Listen free for 30 days

  • The Secret Letter

  • By: Debbie Rix
  • Narrated by: Jacqueline King
  • Length: 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (166 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Secret Letter cover art

The Secret Letter

By: Debbie Rix
Narrated by: Jacqueline King
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £16.00

Buy Now for £16.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The German Wife cover art
The Italian Girls cover art
The Photograph cover art
What Only We Know cover art
The Rainbow cover art
Foxden Acres cover art
Goodnight, Vienna cover art
A Light in the Window cover art
Winter’s Daughter cover art
The Last Restaurant in Paris cover art
The Girls with No Names cover art
The Bletchley Girls cover art
The Indigo Girl cover art
The Girl They Left Behind cover art
Daughters of Cornwall cover art
The Beantown Girls cover art

Summary

Germany, 1939. A tumbledown farmhouse, on the outskirts of a close-knit village in the heart of the rolling hills of Bavaria. A once happy family home torn apart by Nazi rule. And one young girl who refuses to give up on what she believes in.... 

London, 2018: When 94-year-old Imogen receives a letter addressed to her in neat, unfamiliar handwriting, she notices the postmark is stamped from Germany - and it sends shivers down her spine.... 

Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp – the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As the Nazi’s power takes hold, Magda realises she’s not like the other girls in her German village - she hates the fanatical new rules of the Hitler Youth. So Magda secretly joins The White Rose Movement and begins to rebel against the oppressive, frightening world around her.  

But when an English bomber pilot crashes in a field near Magda’s home she is faced with an impossible choice: to risk the safety of her family or to save a stranger and make a difference in the devastating war that has claimed the lives of so many. Little does she know, her actions will have the power to change the life of another girl, on the other side of enemy lines, forever.... 

Inspired by a true story, this is a heart-wrenching, gripping and absolutely unforgettable tale of the strength of human kindness in a time of unimaginable heartbreak. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, sweeping, World War Two novel.

©2019 Debbie Rix (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Secret Letter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    120
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Very compelling listen right from the start. Having the two narratives, one German, one English was a great way of comparing the different views. Possibly a pro Hitler view point may have been more interesting and less explored view especially how they coped when the war ended. It was a very good listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

German and British saga during WW2

I do like a war book, and even more when it’s based on true story.

This is a great book with a fascinating plot, written from both the German and British sides.
I particularly like to know more from the German side as there is so much that we didn’t know about the resistance groups in Nazi Germany and what life was like for the normal German citizen during the Nazi regime.

I would also recommend People like us by Louise Fein as a great book written about WW2 from the German perspective of a young girl growing up in the 1930’s

Jacqueline King’s narration was exemplary her accents and male and female voices were extremely good. She made that link between book and film screen in my head, which is the makings of a talented narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A memorable story of living during wartime

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and found it hard to take a break from listening to it. A delightful story and I highly recommend it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

loved this book, narrating was excellent!
finished in 2 days thats good for me . Think I want to read this one too.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rollercoaster of Emotions

Not many audiobook experiences have me in actual tears but this one did in two places, quite unexpected too so sort of caught me off guard somewhat, I was grateful it was at night and I was alone not on a train or something with headphones.

Two teenage girls similar ages, one in Newcastle upon Tyne England the other on a dairy farm in rural Germany, both experiencing the war with their family, one gets evacuated and we follow her journey as she does her education elsewhere then goes on to a career in the naval intelligence unit, the other has to stay put with her family working on the farm.

Their lives are very different but intertwined in a beautiful way.

I loved how they come together towards the end of the book.

Beautiful narration throughout, the different character voices are fantastically done.

Looking forward to more from Debbie Rix.

Five stars from me.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

had enough gave up at chapter 8 marked as finished

very slow and boring gave up at chapter 8 tried to return without any sucess

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable...

I liked the way the book moved between characters. The characters weren’t stereotypical and I was thankful for that. Accents were good in general. Would recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Keep with it as the ending is rather nice

Just be patient with it should you find it slow in the middle parts of the war. You think the book will come to an end once the war has finished but it doesn't. It has a lovely few chapters after the war is over.

Great story!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Fantastic WW2 story. The narration really brought the story to life. It really makes you think there were so many wonderful heroes that somehow survived to tell their tale

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved this story

I really enjoyed this story. I escaped to a different time every time I listened to it.
I didn’t want it to end. Really interesting that the author based the characters on her father and mother’s experiences.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!