Listen free for 30 days

The Secret Letter

Narrated by: Jacqueline King
Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
4.5 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Germany, 1939. A tumbledown farmhouse, on the outskirts of a close-knit village in the heart of the rolling hills of Bavaria. A once happy family home torn apart by Nazi rule. And one young girl who refuses to give up on what she believes in.... 

London, 2018: When 94-year-old Imogen receives a letter addressed to her in neat, unfamiliar handwriting, she notices the postmark is stamped from Germany - and it sends shivers down her spine.... 

Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp – the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As the Nazi’s power takes hold, Magda realises she’s not like the other girls in her German village - she hates the fanatical new rules of the Hitler Youth. So Magda secretly joins The White Rose Movement and begins to rebel against the oppressive, frightening world around her.  

But when an English bomber pilot crashes in a field near Magda’s home she is faced with an impossible choice: to risk the safety of her family or to save a stranger and make a difference in the devastating war that has claimed the lives of so many. Little does she know, her actions will have the power to change the life of another girl, on the other side of enemy lines, forever.... 

Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching, gripping and absolutely unforgettable tale of the strength of human kindness in a time of unimaginable heartbreak. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, sweeping, World War Two novel.

©2019 Debbie Rix (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-01-20

Compelling

We often say if we were in certain situations we would do "this, that or the other." We really don't know though, do we? In the face of war, in the face of unimaginable circumstances this story takes place. We often hear so much negative about the German people during World War II, and in many cases, what we hear is warranted. However, what we don't often hear, or hear enough is the courageous stories of those Germans who risked everything to stand up against tyranny. Nor do we hear enough of the courageous women of that era, be they British, German, American or otherwise. This story ties all of that together in a compelling human drama set against the backdrop of one of this world's greatest moments of peril, tragedy, and triumph. Well worth reading!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-12-19

Complete and amazing

This was a great book revealing the courage that some exhibited under terrible hardship and risk. I found the lead characters, two strong women, inspiring and only hope that I could have demonstrated such bravery, dignity, and strength under such awful circumstances. I was so pleased to learn that this was loosely based on real events. Listen and let the story and characters envelop you.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer
  • Jennifer
  • 27-12-19

Well researched and beautifully narrates

I really enjoyed this story. It wasn’t rushed, but rather allowed to evolved throughout the entire war. So often in this genre there isn’t enough time given to telling a complete story. Loved this book. I very much enjoyed the strong female characters and that the author resisted the trend to make them bright yet frustratingly naive.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 08-01-20

All and all a pretty good story

Several times in the first couple of chapters I almost returned the audio.
I found the English girl silly and girlish and not having a clue. Just real boring the German girl the same age was so interesting and very brave and courageous. I continued because of her story I may try another book by the author

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Deborah Chavez
  • Deborah Chavez
  • 10-01-20

Incredible story based on true life events

The narrator is exceptionally talented and the author beautiful winds the lives of two young girls, one English and one German, together during WWII.

A story of bravery, compassion, love and loss. You will be touched and inspired to be more like these two strong women, who despite the nightmare their countries, families and friends were involved in, did not wallow in self pity or despair, but fought to save the lives of others regardless of the danger it put them in.

It makes one wonder at the difference in character between the youth of today and those during the great wars and leaves the reader wanting and hoping we would be able to find and act with that same strength if we are ever directly involved in a world war again.

An Inspiring and beautiful love story based on the lives of real heroes and heroines. Listening made me want to be a better, less self absorbed, less selfish, braver and more generous person.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Henwhisperer
  • Henwhisperer
  • 22-01-20

So so

Story wasn’t too bad. A little overly dramatic. Magda’s mother annoyed me with her whining and complaining. Jacqueline King did a good job with all the different accents.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Esther McCallum
  • Esther McCallum
  • 16-01-20

The Secret Letter

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting and I enjoyed how the two girls lives surprisingly intersected. Well done!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol
  • Carol
  • 07-02-20

Secret letter

A predictable ending. very good reader and over all an enjoyable book to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Creations
  • Creations
  • 05-02-20

Innocents in war

The Secret Letter immersed us in wartime lives and how families tried to survive , showing both German and British sacrifices. There are continued struggles to hang onto optimism in the presence of very real cruelty. The characters are so real and so brave. I didn't want to put down the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 31-01-20

Enjoyed it and learned a lot too

While I really enjoyed the story in the book, I also gained a much greater appreciation for what the average person was confronted with during WW ll. Especially interesting to hear it from the perspective of young people from two different countries.