Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Equal Parent cover art

The Equal Parent

By: Paul Morgan-Bentley
Narrated by: Paul Morgan-Bentley
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Precious Little Sleep cover art
Confessions of the Other Mother cover art
The Montessori Toddler cover art
The Invisible Job cover art
Three Dads and a Baby cover art
How to Talk So Little Kids Will Listen cover art
7 Chapters Every First Time Dad Needs to Read cover art
The Secret of Half-Arsed Parenting cover art
The Ultimate Worry-Free Pregnancy Guide for Dads cover art
Oliver Twist cover art
Special cover art
The Making of You cover art
Don't Panic! cover art
How Eskimos Keep Their Babies Warm cover art
Why Have Kids? cover art
Breaking Mum and Dad cover art

Summary

"All parents and would-be parents should read this book. It will change their lives." (Mary Ann Sieghart, journalist and best-selling author of The Authority Gap)

A myth-busting must-listen about creating parenting equality for fans of Caitlin Moran, The Danish Way of Parenting, and The Book You Wish Your Parents Had Read.

  • Why do mothers wake first when their baby cries at night?
  • Why do fathers take so little time off work to bond with their newborn babies?
  • Why are mothers never praised for being "hands on"?
  • Is there a biological difference in mothers’ and fathers’ parenting instincts?
  • Why do nurseries and schools often call mothers first when there is a problem?
  • Why don’t we expect fathers to have a more active role in caring for their children?

As a new father and head of investigations at The Times, Paul Morgan-Bentley found himself lying awake in bed one night after settling his three-month-old back to sleep. With all these questions buzzing in his mind, he decided to go a mission to answer them.

Drawing on his own personal experience of fatherhood–from the utter joy to the sometimes overwhelming panic Paul and his husband felt caring for their newborn son, to the chemist who calls Paul "MummyDaddy" and the juggle of nursery pickups with work deadlines, Paul delves into what it really means to share the parental load.

With a range of case studies, research from around the world, and conversations with leading scientists, The Equal Parent explores the truths behind the falsehoods about parenting roles–and why challenging these myths to achieve parenting equality will benefit all of us: mothers, fathers and, most importantly, our children.

"With rigorous research and compelling personal insight, The Equal Parent is an essential interrogation of the inequities of modern parenting. This book will change the way you see your family." (Leah Hazzard, Sunday Times best-selling author of Womb)

"The Equal Parent is an important book–an antidote to the many misconceptions surrounding parenthood. Thoughtful and encouraging, it is an inspiring look at how parenting can be." (Catherine Cho, author of Inferno: A Memoir of Motherhood and Madness)

"An incredible book on parenthood." (Ziauddin Yousafzai)

"A really valuable book, written with great insight and warmth." (Brian Viner, author and critic)

©2023 Paul Morgan-Bentley (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Equal Parent

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Listener received this title free

I wish this was out when I first became a parent!

Such a great audiobook, full of personal stories, really interesting research and great interviews. I loved the part with Malala’s dad. I raced through it and learned so much. I’ve already recommended it to so many friends!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Essential reading for all new parents

An incredibly accessible, well written assessment on the state of gender relations in families in the UK. Essential reading for all parents to be and new parents. This book is helping us set up for success as we await our first baby.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • LD
  • 15-03-23

So insightful and relatable

Really well written book that i can relate to in so many ways. I think it is so important for each parent to have alone time with the children to learn about their way of doing things.

I was very lucky to take 3 months off work for each of my children and it was so invaluable. We definitely need to do more to breakdown the stereotype of “the dad’s role”. We are so different to how my parents’ generation parented in a very positive way and long may that continue!

Fantastic read!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic insight for all those supporting parents

A well written, and delivered book exploring the equalities and inequalities surrounding parenting. informative, warm and relatable. A must read for those working with/supporting/about to become parents. (social worker, previous perinatal worker, and parent)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!