Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Ex cover art

The Ex

By: S.E. Lynes
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Women: A gripping psychological thriller cover art
The Pact cover art
The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel cover art
Her Sister's Secret cover art
The Housewarming cover art
The Baby Shower cover art
Mother cover art
Can You See Her? cover art
The Engagement cover art
Do I Really Know You? cover art
My Husband's Lover cover art
The Daughter-in-Law cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
The Millionaire's Wife cover art
Happily Married cover art
The Wife Next Door cover art

Summary

The love of your life...or a deadly mistake?

It’s hard meeting your ex after so much time apart. You remember the tears and accusations, the desperate look on his face as he punched the wall, but you try not to show it. You smile politely, even while your heart beats faster.

You watch as he looks down into the stroller, at the beautiful blond-haired, blue-eyed baby kicking his little legs in the sunshine, whose innocent smile lights up your world.

You see his face change. You know what he’s thinking.

The next day he calls. His voice is shaking. He wants the truth. Is it his child?

You hesitate, your throat dry, good and bad memories swirling in your mind. You’ve missed him so much...but can you ever trust him again?

You decide that the most important thing is doing what’s right for baby Tom. But months later, when the sirens wail in the night, you have to admit: You never thought either of you would go this far....

A brilliantly twisty psychological thriller from number one best-selling author S.E. Lynes about a relationship full of secrets and lies. Fans of Ruth Ware, Lisa Jewell, and Gillian Flynn will be gripped by The Ex.

©2022 S.E. Lynes (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Ex

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The ex

Good overall lots of twist sand turns then at .the end wham his world fall apart and everything will never be the same again

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I couldn't finish it

omg, I couldn't listen anymore. only got to chapter 4. it was making me so mad. wanted to put her in her place. ( a polite term, for well, you can imagine ).

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not the best

I didn’t really enjoy this book. Found it very slow and not really interesting until towards the end. Story a bit predictable. I turned up the speed to get through it quicker in the end

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy to read.

I enjoyed the book but found it a bit predictable. Relaxing read, story easy to follow.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant! What a great listen

A brilliant listen great work Tamsin Kennard and S.E.Lynes. What a team 👍
Great storyline just when you think it can’t get any worse … it does!
What a piece of work!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Excellent story and very well narrated by Tamsin as always. I love anything by
S E Lynes

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

returned after 1st chapter.

this was so predictable I returned it. do not like mention of pandemic at all times also. so depressing. I have almost enjoyed previous Lyness books but her writing has deteriorated. like many authors she is rushing to get books out.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!