Listen free for 30 days

Tribute at the Gates: An Epic Fantasy Saga

Catalyst, Book 1
Narrated by: Travis Baldree
Series: Catalyst, Book 1
Length: 12 hrs and 39 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Cursed from birth. Forced into slavery. It's time to fight back. 

The blood of the Ancients is the most coveted ingredient in all of Damaris. The fabled elixir made from it grants those who drink it life that extends far beyond natural means. 

There is no higher honor in the kingdom then being granted the privilege of bidding for it. And the people found with the cursed blood? By law, they are the rightful property of the kingdom. 

They are tributes. 

As a boy, Ryl was sold by his family when he was discovered to have the coveted blood flowing through his veins. Broken, scared, and confused, he’s confined to an area known as the Stocks until he is ready for harvesting. 

Ryl stumbles through a doomed life until the appearance of a mysterious stranger who exposes a buried version of the past that changes everything. That his blood may not be a curse, but a blessing. 

The fates of all the tributes hang in the balance. 

Experience the start of an epic fantasy series filled with unexpected heroes, dark magic, and nonstop adventure. Suitable for all ages, it's perfect for fans of D K. Holmberg, Will Wight, and K. F. Breene.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Tribute at the Gates: An Epic Fantasy Saga

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Worst pacing I've ever seen.

Worst pacing in a book that I've ever come across. It's actually mind-boggling. It's basically a 12 hour prologue. Horrendous. I was waiting for something that never came. For him to be free. A whole book waiting for something that we know is going to happen at some point but never does until literally the last chapter.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

too many things I don’t like

The plot’s not bad though not by any means original. Slaves with good blood, why is that? You’d think the rest would think of them as special but, that’s nature for you. We treat with disrespect that which we fear the most. No criticism there but, why does everyone have to ‘say’ thing while doing things such as ‘he said and proffered his heand’ or, ‘she said in a low tone’ Why not ‘she whispered’ and cut out the stupid ‘said’? Or it’ll be two people in a room with ‘he said’ or ‘she said’ between them as if we can’t follow the dialogue wiithout the prompt? Pathetic is what i call it and to make matters worse of course, the camp motehr just simply had to be drop dead beautiful and naturally a gentle princess didn’t she? Typecasting, stereytyping. Hopeless. Don’t think I’ll be reading the next in the series. The narration though is good and, as I say, the plot while not original, is acceptable, just not, in my opinion, very well executed but, I’m used to that by now.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher
  • Christopher
  • 17-07-20

Took a chance, and I’m glad I did.

I bought this audiobook based solely on the fact that Travis Baldree is the narrator. His talent is such that he can turn a mediocre print book into a really good audiobook. So I was cautiously optimistic that this would at least be listenable...

What I got was a compelling and interesting story that set the stage for what I hope will be my new favorite fantasy series. I am giving this a 5 star rating as opposed to 4 stars in part because it came out of left field, only had a few ratings, and no reviews when I decided to buy it. I will say that the story is well-crafted, the world is interesting, and the MC is someone whose development I want to follow. Whether the 5 star rating will hold up is heavily dependent upon where the author takes the series with the next book, but I am hopeful. Regardless, this audiobook is definitely worth the credit.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for grumpy old blind guy
  • grumpy old blind guy
  • 06-08-20

change peoples feelings and maybe create illusions

I prefer the magic in my fantasy to actually be magic. sadly you have to get about halfway into the book before they inform you that this lackluster week stuff is all the magic in this book. hopefully someone who prefers some bang in their fantasy won't fall for the lack of information like I did.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 19-07-20

brutal

Becarfull with this book it can get hard on the heart at the beginning.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JollyGreenGoblin
  • JollyGreenGoblin
  • 18-07-20

Promising Start

This was a promising start to a series. The premise is familiar but engaging. The characters and tribute concept were interesting enough that I’d continue listening through the series. I thought Baldtree did a great job with narration. I’d definitely listen to other works he performed.

My only gripe was the pacing. Aaron is very good at capturing all of the details in a moment, but not every moment needs every detail. I suspect that the pacing was slower in this as the origin story and initial world building. Now that all the pieces are in place I look forward to book 2.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brian W. Rossbach
  • Brian W. Rossbach
  • 18-07-20

Fun story with a solid pace throughout.

I enjoyed this book and was wanting more when it ended. I understand this is a series and am looking forward to the next book as this one definitely kept my interest throughout. The lead character is a good guy all around who's had to deal with an incredibly challenging hand that life has dealt him.

This book built a solid foundation and it will be nice to see how far the author will build upon it. Give it a listen, it's worth your time.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bridget
  • Bridget
  • 01-08-20

Buy this book

If you're here reading this comment it likely means you're interested in Fantasy novels. I'm not normally into epic fantasy, but this series has great promise. The world building is a bit slow as in many novels of this type. It has enough action to carry you through all the necessary descriptions with an obvious plotting and planning by the author to fuel many more books.

And as always, Travis Baldree is excellent in his performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacob P
  • Jacob P
  • 11-08-20

Wonderful Start to New Fantasy World

Tribute at the Gates makes for an intriguing and deep start for a new fantasy world. The premise, that those with a certain "power" in their blood, are locked up and used for the "good" of the elite is not particularly new but comes with some interesting twists. The cruelty of those placed in power over effective slaves is unfortunately believable and is thankfully balanced showing that there are those who, even in the worst of conditions, will try to help the downtrodden to what degree they are able. The implications of the magic system, once it starts being revealed, make for a promise of interesting adventures and changes to come. The author does a good job of giving a reason for the protagonist to rapidly develop his powers and control despite being young (much better than the typical "he is the chosen one so, of course, he has great power and near-perfect control) and while his magic is strong, even the way his knowledge and control is boosted leaves him with a need to really work on controlling what he has learned and large gaps in his knowledge and skills. Looking forward to seeing where this series goes and the development and return of suport characters.

Disclaimer: I was given this a free review copy audiobook and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-08-20

Reminds me of the way of kings

Its a good book, a little slow at times, but still good. I think people should try it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Snafu Family
  • Snafu Family
  • 05-08-20

Over all it’s worth the time...

I’ll start with the cover being all kind of misleading and only a little relative. You could easily skip about 2-3 hours in the middle and not miss anything but of the same type of thing happening over and over. Also like a song the book feels like it has a chorus, every time this happens the MC thinks or does the same thing. For all that it has good world building and some character development mostly in learning his abilities not maturing. It’s on the dark side showing the corrupted nature of people with power, little oversight, and hateful dispositions. Over all it’s worth the time but could’ve been something far more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Eric Grossman
  • Eric Grossman
  • 02-08-20

What a great way to start

This book got me hooked within the first few mins and I couldn't stop listening until I finished it... I can't wait to hear where Ryl goes next