Inspector Rebus (abridged)

17 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 706 ratings

Knots and Crosses Summary

This is the first Inspector Rebus novel.

"And in Edinburgh of all places. I mean, you never think of that sort of thing happening in Edinburgh, do you?"
That sort of thing is the brutal abduction and murder of two young girls. And now a third is missing, presumably gone to the same sad end. Detective Sergeant John Rebus, smoking and drinking too much, his own daughter spirited away by his estranged wife, is one of many policemen hunting the killer. Then, the messages begin: knotted string and matchstick crosses taunt Rebus with a puzzle only he can solve.

©1987 Ian Rankin (P)1999 Orion Publishing Group Ltd.
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.