Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Santa Killer cover art

The Santa Killer

By: Ross Greenwood
Narrated by: David Thorpe
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Death on Cromer Beach cover art
Voice of Reason cover art
Prisoner cover art
Survivor cover art
Breakneck Point cover art
Whisky from Small Glasses cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
The Murder Wall cover art
The Fallen cover art
The Body in the Marsh cover art
He Is Watching You cover art
Bliss Uncovered cover art
The Innocent and the Dead cover art
But Not Forgotten cover art
Game Players cover art
Thomas Prescott Series Premium cover art

Summary

The Santa Killer is coming to town....

One night less than two weeks before Christmas, a single mother is violently assaulted. It’s a brutal crime at the time of year when there should be goodwill to all. When DI Barton begins his investigation, he’s surprised to find the victim is a woman with nothing to hide and no reason for anyone to hurt her.

A few days later, the mother of the woman attacked rings the police station. Her granddaughter has drawn a shocking picture. It seems she was looking out of the window when her mother was attacked. And when her grandmother asks the young girl who the person with the weapon is, she whispers two words.

Bad Santa.

The rumours start spreading, and none of the city’s women feel safe—which one of them will be next?

He’s got a list. It’s quite precise. It won’t matter even if you’re nice.

Ross Greenwood is back with his bestselling series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Ian Rankin.

©2022 Ross Greenwood (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist." (Richard Burke)

"Master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending." (Caroline Vincent at Bitsaboutbooks)

"Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle with believable characters that's spiced with a lot of humour." (Kath Middleton)

What listeners say about The Santa Killer

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    512
  • 4 Stars
    127
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    532
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    457
  • 4 Stars
    120
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book

I absolutely loved this book, the plot was good and the narration great. it had likeable characters. a touch of humour and it was all nicely tied up at the end, which I enjoyed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bad Santa, Excellent Barton!

I've been waiting for this novel, having listened to the previous ones numerous times.

I love Greenwood's style of hearing the narrative from the perspective of the killer and how their mind justifies the logic of their crimes. Some of the themes (mental health, isolation) are difficult, and often handled in a patronising way, but Greenwood managed them very well. For the first time, I had already worked out who the culprits were before they were revealed, but it didn't spoil my enjoyment. In fact, the only disappointment is that this may be the final DI Barton novel?!

David Thorpe is great, as ever.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Series

have really loved this series. it's so nice the have a stable detective with a happy home life. The team relationship is what you would hope is commonplace in real life. This was a great ending for DI Barton. Narration was great

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Twists & turns as always

The only bad thing I had with this one was keeping up! Normally I can work out at least one of the perpetrators, but this time was tough (could be down to my health) but luckily the way the chapters announce which character is speaking /thinking is always a help.
I got the feeling that this was going to be the last one in the D I Barton series, if so this would be very sad. However now off to find more books with the same author and narrator David Thorpe they really do go well together.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Santa killer

Another great book hope it's not the last in this series. Narrator was excellent as always.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I do think that Covid ought to have figured more in this book and the previous one. I don’t think it did justice to the horrendous impact this disease has had. If it was going to be wrote into the storyline then it ought to have shown the true impact. That aside this was another fantastic book. I do hope it’s not the last. Excellent narration as always

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

don't put spoilers in reviews!

Good enjoyable book. personable police people. Good murderers. Good.liaten.while.preparing for Christmas festivities! ho ho ho

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A little long winded

Loved the banter, story ok, but the last half hour was seriously tedious. Still a good listen!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book

Really enjoyed this book the narration was excellent as usual the story was a good’n 👍👍 thanks Mr Greenwood I look forward to the next instalment 👍

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another brilliant chapter of the DI Barton series

Absolutely cracking listen. Intense, entertaining, funny and one that makes you want to keep listening. Really enjoyed the whole D.I Barton series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!