Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £35.29

Buy Now for £35.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in an ancient North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. 

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of blood and marrow - a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. 

Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne - because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye - and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush, ancient North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity. 

©2019 Amanda Joy (P)2019 Listening Library

Critic reviews

"A sibling rivalry like nothing you’ve ever read before. Joy weaves a dark yet delicate treatise on race, heritage, and power whilst never losing that addictive ‘just one more chapter’ allure. I devoured it in one sitting!" (Natasha Ngan, New York Times best-selling author of Girls of Paper and Fire)

"A dark and bloody delight of a debut, Amanda Joy's A River of Royal Blood is a seductive tapestry of extraordinary magick delving into the terrifying lengths we will go to claim our destiny." (Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times best-selling author of The Belles)
 

“[This] engrossing, North African-inspired series opener draws effectively on real-world prejudices to inform [a] richly created universe.” (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about A River of Royal Blood

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So GOOD!

I couldn't describe with words how much I love this book, yes in the beginning Eva is a bit annoying but seeing it in retrospective I guess it's because she is after all still a child with lots to learn. I loved the depiction of the land, the magic, the creation stories and overall the whole fantasy world.
As I said to my friends after reading: it is a pretty balanced book, has lots of this and that with a pinch on sexual tension.
Cannot recommend enough, already waiting for book no. 2.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mo
  • Mo
  • 10-04-20

Loved it!

My only drawback is the readers performance.. I expected an African accent...I was disappointed in that only. Otherwise I loved the story and reminded me of Children of Blood & Bone. The author will truly become one of my favorites! A’se

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for RxLady
  • RxLady
  • 19-09-20

Whiney

I’m not sure if it’s the narrator or the writing but the main character came off sooooo insufferable and whiney that it became a task to finish the book. I mean more towards the narrator as many lines could have been delivered a whole lot better, but also can’t deny that narrators are limited by the literary works themselves

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiara
  • Tiara
  • 08-05-20

A sibling rivalry that ends in blood

I really enjoyed Soneela’s performance in this novel. She has a way of bringing characters to life that you hear too often.
The novel itself was interesting and surprisingly suspenseful. I liked Amanda’s writing and i love how her characters relatable, especially Eva.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MacBook Girl
  • MacBook Girl
  • 31-01-20

Great story but...

The progression of the story was great until the end where everything seemed rushed and even though I am aware it is the beginning of a series the book feels incomplete... the ending was not a good stopping place with that being said I will be anxiously awaiting book 2

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KAREN GRAY
  • KAREN GRAY
  • 13-12-19

River of Royal Blood

God but not as suspenseful as I expected. Not really science fiction but a live story. Ended abruptly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TC Academy
  • TC Academy
  • 21-11-21

Outstanding!!!!

This was an awesome book. I would never have that that her father was not human. But I understand now why her mother didn't care for her. but I am so glad she is getting to understand who she truly is. I can't wait to dive into the next part.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amanda
  • Amanda
  • 10-09-21

didn't hook me, but it's wasn't horrible

just kinda boring, very slow paced but then when action did happen it was over quickly to go back to the main character just thinking again

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lexi
  • Lexi
  • 16-07-21

Love it!

I can't wait to listen to the second book. I'm often able to predict how books would end but certain parts of this one shocked me! Love it! Great world building and storytelling. The MC was a little bratty and reckless but that's to be expected of a teenager.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ytinu
  • Ytinu
  • 03-07-21

Loved it one of the best books I have heard

Loved it one of the best books I have heard in a long time

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alexis Williams
  • Alexis Williams
  • 09-04-21

A Must Read!

I loved it! Story pacing was nice. At first I thought too slow but there is a reason for everything! I am excited to read the sequel!