Try an audiobook on us

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Narrated by: Heather Long, Beth Eyre
Length: 9 hrs and 43 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (37 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier, a rich historical debut set among the Huguenot silk weavers of Spitalfields in the late 18th century.

When Esther Thorel, the wife of a Huguenot silk weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God's will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping madam is too good to refuse.

Inside the Thorels' tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress' blindness to the hypocrisy of her household while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause.

It is silk that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household and set the scene for a devastating day of reckoning between her and Sara.

The price of a piece of silk may prove more than either is able to pay.

©2019 Sonia Velton (P)2019 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"Sumptuous and moving." (Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

BlackBerry and Wild rose 🌹

I loved everything about this book, from the minute it began to the very last word .Superb !

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sumptuous

Blackberry and Wild Rose: Sonia Velton
The beauty of this book is in its writing: author Sonia Velton has woven a classic, no mistake.
The sheer beauty of the book’s cover is matched by the accomplished writing style.
All the research done has served as a great investment as the end product is a book of high quality that I’m sure is going to be enjoyed by very many over very many years.
Sumptuous!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

When is the next one?

Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is gripping with lots of twists and turns, a fascinating background of the eighteenth century silk industry and set at a time of very different values and prejudices to those of today. Please get writing again Sonia Velton as I want to read your next one!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining

The book reminded me of Perfume and The Girl With The Pearl Earring. I found it easy to listen to and got through it in two sittings.
Very good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Beautifully written and wonderfully read - the intricately interwoven stories of strong women, finding their way in a world where men call all the shots, was a delight I did not want to come to an end! These characters will live with me for some time to come - always the mark of a excellent book,to my mind!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

I would have listened to this book in one sitting if I could. I took this story every where I went and I listened to it while working and when I was relaxing. I usually get distracted from audio books while working but this book kept my interest all the way through. Thank you 😊