Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Bookseller of Inverness

  • By: S.G. MacLean
  • Narrated by: David Monteath
  • Length: 10 hrs and 32 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (482 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Bookseller of Inverness cover art

The Bookseller of Inverness

By: S.G. MacLean
Narrated by: David Monteath
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £17.99

Buy Now for £17.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Seeker cover art
Clanlands in New Zealand cover art
The Unquiet Bones cover art
The Ashes of London cover art
Legacy cover art
Gathering Storm cover art
State of Treason cover art
An Honourable Thief cover art
Into the Wilderness cover art
Murder on Black Swan Lane cover art
The Dead Men cover art
Marius' Mules I: The Invasion of Gaul cover art
Cathedral of Bones cover art
A Time for Swords cover art
A Free Man of Color cover art
A Proud Woman: A Tabitha & Wolf Mystery cover art

Summary

A gripping historical thriller set in Inverness in the wake of the 1746 battle of Culloden from twice CWA award-winning author S. G. MacLean. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor.

After Culloden, Iain MacGillivray was left for dead on Drumossie Moor. Wounded, his face brutally slashed, he survived only by pretending to be dead as the Redcoats patrolled the corpses of his Jacobite comrades.

Six years later, with the clan chiefs routed and the Highlands subsumed into the British state, Iain lives a quiet life, working as a bookseller in Inverness. One day, after helping several of his regular customers, he notices a stranger lurking in the upper gallery of his shop, poring over his collection. But the man refuses to say what he's searching for and only leaves when Iain closes for the night.

The next morning Iain opens up shop and finds the stranger dead, his throat cut, and the murder weapon laid out in front of him—a sword with a white cockade on its hilt, the emblem of the Jacobites. With no sign of the killer, Iain wonders whether the stranger discovered what he was looking for—and whether he paid for it with his life. He soon finds himself embroiled in a web of deceit and a series of old scores to be settled in the ashes of war.

©2022 Shona MacLean (P)2022 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about The Bookseller of Inverness

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    334
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    360
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    301
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous book, edge of the seat suspense

This is a hugely enjoyable book, historical fiction without heaving bosoms and cod historical speech.
Fabulously researched and plotted I was reminded that although I know the broad brush elements of the time, I know so little of some of the minutiae.
It’s one of those books where I start to slow down nearing the end because I didn’t want it to finish.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fascinating book

This enlightening work, albeit fiction, gives such an evocative account of the Jacobite uprisings and life in the Highlands, it is a gripping tale beautifully told.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

Just loved this book, well researched and atmospheric with brilliant narration.
Thoroughly recommend to anyone interested in the Jacobite uprisings - or even just wanting a well written, well constructed historical novel.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant storytelling.

This is an insightful story based in the aftermath of the Jacobite rebellions. As well as a broad sweep of history, it’s full of suspense and humanity. A good listen!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved it

One of the best books I’ve read (audiobooked) in years. A great mystery story set in the backdrop of the post Culloden Highlands

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

This is a thoroughly researched, beautifully written and absolutely engaging book. Not only do you understand more of the history, but you can also follow the journeys and travails across the landscape. The brutality of the time is hard to escape, but the humanity also shines through.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • F
  • 03-09-22

Highly entertaining historical novel

This novel evoked the dangerous/exciting times of the post-Culloden period with considerable historical research which was not laboured. Rather, the history of the period was worn lightly and did not detract from the story being told by the characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

Beautifully written and narrated. I love visiting Inverness and although the descriptions were of a by gone age I felt as if I was taken there. Loved it and will read again

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First class

Enjoyed this well researched book from beginning to end. Could listen to David Monteith read the telephone directory and love it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good book told well

I came across this book by accident and only started to read it because I lived in Inverness for many years and went to school there. it was a fabulous read and the narrator was a perfect fit for the story. many a good story has been ruined because of poor narration. I look forward to reading more from this Author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!