Listen free for 30 days

  • Coming Home to Brightwater Bay

  • By: Holly Hepburn
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (62 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The brand new series from Holly Hepburn, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde. 

On paper, Merina Wilde has it all: a successful career writing the kind of romantic novels that make even the hardest hearts swoon, a perfect carousel of book launches and parties to keep her social life buzzing and a childhood sweetheart who thinks she’s a goddess. But Merry has a secret: the magic has stopped flowing from her fingers. Try as she might, she can’t summon up the sparkle that makes her stories shine. And as her deadline whooshes by, her personal life falls apart too. Alex tells her he wants something other than the future she’d always imagined for them, and Merry finds herself single for the first time since - well, ever.

Desperate to get her life back on track, Merry leaves London and escapes to the windswept Orkney Islands, locking herself away in a secluded clifftop cottage to try to heal her heart and rediscover her passion for writing. But can the beauty of the islands and the kindness of strangers help Merry to fool herself into believing in love again, if only long enough to finish her book? Or is it time for her to give up the career she’s always adored and find something new to set her soul alight?

©2021 Holly Hepburn (P)2021 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"Joyous - a treat of a tale that whisks your heart away to the beautiful shores of Orkney. Prepare to fall in love with this fantastic series!" (Miranda Dickinson) 

What listeners say about Coming Home to Brightwater Bay

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed this book

A really heart warming story. Loved the characters and the whole setting. You really feel you are there and are part of the story. I want to go to Orkney and experience the nature there. Didn't want to stop listening but also didn't want the story to end...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

Once again Holly Hepburn has catapulted the reader to an escape from real life.
The return of a familiar character always makes me feel like I’m welcoming an old friend!
I thoroughly enjoyed this feel-good book. There are some laugh out loud moments and finished it wanting more as always. Karen Cass is the familiar voice of Hollys books and I’m glad she was the narrator once again.
I’d definitely recommend this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great escapism book

Really enjoyed the book. Really likeable characters and wonderful insight into culture, history, landscape and nature on Orkney. Highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book all the way

Really loved every minute of this aMazing book. I did actually read some of it twice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant

Fantastic book my praise goes to the author I loved it. It has everything x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good.

Absolutely loved the setting of this story.
Very enjoyable with great characters. A gentle story told against an amazing back drop of nature.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely to immerse yourself in

A great book to take you out of yourself.

So easy to imagine the scenery and the people.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fabulous story.

A really lovely story with a perfect ending. A big fan of the reader Karen and have listened to all of Holly's books. We want more please! 5 star.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RKT
  • RKT
  • 22-03-21

Liked this book but was hoping Mary would pick the Viking not the librarian .

But I must admit I have only chosen books read by Karen Cass . She is one of the best narrators I have ever heard and to be truthful I pick my books by the narrators then before they authors.

1 person found this helpful