Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

William Constable Spy Thriller Series - Book 1 

London 1578 - a cauldron of conspiracy, intrigue, and torture. 

The might of Spain and the growing influence of the Catholic League in France all threaten the stability of Queen Elizabeth and her state. 

William Constable, a physician and astrologer, is summoned to the presence of the Queen’s spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham. He is charged to assist a renowned Puritan, John Foxe, in uncovering the secrets of a mysterious cabinet containing an astrological chart and coded message. Together, these claim Elizabeth has a hidden, illegitimate child (an “unknowing maid”) who will be declared to the masses and serve as the focus for an invasion. 

Constable must uncover the identity of the plotters, unaware that he is also under suspicion. 

A connection to his estranged mentor, Doctor Dee, comes under scrutiny. 

Pressured into taking up a position as a court physician, Constable becomes a reluctant spy. 

Do the stars and cipher speak true, or is there some other malign intent in the complex web of scheming? 

Constable becomes an unwitting pawn, in a complex game of thrones and power. 

State of Treason is the first in a series of Elizabethan thrillers featuring William Constable.

Recommended for fans of CJ Sansom, S J Parris and Rory Clements. 

Paul Walker is the author of the William Constable series of Elizabethan spy thrillers. He lives in London.

©2019 Paul Adrian Walker (P)2021 Paul Adrian Walker

Critic reviews

"A gripping and evocative page-turner that vibrantly brings Elizabeth's London to life." (Steven Veerapen, author of A Dangerous Trade)

What listeners say about State of Treason

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spy novel

Excellent audio book. The story moved apace and could not wait for the climax which did not disappoint. The narration was good, loved the characterisation. Totally look forward to the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A complex and intricate plot

Well written novel stitched into some real historical events, excellently researched. The characters are interesting and strong. The descriptive narrative summons up a clear picture and creates a authentic atmosphere of the times
The narration is excellent which adds even more to the sense of the times. I have read many books of this genre and I thoroughly enjoyed this one.
Cecilia

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

State of Treason

Excellent historical story. Really captured the mood of the period. Obviously well researched. The performance was in character and gave a good sense of suspense. Intriguing and thoroughly enjoyable. I look forward to the sequel. Definitely recommend.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Doesn’t stand out

To say the Tudor period is well-served in historical fiction is like saying the Communist Party does well in Chinese elections. This is the main problem for this book. It’s perfectly likeable and entertaining but the characters don’t stand out above many other similar creations. Equally the narrator does a good enough job but isn’t distinctive. It’s a shame really but in a crowded market, it just needed something special for me.