Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in an ancient North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. 

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of blood and marrow - a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. 

Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne - because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye - and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush, ancient North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity. 

©2019 Amanda Joy (P)2019 Listening Library

Critic reviews

"A sibling rivalry like nothing you’ve ever read before. Joy weaves a dark yet delicate treatise on race, heritage, and power whilst never losing that addictive ‘just one more chapter’ allure. I devoured it in one sitting!" (Natasha Ngan, New York Times best-selling author of Girls of Paper and Fire)

“[This] engrossing, North African-inspired series opener draws effectively on real-world prejudices to inform [a] richly created universe.” (Publishers Weekly)

"A dark and bloody delight of a debut, Amanda Joy's A River of Royal Blood is a seductive tapestry of extraordinary magick delving into the terrifying lengths we will go to claim our destiny." (Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times best-selling author of The Belles)
 

More from the same

What listeners say about A River of Royal Blood

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mo
  • Mo
  • 10-04-20

Loved it!

My only drawback is the readers performance.. I expected an African accent...I was disappointed in that only. Otherwise I loved the story and reminded me of Children of Blood & Bone. The author will truly become one of my favorites! A’se

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RxLady
  • RxLady
  • 19-09-20

Whiney

I’m not sure if it’s the narrator or the writing but the main character came off sooooo insufferable and whiney that it became a task to finish the book. I mean more towards the narrator as many lines could have been delivered a whole lot better, but also can’t deny that narrators are limited by the literary works themselves

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiara
  • Tiara
  • 08-05-20

A sibling rivalry that ends in blood

I really enjoyed Soneela’s performance in this novel. She has a way of bringing characters to life that you hear too often. The novel itself was interesting and surprisingly suspenseful. I liked Amanda’s writing and i love how her characters relatable, especially Eva.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Drakeford
  • Drakeford
  • 29-04-20

Loved It

Appreciated how it centered on strong women. The magic is close to nature and enjoyed the focus on different types beauty in its characters

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shaneese H.
  • Shaneese H.
  • 31-01-20

Great story but...

The progression of the story was great until the end where everything seemed rushed and even though I am aware it is the beginning of a series the book feels incomplete... the ending was not a good stopping place with that being said I will be anxiously awaiting book 2

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KAREN GRAY
  • KAREN GRAY
  • 13-12-19

River of Royal Blood

God but not as suspenseful as I expected. Not really science fiction but a live story. Ended abruptly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N. Egbuonye
  • N. Egbuonye
  • 04-11-19

Waiting for book 2

I couldn’t stop once I started. Sooo good. Rich world building, characters you root for and love, pacing that pulls you in and forward, emotional and fierce. Very excited to read more from this author. #blackgirlmagic