Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The brilliant new audiobook from the best-selling author of A Year at the Star and Sixpence. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley. This audio edition is read for you by Karen Cass, reader for Jill Mansell, Carole Matthews and Maggie O'Farrell.

The picture house by the sea is the Palace at Polwhipple - a lovely art deco cinema nestled in front of azure Cornish seas. But it is long past its heyday now, and its only saving grace is Ferrelli's, the family run ice-cream concession in the foyer, which is widely known as the best ice cream for miles.

So when Ferdie, the owner of Ferelli's, breaks his leg, his granddaughter Gina drops everything to come and help out. But when she arrives she is dismayed by the state of the cinema, which she remembers fondly from summer holidays when she was little, and she is determined to give it the makeover it deserves. Along with local renovation expert Ben, she sets about reviving the Palace to its former glory.

But the cinema needs more than a lick of paint. Its very future is under threat from a developer with greed in his eyes. Can Gina save the place before it is too late?

Disclaimer: originally published in four parts as eBooks - Brief Encounter, Singing in the Rain, Dirty Dancing and Some Like it Hot.

©2017 Holly Hepburn (P)2017 Simon & Schuster Audio UK

What listeners say about The Picture House by the Sea

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It was gentle yet full of action and had me hooked from the start. The story line was not too involved and the characters came to life immediately.
The story teller kept the atmosphere alive and was not too dramatic with the different dialects used. I loved it and cannot wait for more stories from this author.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Book

Love this Author her books are light hearted with lovely story lines would definitely read

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok

Ok but a bit boring and predictable! Great performance! Just sorry not more meat to story!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love at the movies

I absolutely loved it. I wanted to scream, cry and every other emotion under the sun. it was just the perfect, feel good read.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen

A great book to dip in and out of, or to listen to in one go. Not too soppy or everyone leaping in and out of bed, just great characters, that you care about. Looking forward to the next one.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fabulous loved it

it was fabulous story from start to finish ..narrator brilliant. .will definitely listen to more of her books

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too long

This story would have been charming, enjoyable and a good night-time listen had it been half the length. Half way through it became so tedious that I skipped to the last few chapters and found I had missed very little. It was a short story that was drawn out unnecessarily and hence lost some of it's quality. As always with Karen Cass, excellent narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful

the picture house is in trouble and is fast running out of funds to stay open.
can a young woman and her childhood sweet heart save the iconic cinema?
A well written story,

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant Escapism

Thoroughly enjoyable. Predictable but great story, well read and addictive! Recommend this book. Try it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

captivating

Loved every moment. Karen Kass has a wonderful array of dialects. certainly could almodt taste the icecream.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan
  • Jan
  • 01-08-19

The Picture House by the Sea

One of the best books I have read. I always buy Milly Johnson and Jill Mansell books and this one is their style. When I saw this I took a chance and loved it. It is set in Cornwall and is written in such a way you feel part of the place. I admit I am a bit of a cover freak and the cover is very appealing and what drew me to the book. Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandy Seese
  • Sandy Seese
  • 03-12-18

Loved the storyline and the narration great read !

the narration made you feel like you were in the city. Light hearted happy read

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth
  • Beth
  • 25-02-21

Lovely story, but far too long winded.

I really enjoyed the story in general, but it really dragged in the middle. I nearly gave up. I just kept getting angry at the main character for being so wishy washy and acting like a woman incapable of being honest with herself and the people around her. The performance was perfection.