Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Flight of the Heron

  • By: D K Broster
  • Narrated by: Peter Forbes
  • Length: 13 hrs and 3 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (33 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Flight of the Heron cover art

The Flight of the Heron

By: D K Broster
Narrated by: Peter Forbes
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £15.99

Buy Now for £15.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

A Winter Grave cover art
Uncle Bernac cover art
The Bookseller of Inverness cover art
The Murderer's Son cover art
A Long Time Dead cover art
The Spy cover art
The Brief cover art
Legacy cover art
Bellarion cover art
The Reivers cover art
Beau Geste cover art
Whisky from Small Glasses cover art
The Master of Ballantrae cover art
The Mark of Zorro cover art
The Black Madonna cover art
Rose Nicolson cover art

Summary

It is 1745, and the Jacobite rebellion is on the rise.

Ewen Cameron, a principled young Scottish Highlander, is destined and honoured to serve Bonnie Prince Charlie, the young Pretender, and to help the 'rightful King' ascend to the British throne.

Major Keith Windham is a career soldier with the English Army - seemingly the antithesis of Ewen. He is jaded, worldly and loyal to the Crown but, ultimately, an outsider.

Their fates are linked inextricably when a highland prophecy tells Ewen that the flight of a heron will predict five meetings with an Englishman who will cause him much harm but also render a great service.

Ewen is sceptical, but the prophecy proves true when he meets Englishman Keith Windham - and a gripping tale of adventure, danger and true and lasting friendship is set into motion.

Both are men who are willing to die for their honour and their beliefs. Each is on an opposing side. But who will emerge the victor?

With action, historical adventure and lyrical descriptions of the Scottish Highlands, The Flight of the Heron is sure to appeal to fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series and Peter May’s Lewis trilogy.

Public Domain (P)2021 Creative Content Ltd

Critic reviews

"An extraordinary and timeless tale, brought vividly to life by Peter Forbes's brilliant narration." (Peter May)

What listeners say about The Flight of the Heron

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Evocative and moving

I first read 'The flight of the heron' over 40 years ago, and the story gripped me then; and I have just finished listening to the audiobook, so sensitively read by Peter Forbes. The story of Ewen Cameron, the Jacobite uprising of 1745 and of his prophesied encounter with an English officer weaves fact and fiction together seamlessly, and is, in my opinion, a tour de force.

It was written in the 1920s and set then in the 18th century, so it is now itself a historical book, writing about history. Some might find the style a little dated, as a consequence, but it is admirably suited to the book and its examination of honour - a somewhat outdated notion - and what constitutes duty, and friendship, and obligation. It asks the question of how our choices are constrained by our characters - but also how our characters constrain our choices, too.

Listening to the story gives you another window on it, and gives a fresh view. Highly recommended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a joy to listen to

I became addicted to the story and listened at every opportunity. I enjoyed it so much more than I thought I would and only bought it based on previous good reviews. Not being very familiar with this period of history, Peter Forbes, (a genius narrator) brought the Jacobite story to life and one can imagine the Scottish landscape and the passionate beliefs. Having finished it today, I am buying the next in the series - The Gleam in the North straight away!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An old favourite brought to life

Having read and loved this book as a child, and watched the tv series with Ian McCulloch as Ewen, I was worried this might not live up to those memories. The male bonding might be read differently nowadays, but the characterisation, the humour and the historical background are superb, and the narrator is very good. A triumph!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wish come true!

Ever since first listening to Peter Forbes a number of years ago, I knew that if anyone were to narrate The Jacobite Trilogy - Flight of the Heron, The Gleam in the North and The Dark Mile, it had to be Peter narrating them. His narration of all of Peter May's books just confirmed this for me and it was by pure serendipity that I discovered that my wish had been made a reality when searching in my library for his narration of Ian Rankin's - The Complaints - only to find the James MacPherson edition instead. My love for the Jacobite Trilogy which I first read over 40 years ago will be now reignited by listening to Peter Forbes bringing these wonderful books to life with his brilliant narration. I've listened to very many narrators, and whilst many have been good, not one comes close to the impeccable narration of Peter Forbes - a true genius when it comes to bringing books and characters alive and remain in one's memory long, long after having listened to the books! Thank you Peter and thank you to whoever has decided to have these books made into audiobooks. I cannot recommend highly enough these audiobooks for all the above reasons! Enjoy! I will!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Atp wonderful tale linking actual events and characters with the friendship of potential enemies.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book, well read.

I read this 40 years ago and loved it., always wanted to listen to it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful.

I've been hoping for this book to be performed for years. Ewan's Cameron was I think my first ' adult ' crush and I have loved this and the following books for over 50 years. I t is beautifully and sympathetically read by Peter Forbes. A beautiful soft highland accent. Wonderful story , wonderfully read. An absolute joy. I'm only sorry that 5 stars is the most I can give it. Highly , highly recommended. And at last - after 50 years - I know how those beautiful Gaelic names and phrases should really sound. Now on to the next in the trilogy , which I've just bought.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

A sweeping historical story of friendship and heroism. It conjures up images of the Scottish Highlands and the people who lived there. Oh and not all Englishmen are enemies!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engrossing story set during the Jacobite rebellion

I chose this audible book based on other's recommendations and because it's narrated by the brilliant Peter Forbes. Not knowing what to expect, I soon became thoroughly engrossed in the story of Ewan Cameron, a proud Highlander, and Captain Wyndham of the English Red Coats. Although battles between the Scots and English are referred to, this is more of a tale of personal honour and chivalry between two men who are on opposing sides. I couldn't put it down and am looking forward to reading the second book in the trilogy.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertainment and education all in one place

I downloaded these three books purely because they were narrated by Peter Forbes who I think should be given an award because he’s absolutely fantastic. He can do various accents he can do women’s voices without shrieking he is just brilliant so I downloaded these this trilogy. I knew nothing about the Jacobites or the Highland clearances. These books written quite a while ago so it took a wee while to get used to the style of writing but once I got into the way they were written I was absolutely engrossed and mesmerised in the story of the Camerons of Ardroy. The three books are an absolute joy to listen to and even though they were written about a time in the 1740s you are still able to have empathy for the emotions that the characters displayed. I can’t praise Peter Forbes enough he has so many talents. I highly recommend this trilogy of books The Flight off the Heron, Gleam in the North and The Dark Mile You will be entertained and educated all in the journey that the author takes you and Peter Forbes sets out for you.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful