Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

"I just want to be your friend." She smiled at Lily, her dark brown eyes impossibly sincere. "And to be a mother to Emma too, of course." Her gaze flickered to Lily’s sister, but only Lily saw her expression momentarily change - from warm and loving to something else. Something Lily didn’t trust....

Lily has always had a simple dream: to be happy like her parents were. Content in their sweet suburban home, nothing in life had phased her mother and father, not even when they’d had a "surprise" second child, Emma, nearly 20 years after Lily. 

But their love story was cut tragically short when - after a devastating battle with cancer - Lily’s mother died. Lily was heartbroken, but also desperately worried about her grieving dad, not to mention five-year-old Emma. 

So, Lily is shocked and concerned when he suddenly decides to remarry, less than a year after her mother’s death. It feels far too soon, and Lily finds herself furious with him - and his new wife, Maria, who can apparently do no wrong. She seems madly in love with Lily’s dad and instantly bonds with Emma. 

It’s only Lily who can’t trust her. 

Who won’t trust her. 

And when Emma goes missing - could Lily be right? What if the greatest danger to them all is the woman now living in their family home? 

A totally gripping and unmissable psychological suspense novel about dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Claire McGowan, and Gone Girl.

©2021 Karen King (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Perfect Stepmother

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellant

Loved it,vivid pace kept me hooked until the end
Characters ers were very believable, great

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very far fetched and awful accents!

First off, (and this is not the author’s fault), the narrator doing a terrible brummy accent nearly sent me over the edge. So grating! And the crime that the main character was accused of was ridiculous. It was clearly an accident. I won’t say too much, as it may be a spoiler. All very easy to guess though. No twist or shocks.

Another thing that got me was the repeated, puke inducing, ‘I loved her as my own’. We get it! But do you have to keep saying it over and over again? All in all, a very far fetched and disappointing read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

monotonous

A dull, repetative story that could have been concentrated into one chapter! Badly written and predictable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elizabeth
  • Elizabeth
  • 31-08-21

Amazing narration and riveting story

This was my first book by Karen king and I loved it! Going to grab another and will be looking for books narrated by Susie riddell as well!