Listen free for 30 days

The Campaigns of Alexander

By: Arrian
Narrated by: Andrea Giordani
Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
Categories: History, Ancient

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime


The Campaigns of Alexander, also titled The Anabasis of Alexander, is a history of Alexander the Great of Macedon, focusing on his conquest of the Persian Empire. Composed by Arrian of Nicomedia in the second century AD, the work comprises seven books providing a broadly chronological account of the reign and campaigns of Alexander with a particular focus on military matters. Book One begins with Alexander's accession to the Macedonian throne in 336 BCE, and Book Seven recounts the events of Alexander's final year and his death. The title Anabasis and the work's style and structure reflect Arrian's emulation of the Greek historian Xenophon’s Anabasis, a 370 BCE work on the campaign of Cyrus the Younger.

Public Domain (P)2018 Museum Audiobooks

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.