Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Wind Chime

  • Timeshift Victorian, Book 1
  • By: Alexandra Walsh
  • Narrated by: Emma Gregory
  • Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (163 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Wind Chime cover art

The Wind Chime

By: Alexandra Walsh
Narrated by: Emma Gregory
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £17.99

Buy Now for £17.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Forgotten Palace cover art
Hidden in the Mists cover art
Fifteen Postcards cover art
The Lady of the Loch cover art
Beyond the Moon cover art
The Vanished Bride of Northfield House cover art
The Witch's Tree cover art
The Manor House cover art
The Witch's Knight cover art
The Little Shop of Found Things: A Novel cover art
The Secrets of Hawthorn Place cover art
Hiding from the Light cover art
The Hideaway cover art
The Binder of Lost Stories cover art
The Girl from Summerhayes cover art
What the Wind Knows cover art

Summary

A timeshift mystery. Perfect for fans of Sarah Burton, Stacey Halls, Jessie Burton and Kate Mosse.

Every family has their secrets....

Windsor, England, 2019

Amelia Prentice is recovering from the worst two years of her life. First her daughter and then her parents have died, leaving her without any surviving relatives. As she gets ready to put the family home, a vast Victorian house in Windsor, on the market, she fulfils her mother’s last request to clear out the attic, and she discovers a strange box of Victorian photographs.

The photographs are of a large estate in Pembrokeshire called Cliffside, and they feature the Attwater family. When Amelia uncovers the diaries of Osyth Attwater, she realises the family had tragedies of their own....

Pembrokeshire, Wales, 1883

Every summer the Attwater family gather at Cliffside to tell each other stories. The youngest in the house is Osyth, a dreamer and writer who waits eagerly every year for the wind chime in the garden to signal the arrival of her relatives. But her happiness is shattered when she overhears a conversation that tears her world apart.

Raised by her grandparents, she believed her mother, Eudora, had died. But it seems that may not be the case. Desperate to find out the truth, Osyth decides to unravel her family’s secrets. But what she discovers will shock her to her core....

What did Amelia’s mother want her to find out about the Attwater family? Who is Eudora, and what really happened to her?

And how is Amelia connected to it all?

The Wind Chime is an enthralling timeshift novel set between the Victorian era and the modern day: past and present entwine to create a thrilling, pause-resisting historical mystery.

©2021 Alexandra Walsh (P)2022 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"Silver chimes and coral shells haunting past and present in this beautifully written novel containing echoes of Welsh fairy lore along with Victorian asylums, and a travelling circus. It's gripping with unforgettable characters." (Carol McGrath)

What listeners say about The Wind Chime

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

glad I found this author

she really flows from chapter to chapter

I got it for free and will happily pay for the rest

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must listen

This book is a wonderful tale full of love, family, intrigue, mental health in a time when it was cruelly dealt with, grief and most of all happiness. I loved how well past and present were portrayed and was easy to know where you were as it transports you to each time period with ease and wonder. It is a fantastic book from start to finish that I could not stop listening to.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this!!!

My first novel by Alexandra Walsh, I’m looking for another one now, I also loved the narration, probably not everyone’s cup of tea but I just found it so relaxing to listen to 😊

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another winner for me!

Really enjoyed this book and looking forward to her next one, I’m slowly working my way through all her books and enjoy each one as much as the last. I love the way I am completely enabled into the world of our heroine and feel close to the characters, (spoiler) and had to stop listening for a whole evening when our heroine was under great threat, with her friend, and found myself feeling so anxious for the pair that I had to talk myself into realising that she wouldn’t be killed off at that stage of the story! This very rarely happens to me, and when it does, I know I’m completely immersed in the story, and the characters.

I love the narrator who always manages to bring the rounded characters to life, for me. Her accents are usually spot on, and she bring the right amount of emotion to each situation.

I also enjoyed that Alexandra linked in characters and a scene from her conspiracy books from marques house, it felt like seeing old friends!! A lovely touch.

I only have two more books to read, Alex, I do hope you’re writing another.
I look forward to my next time shift with you and whichever wonderful characters you’re bringing to life.
With much respect
Donna

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a rich tapestry of stories with so many twists and turns!

this story was fabulous. So many individual stories of family members lives which in themselves were fascinating, but the author brings them together in a wonderful way. I could highly recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Wind Chime

I really enjoyed the story. So many surprises. The characters come alive and are believable. I will certainly look out for more books by this author. Thank you.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely story to get lost in

this was a great story to get lost in after a stressful day - full or mystery , folklore and a sprinking of magic - once you get the vast array of character straight in your head it sweeps you along.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating story with twists and turns.

Thank you for this beautifully written story. I love the wind chime story keeping it’s ring through out. It even gave me a feeling of belonging to the cliff house. I felt like I traveled through time and space.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very well written and read

I like all the twists and turns of the plot. You never know what is going to happen next. The book is very well-researched. The characters are well-rounded and interesting. Very well read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The lunatic ball

Enjoyed the book and a small insight about the asylums and the dreadful conditions of some of them .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!