Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

£0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Pilot's Girl cover art

The Pilot's Girl

By: Catherine Hokin
Narrated by: Sam Alexander, Antonia Whillans
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Commandant's Daughter cover art
The Secretary cover art
What Only We Know cover art
The Fortunate Ones cover art
The German Wife cover art
The New Reform Quartet cover art
The Lost Mother cover art
A Light in the Window cover art
The Wife Who Risked Everything cover art
All the Courage We Have Found cover art
The Secret Letter cover art
The Hidden Village cover art
The Doctor’s Daughter cover art
The White Rose Network cover art
The Resistance Girl cover art
We Fly Beneath the Stars cover art

Summary

"Smile, nod, and don’t breathe a word of what happens here. Or I’ll put you on the next train to Auschwitz myself."

Four years later. Hanni Winter shivers in her thin coat as she hurries through the empty Berlin streets to her job. Despite the freezing winter and poverty all around, her cheeks flush when she meets the man she is photographing today, charismatic Tony Miller, the American pilot risking his life to bring food and provisions to the starving people of the city. But her rush of joy turns to ash as she sees the man behind him....

It’s been years since Hanni fled her terrible past, but seeing Reiner Foss now brings back harrowing memories of the man they called "The Showman" and of the concentration camp he commanded. The last time she tried to expose him, Hanni almost died; can she dare to try again? Or should she seize the chance she sees in Tony’s sparkling eyes to leave the horrors of the war behind?

Hanni is no longer the frightened child she was when the Nazis devastated her life beyond repair. She vows to avenge every person who suffered at Reiner’s hands. But does her attraction to Tony leave her vulnerable? Can Hanni protect her loved ones from her past, or will the cost of fighting her demons ultimately prove more than she can pay?

A devastating novel about finding the strength to survive when all hope seems lost. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz grab your tissues and dive into this heartbreaking story.

©2022 Catherine Hokin (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Pilot's Girl

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good story but shocking ending

Really enjoyed this book until I got to the end, it finished so abruptly I thought there were chapters missing!
Disappointing ending

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DC
  • 01-02-23

Brilliant!

Enjoyed this book so much.
I Did not want it to end.
Narrator .. Excellent

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration better than the first in the series

Not sure I can be bothered to continue with the rest of the series. Female narrator makes the lead character a bit of a drip and I couldn't engage with her. Her narrator sounded like the narrator from the first book, but read it better. Having said that, it still had a whiny, dreary tone that I found irritating.
I disagree with the reviewer said that it was an odd ending. I think the trouble is that, once again, they start talking about another book far too quickly. Just a second or two longer would make all the difference, leaving the listener to absorb the ending and take a breath.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!