Listen free for 30 days

The Body on the Shore

DCI Craig Gillard, Book 2
Narrated by: Marston York
Length: 10 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (86 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A killer is at work in the supposedly safe commuter belt. DCI Gillard needs answers fast.... 

Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm. Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: why? 

Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck. As the mystery deepens, Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces - people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children's lives - as well as his own. 

At breakneck pace and with a jaw-dropping twist, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin.

©2018 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and mostly enjoyable

Great Story but the the regional accents occasionally seem more important than the story. Tone it down a little and add to the story, stop overpowering it..

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Excellent, marred only by some strange accents. Looking forward to the next book in the series

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Strange storyline

I enjoyed the first in this series, but this one seemed unrelated to book one in most respects. A strange Lithuanian mafia plot? Mmmm? Unsure if I will try another.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lots of loose ends and patchy storyline but okay

The narrator was believable for some parts of the book, bit like the story. Research may have been robust but it didn’t feel real or even very possible if it is we should know and be moved It’s peopled with characters I couldn’t care about. But taste comes in to this for me tension wasn’t tense enough, acts that should have engendered hate didn’t .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Problem with the Recording

I was just settling into the book and then it stopped altogether. Now refuses to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn
  • Lynn
  • 18-03-19

Gripping Unusual & Masterful

Not your usual procedural.Architect shot dead at his desk. Is it a simple hit? What motive? And how is it that it is linked by DNA with a mysterious kidnapping of two orphan children adopted from Albania by a staggeringly wealthy British couple? ingenious plot twists kept me listening far into the night. Then there's that corpse on the beach 200 miles away. Great performance by a masterful narrator who glides effortlessly through regional accents, including English, Albanian, and Italian. An explosive climax, and a bitter afterword see the mystery solved, yet the future so unresolved. Great listen.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thel
  • Thel
  • 18-03-19

The Body on the Shore

This was a fabulous book! Twists and turns - right to the end. Just a minor complaint - I don't think the title of the book is appropriate.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margaret
  • Margaret
  • 25-03-19

A disappointing sophomore effort.

I absolutely loved the first book in this series and was very excited to get the second, but this book is nowhere near as good as the first. The story is very unrealistic, bordering on the silly. I couldn't wait for it to be over quite frankly.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Ellis
  • J. Ellis
  • 05-06-19

Oh wow, this is a twister

Ever worried about Albanian feuds? You will after reading this one. Moves right along. Good book!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Larry
  • Larry
  • 23-05-19

Fascinating up to a point!

I really enjoyed this book, especially the trip to Albania. The narration was very good with several difficult accents. However, be prepared to suspend disbelief at the end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yankee Bookworm
  • Yankee Bookworm
  • 08-09-19

Well written. Far-fetched plot.

The Albanian aspect of the story stretched credulity for me. I don't see that a local police station would be involved in an international crime scene such as this. Still it was an unusual storyline and I give him credit for that. Looking forward to #3.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MaineinFL
  • MaineinFL
  • 29-08-19

Far fetched plot

I really liked the first book in the series, The Body in the Marsh, but found the plot of the Body on the Shore, particularly Gillard's trip to Albania and his interactions with the Albanian Mafia, too far fetched for a police procedural. I will continue on with the series and hope that the third book will be better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CC
  • CC
  • 22-08-19

Riveting

A terrible story told well. I was completely horrified and saddened by the end. An excellent read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny
  • Jenny
  • 13-08-19

In a Foreign Land

A clever, well-researched book, auth large sections set in Albania.
I thought the characters were interesting and the plot moved well.
Recommended for readers who enjoy police dramas.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carole
  • Carole
  • 04-08-19

not the best detective

I was frustrated with the first book. more so with this one. Not at all impressed with this author.