Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
A Spoonful of Murder cover art

A Spoonful of Murder

By: J.M. Hall
Narrated by: Julie Hesmondhalgh
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Pen Dipped in Poison cover art
The Cornish Wedding Murder cover art
The Dinner Lady Detectives cover art
A Date to Die For cover art
The Charity Shop Detective Agency cover art
The Bingo Hall Detectives cover art
Braver cover art
Death at the Auction cover art
The Village Hall Vendetta cover art
Her Missing Daughter cover art
Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery cover art
Murder at the House on the Hill cover art
The Bookshop Murder cover art
A Very English Murder cover art
A Murder of Crows cover art
The Recruitment of Lucy James cover art

Summary

Introducing the three unlikeliest sleuths you'll ever meet....

Every Thursday, three retired school teachers have their ‘coffee o’clock’ sessions at the Thirsk Garden Centre café.

But one fateful week, as they are catching up with a slice of cake, they bump into their ex-colleague, Topsy.

By the next Thursday, Topsy’s dead.

The last thing Liz, Thelma and Pat imagined was that they would become involved in a murder.

But they know there’s more to Topsy’s death than meets the eye—and it’s down to them to prove it....

Sit down with a cup of tea and this perfectly witty cosy crime novel. Fans of Agatha Christie, Death in Paradise and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very start.

©2022 J.M. Hall (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Warm characters and wonderful writing.... It’s steeped in Yorkshire like a mug of hot, strong tea.... I loved it." (SJ Bennett, author of The Windsor Knot)

"An absorbing read about everyday life falling foul of murder." (Faith Martin)

What listeners say about A Spoonful of Murder

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    301
  • 4 Stars
    128
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    29
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    343
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    17
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    252
  • 4 Stars
    113
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    30

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

inaccurate performance?

I 'enjoyed' the plausibility of the tale and the portrayal of the school teachers.
I struggled with "she was stood" and "she was sat." Please write correctly. If it was for effect, it had an effect - I won't be looking for book 2.
The names Liam and Luke were switched on one occasion, which meant I had to rewind and check I'd heard correctly and not misunderstood the scene.
There was mention of the clocks going back - in March!!!! Again, I rewound to check that the storyline hadn't jumped 6 months, but nope, there were daffodils.
All in all, a shame.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Well narrated but....

Firstly I have to say the narrator was excellent and the only reason I continued to listen to the end. I enjoyed the story but feel it could have been wrapped up two hours earlier. I did not enjoy the constant ramblings of the characters and it was obvious (to me) whodunnit right from the beginning. I am glad I listened to it all but if there is a follow up I will not be buying it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Very Good Listen !

I found myself caught up with both the was it/wasn’t it Murder theme ….and the domestic lives of the women involved .
Well thought out and kept my interest to the finish . Hope there will be more to come . Enjoyed the interview at the end too .

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just my cup of tea!

A great story, perfect to listen to on a glum January day. I felt both moved and uplifted and enjoyed the murder mystery unravelling as we pottered along. Looking forward to the next book 😊

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully Great

My wife has joined a few friends in a muder mystery book club, so I bought this as I thought she might like it. Then I started listening and it is wonderful!
The story is a little slowly paced, just like a Yorkshire town should be, and the characters are excellently crafted and well described, beautifully brought to life.
The mystery expands slowly, but everything you need top solve it is out in the open, nothing is hidden, and yet, at the end, I still wasn't sure who dunnit!
The narration really had me hooked even more. Well paced, expressive and full of feeling I would double the 5 stars I'm allowed to give.
Thank you J.M. Hall and thank you Julie Hesmondhalgh, 10hrs 21 mins very well spent.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Really entertaining story. Rich warm characters and beautifully narrated. I enjoyed some laugh out loud moments, and some sad realities.
Looking forward to book 2.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved this

Well written with a wonderful vocal performance . easy to read but with a deeper more serious and shocking message. Highly recommended.
waiting for the next one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

I loved this book. Well written and fantastic narration that made me feel like I was in it with them. Can't wait to read/hear more from writer and narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable book

Twists and turns throughout. Well thought through and the narration was spot on. Can’t wait to listen to the next one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable story, but Fantastic narration

Utterly brilliant narration! Storyline very predictable though. Characters endearing at times, I could imagine this being something out of a comical tv series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!