Try an audiobook on us

The Body on the Shore

DCI Craig Gillard, Book 2
Narrated by: Marston York
Length: 10 hrs and 32 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)
Regular price: £16.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A killer is at work in the supposedly safe commuter belt. DCI Gillard needs answers fast.... 

Promising architect Peter Young is shot dead at his desk. DCI Craig Gillard is on the scene, looking at what appears to be a brutal and highly professional hit: two bullets, fired with ice-cold calm. Gillard knows that the most crucial question in solving the crime is one word: why? 

Two weeks later, on the Lincolnshire coast, another body is found on a windswept beach. In this case there is no identity for the young man, just a curious brand burned into his neck. As the mystery deepens, Gillard is plunged into a case without answers, finding himself up against dark forces - people who believe in only two things: blood and a warped code of honour. This time lives are on the line, children's lives - as well as his own. 

At breakneck pace and with a jaw-dropping twist, the suspense-filled second DCI Gillard crime thriller is perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Patricia Gibney and Faith Martin.

©2018 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lots of loose ends and patchy storyline but okay

The narrator was believable for some parts of the book, bit like the story. Research may have been robust but it didn’t feel real or even very possible if it is we should know and be moved It’s peopled with characters I couldn’t care about. But taste comes in to this for me tension wasn’t tense enough, acts that should have engendered hate didn’t .

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lynn
  • 18-03-19

Gripping Unusual & Masterful

Not your usual procedural.Architect shot dead at his desk. Is it a simple hit? What motive? And how is it that it is linked by DNA with a mysterious kidnapping of two orphan children adopted from Albania by a staggeringly wealthy British couple? ingenious plot twists kept me listening far into the night. Then there's that corpse on the beach 200 miles away. Great performance by a masterful narrator who glides effortlessly through regional accents, including English, Albanian, and Italian. An explosive climax, and a bitter afterword see the mystery solved, yet the future so unresolved. Great listen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Thel
  • 18-03-19

The Body on the Shore

This was a fabulous book! Twists and turns - right to the end. Just a minor complaint - I don't think the title of the book is appropriate.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Denise Dunham
  • 17-03-19

hmmm

nothing more boring than old men and engenuue , God save us from pathetic old men , but aside from that the story had promise.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful