Listen free for 30 days

The Body in the Mist

DCI Craig Gillard, Book 3
Narrated by: Marston York
Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (40 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From master storyteller Nick Louth comes the third installment in the DCI Craig Gillard series. Perfect for fans of Robert Bryndza, Angela Marsons and Faith Martin. 

A body is found on a quiet lane in Exmoor, victim of a hit and run. 

He has no ID, no wallet, no phone, and - after being dragged along the road - no recognisable face.

Meanwhile, fresh from his last case, DCI Craig Gillard is unexpectedly called away to Devon on family business. Gillard is soon embroiled when the car in question is traced to his aunt. 

As he delves deeper, a dark mystery reveals itself, haunted by family secrets, with repercussions Gillard could never have imagined. The past has never been deadlier.

©2019 Nick Louth (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic reviews

"An unputdownable, heart-thudder of a read.” (Carol Wyer) 

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A gripping yarn

Compelling listening expertly read. Marston York really brought this excellent book to life. I’m looking forward to Nick Louth’s next story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Gripping Sad

Gripping to the end. Full of twists and turns. I can’t wait for the next book.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn
  • Lynn
  • 15-07-19

You sure can't pick your family!

Fast paced, interesting story that makes you realize how messed up families can be. This is a good series and this is the best of the books so far.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathleen
  • Kathleen
  • 19-07-19

Very good book; horrible recording

This was another really good book by Nick Louth. Unfortunately the recording was awful. There was an intermittent snap, crackle and pop noise in the background. It’s a testament to how good the book was that I didn’t return it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn
  • Lynn
  • 23-08-19

Poetic Family Weirdness Straight Out of Devon

I really liked Nick Louth's first two DCI Gillard novels - tight plots, interesting and well drawn characters, lots of perplexing puzzles, exciting windups. This, the third in the series has all that, plus a grim (to put it mildly) family drama set against Devon's tragically beautiful and difficult landscape. The spirit of Thomas Hardy's Far From The Madding Crowd and Conan Doyle's Hound of the Baskervilles hover not too far overhead.. Isolated farming families riddled with unnatural relationships, mysterious beasts that appear with the full moon to savage poor little ewes...and stalwart, very modern police trying to solve a staged hit and run while making sense of it all. And it is all very personal to Gillard and his wife. This book has some very dark moments indeed. Still, I found it a good, diverting, bumpy journey with moments of extremely bitter humor. I forced myself to withhold moral judgment of the characters. After all, it's just a detective story, right? Well...who IS guilty? And of what? I think the author himself - and certainly his hero Gillard - are not quite certain themselves.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenny
  • Jenny
  • 18-08-19

The Sins of the Fathers Visited on the Children

This story is about families in which each generation carries scars from the generations that lived before them; and these scars cause great damage.
Ultimately the twisted perceptions of the wounded leads to murder and cover ups.
Nick Louth cleverly leads his reader to very viable suspects each of which is gradually shown to be innocent.
The final solution is not complete, leaving more possibilities running through the readers' mind.....

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wisconsinclark
  • wisconsinclark
  • 05-08-19

Depressing, horrible ending

The speed and narration on my download were fine, so I did not encounter the problems of other reviewers. The story, however, was interesting for two thirds of the book. The ending was so horrible I do not plan on continuing with this series if there is another book.. To say more would have to include spoilers. If you liked the first two books, you may want to read this edition and make up your own mind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yankee Bookworm
  • Yankee Bookworm
  • 11-09-19

Best of the series - when I could hear it

Not crazy about the narrator - he makes Sam sounds like a dimwit - but mostly not crazy about the low volume of the recording itself. If I was in traffic (windows closed) or walked away from the player at home, I had to rewind to hear what I missed. The book itself is terrific. Big improvement over the second one.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon
  • Sharon
  • 31-07-19

A deeply unpleasant story

filled with deeply unpleasant characters. Ugh!
Book 2 in this series was much less objectionable, but there is a problem with the narration with that one too. The narration itself is fine, but there is a technical glitch. I am not even a little deaf,, but in order to hear either recording, I had to keep the player within arms reach.
No recommendation from me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Herdis
  • Herdis
  • 14-08-19

Tragicomic

This is actually more funny than gruesome. A whole family of liars, abusers, murderers and our poor protagonist is related to them. Trying to solve his family’s secrets - there are plenty - with his nice but dim wife - it gets a bit long towards the end. Even if she is one bad auntie I could not help but like Barbara for being so feisty

0 of 1 people found this review helpful