Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

 Winner, Earphones Award 2020  

Has the Lenchester Strangler returned?

When a murderer leaves a familiar pink scarf as his calling card, Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker is forced to dig into a cold case, not sure if she's looking for a killer or a copycat.

With a growing pile of bodies, and no clues, she turns to forensic psychologist Dr. Georgina Cavendish despite their relationship being at an all-time low.

Can they overcome the bad blood between them to solve the unsolvable?

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons, and M A Comley, Last Breath is the fifth book in the Cavendish & Walker crime fiction series.

Includes a special bonus note from the author.

©2020 Sally Rigby (P)2020 Podium Audio

Critic reviews

"Narrator Clare Corbett flawlessly creates the accents and setting of Lenchester, England, while introducing Detective Chief Inspector Whitney Walker and her polar opposite, psychologist Georgina Cavendish.... Corbett's best creation is pathologist Clare Dexter whose eccentricities add a bit of levity. The well-rendered step-by-step procedural, with its gripping conclusion, makes for an exceptional listen." (AudioFile Magazine, review of Cavendish & Walker) 

What listeners say about Last Breath

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow Great

Brilliant I listened to All 5 books on Audible so far , wonderful plots and great characters all brought to life by Clare Corbet ,Thoroughly enjoyable. Cant wait to listen to book 6.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Overall it's a good listen

This is an enjoyable listen all round but it is not, and I need to emphasise this, a great read. It's a very basic police procedural, the story starts out interesting and then fizzles out towards the end as everything comes together in far too neat a package in the last hour or so, all of this series is the same, I do keep coming back for more though so I do recommend it on that alone. My biggest gripe with this particular story is that Whitney's old boss, a retired cop, leaves a message on his answerphone announcing to the world that he's gone on holiday and will be away from date a, to date b. Nobody in their right mind would do that (announcing to all and sundry that their house was empty which is an invitation to burglars), never mind a retired cop. That annoyed me from right there, but I still enjoyed the story because it's fun, in a perverse kind of way, the interplay between George and Whitney is fun in and of itself, I imagine that many listeners come back simply for that, it's just a shame that the author does not put a little more effort into making the stories a little more involved.