Listen free for 30 days

  • Coming Home to Brightwater Bay

  • By: Holly Hepburn
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (184 ratings)

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The brand new series from Holly Hepburn, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde. 

On paper, Merina Wilde has it all: a successful career writing the kind of romantic novels that make even the hardest hearts swoon, a perfect carousel of book launches and parties to keep her social life buzzing and a childhood sweetheart who thinks she’s a goddess. But Merry has a secret: the magic has stopped flowing from her fingers. Try as she might, she can’t summon up the sparkle that makes her stories shine. And as her deadline whooshes by, her personal life falls apart too. Alex tells her he wants something other than the future she’d always imagined for them, and Merry finds herself single for the first time since - well, ever.

Desperate to get her life back on track, Merry leaves London and escapes to the windswept Orkney Islands, locking herself away in a secluded clifftop cottage to try to heal her heart and rediscover her passion for writing. But can the beauty of the islands and the kindness of strangers help Merry to fool herself into believing in love again, if only long enough to finish her book? Or is it time for her to give up the career she’s always adored and find something new to set her soul alight?

©2021 Holly Hepburn (P)2021 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"Joyous - a treat of a tale that whisks your heart away to the beautiful shores of Orkney. Prepare to fall in love with this fantastic series!" (Miranda Dickinson) 

What listeners say about Coming Home to Brightwater Bay

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    158
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!

Thank you Holly, I really, really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed travelling to Orkney with you, I enjoyed meeting the folk who live there, I enjoyed the relationships between the lovely main characters and I really didn't want it to end. As always, wonderful narration by Karen Cass and excellent accents.
Such a lovely way to drift off to sleep every night and I can't wait for the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed this book

A really heart warming story. Loved the characters and the whole setting. You really feel you are there and are part of the story. I want to go to Orkney and experience the nature there. Didn't want to stop listening but also didn't want the story to end...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

stunning setting. I really felt I was there. Beautifully written and narrated. loved every character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful

Really enjoyed this story set on Orkney, the narrator did a grand job of the voices and accents. Really lovely gentle story and beautifully written.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

I couldn't stop listening! A wonderful story that made me fall in love with the characters and want to visit Orkney again. Karen Cass is my favourite narrator! And I've already purchased another book by Holly Hepburn.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Comfort Reading at its best

There's only one problem with Holly Hepburn books, they have to end! Another incredible story with loveable characters that you hate to leave, couldn't put it down!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I really enjoyed this book. I loved the characters, the way it flowed and the escapism of Orkney.

More like this please.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

Once again Holly Hepburn has catapulted the reader to an escape from real life.
The return of a familiar character always makes me feel like I’m welcoming an old friend!
I thoroughly enjoyed this feel-good book. There are some laugh out loud moments and finished it wanting more as always. Karen Cass is the familiar voice of Hollys books and I’m glad she was the narrator once again.
I’d definitely recommend this book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant

Fantastic book my praise goes to the author I loved it. It has everything x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely to immerse yourself in

A great book to take you out of yourself.

So easy to imagine the scenery and the people.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Hasbrook
  • Sarah Hasbrook
  • 13-05-21

Such a beautiful story!!

This was my firtst book by Holly Hepburn and I absolutely loved it. I found myself swept away immediately and couldn't help falling in love with the people and island. Can't wsit to read another of her books!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for FIRE
  • FIRE
  • 22-03-21

Liked this book but was hoping Mary would pick the Viking not the librarian .

But I must admit I have only chosen books read by Karen Cass . She is one of the best narrators I have ever heard and to be truthful I pick my books by the narrators then before they authors.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cleopatra
  • Cleopatra
  • 05-09-21

Super fun read

What a wonderful story. The narrators are fantastic and I will be reading more from this author .