time it continues in the third person and revolves around DI Barton and his team, who are attending the funeral of Ginger who was killed in the first book. It switches back and forth just as effortlessly as in 'the Snow Killer' but is important to note, as many people have preferences over the POV in which a book is presented. I love this format, it's quite invigorating and makes a pleasant change from the average third person POV in which most crime thrillers seem to be presented (excluding phychological thrillers which seem to be almost exclusively first person). The story has more twists and turns than a Welsh mountain road. I found myself rooting for the killer as they may well be a psychopath but I felt so much empathy with them that I could not fail to care about what happened to them. So this book was enjoyed but with a touch of sadness too. David Thorpe's narration was perfect again, he's the best narrator for these book without a doubt. If you liked the first book, you'll love this one, if not, then go for it anyway, I think you'll enjoy it and then go buy the other one too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

bonny b

Couldn't get past chapter nine. The narrator was terrible, the accent's were awful. Really spoilt it for me. So unable to give a review on the storyline.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing book

loved it loved it . I love these books by Ross Greenwood. The characters are brilliant .And its nice to see a detective whose a happy family man ,not one who lives in bottle The book is very well read by David Thorpe I will look forward to the next instalment

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good series

I have really enjoyed this thriller detective story and looking to download next in series. The Narrator is excellent too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another belter !!

I'm really crossing my fingers that there is another in this series..the first 2 were enthralling.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb!!!

Ross Greenwood writes an excellent twisting and turning story, brilliantly narrated, I am addicted can't wait for them to be televised.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wisbech Soul Killer

it took me a while to really get gripped by this book but after a while it made me sorry to have to stop it. My cousin lives there and the accents were particularly good.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 03-06-20

I struggled to chapter eleven but cold not

I could not get interested in this book, I struggled to chapter eleven but cold not go further, a different narrator may have helped.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wisconsinclark
  • wisconsinclark
  • 11-05-20

Wonderful, Refreshing story line, I love it!!!

When I read the Snow Killer, I was not sure how knowing the killer in advance would make for a good mystery. It was one of the best mysteries I have read in a long time. The Soul Killer, same formula is equally as good. Again, I appreciate an author who respects his/her readers and does not regurgitate the previous novels. This could easily be a stand alone, but start with the Snow Killer if you can, you will be glad you did. I am looking forward to the next in this series.

1 person found this helpful